Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5]

Author Topic: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?  (Read 5352 times)

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2205
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #60 on: July 15, 2017, 04:59:54 PM »

Plenty of green tubing with a red stripe going in nearby, but not in my street yet  :no:

Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4614
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #61 on: July 15, 2017, 05:30:23 PM »

ronski you going to keep vdsl or ditch plusnet?
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2205
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #62 on: July 15, 2017, 05:36:35 PM »

Very temped to ditch VDSL, but I am apprehensive of VM reputation, and currently their lousy upload speeds (hopefully they'll bump this up) which are not much better than what I have unless I go for a more expensive package which I don't want to.
Logged

Ignitionnet

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 541
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #63 on: July 17, 2017, 08:23:07 AM »

They built here too early. Think we're about the last major 'new' build, rather than an infill, that isn't FTTP  ;D

I'm sure some EPON magic will resolve the upload speed concerns though in the interim the more expensive package is the only option.

VM aren't fans of TalkTalk's approach, not least because TalkTalk don't make money on it, and aren't Sky so can't massively subsidise broadband with TV revenues.
Logged

Zico

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #64 on: July 17, 2017, 08:48:37 PM »

I'm not a fan of TalkTalk full stop.

Thanet is ramping up. My colleague had a few hiccups today but nothing new in our day to day business with Statuary Undertakers  :cool:
Logged

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4494
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #65 on: July 18, 2017, 09:51:30 PM »

Might be worth just stopping and having a chat with one of the contractors.

That I did to-day it's Virgin Fibre Optics talked to the guys that were laying down this thin green tube you call a fibre duct it looked like a core diameter of 5mm, most of Bangor N.I has had gone though the same procedure they say it takes a month after laying the duct to then become live.
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 19236
  • Over the Rainbow
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #66 on: July 18, 2017, 10:29:02 PM »

. . . it looked like a core diameter of 5mm, . . .

That will probably be the tubing through which the fibre itself is pushed, whilst floating within a stream of air.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4494
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #67 on: July 19, 2017, 01:00:29 AM »

Would like to see how the fibre optics are pushed through this wee duct in a real life experience and yes have watched B4RN videos on how they do it. how many strands of fibre can this green duct hold
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 19236
  • Over the Rainbow
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #68 on: July 19, 2017, 05:35:47 PM »

Would like to see how the fibre optics are pushed through this wee duct in a real life experience and yes have watched B4RN videos on how they do it. how many strands of fibre can this green duct hold

The kitizen best "qualified" to answer your queries would be Walter. He has spent many hours in the company of the BT technicians (and the various contractors) whilst the FTTC cabinets were being connected in the Guildford and Surrey Hills areas.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Ignitionnet

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 541
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #69 on: July 24, 2017, 11:45:07 PM »

There's really not much to see. They'll use a fibre blowing machine, nothing arcane about it.

Contrary to popular opinion it's all rather routine and simple. The tricky bit is getting the ducts into the ground, sending the fibre down them is trivial. Tons of videos of fibre being blown can be found on You Tube.

If you're curious about VM's network build more details here - https://keepup.virginmedia.com/Content/networkExpansion/doc/New_Build_Developers_Guide.pdf - going by that what goes to homes is a simple 6 mm diameter blown fibre micro tube carried inside a 54 mm duct connected to a termination box.
Logged

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2574
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #70 on: July 25, 2017, 07:38:38 AM »

I guess one of the things which interests me is how they get the fibre across one's property and into the house. Our house for example has an all concrete/crazy paving front garden and no driveway, also ground level in the garden is some 3-4 feet above pavement level and and when I dig in the odd flower bed I find only about 18 inches of soil before hitting solid chalk. This also means that any road works within a hundred yards or so vibrate the downstairs floor (which is solid not suspended.

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:ZyXEL VMG8924-B10A

Ignitionnet

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 541
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #71 on: July 25, 2017, 04:54:11 PM »

They'll run it along a wall or fence above ground most likely. They aren't going to be too desperate to shift a load of flags, dig underneath, then replace them. That makes the install a tad too expensive.
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5]