Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 6

Author Topic: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?  (Read 7630 times)

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 19363
  • Over the Rainbow
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #15 on: April 12, 2017, 11:26:39 PM »

. . . I'm a dog man so hopefully there won't be any falling out :D

Of course not. We have a wide-ranging menagerie . . . penguins, frogs, sheep, eagles, dogs and overseeing them all, felis catus domestica;)
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Bowdon

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1163
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #16 on: April 13, 2017, 02:09:44 PM »

Blimey, who's have thought Christmas would come early for Thanet... triangle flakes raining down on the map  :)
« Last Edit: April 18, 2017, 06:20:33 PM by burakkucat »
Logged
BT Infinity 2 - HG612 & Asus RT-N66U - ECI Cab

Zico

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #17 on: April 13, 2017, 06:39:30 PM »

Blimey, who's have thought Christmas would come early for Thanet... triangle flakes raining down on the map  :)

That's a snip from Leeds :D

I think that Ignitionnet was just taking a snip as an example to represent what Thanet might look like with the works permits in place :)
Logged

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2242
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #18 on: April 14, 2017, 01:31:25 PM »

Well the first permits for trench work are showing, scheduled for June & July. All the phone symbols are for VM road works, and there's one on Hartsdown Road as well where the roadworks symbol is.

Logged

Ignitionnet

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 563
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #19 on: April 15, 2017, 11:57:23 PM »

Appreciate it won't be much compared to the massive investment Openreach have made in next generation access in your and most other areas but VM's teams will do their best.
Logged

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2242
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #20 on: April 16, 2017, 08:23:07 AM »

You've lost me Ignitionnet   ???
Logged

Ignitionnet

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 563
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #21 on: April 16, 2017, 03:18:19 PM »

Sorry.

A senior BT guy made a remark that they were investing while others are hiding. Ever since I heard that it's made me a little passive aggressive. BT are absolutely spending the bare minimum. Indeed they should be used as a case study on how to fool people into thinking you're spending a bunch of money on superfast and ultrafast networks when you're barely spending more than you had budgeted for pure copper.

Add that to the dodgy VDSL I have at the moment, the over a year scrap I had to get it, and that VM don't even sell services with the speed of my two lines combined anymore and I'm a little... bitter.
Logged

Zico

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #22 on: April 17, 2017, 01:10:16 PM »

Has this thread turned into a therapy session for Ignitionnet?  ;D

If I were to add my 2p, it would be that I don't like the fact that other providers didn't take up the chance to start a major rollout of fibre sooner. The news reports of Sky, Talktalk etc. all moaning over the years but none of them actually taking the initiative to join forces with a major provider and build there own networks (and this included Virgin Media prior to Project Lightning).

Anyway, I'm waiting for some additional info regarding the Thanet works :-X.
Logged

j0hn

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 810
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #23 on: April 18, 2017, 12:52:28 PM »

Local virgin activity near me. Certainly lots of work booked.
« Last Edit: April 18, 2017, 12:55:45 PM by j0hn »
Logged
BT FTTC 55/10 ECI Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG8924 bridge mode + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin - minted on MDWS via DslStats

Ignitionnet

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 563
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #24 on: April 18, 2017, 02:05:58 PM »

Good to see some serious investment in UK broadband infrastructure.
Logged

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4572
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #25 on: April 18, 2017, 04:28:15 PM »

Just a wee question how many people need to register an interest to bring VM to your area ?

when looking at the TBB map VM seems to concentrate their roll out in built up areas see map uploaded with purple being Virgin Media active.
Logged

Black Sheep

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4412
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #26 on: April 18, 2017, 06:04:36 PM »

That's no surprise, NS ......... they're running it as a profit-making business.  ;) :) :)
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4791
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #27 on: April 18, 2017, 06:17:43 PM »

Newt unlike BT their deployment is based on profitability rather than political leaning and subsidies, thats why. :)
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4572
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #28 on: April 18, 2017, 07:22:19 PM »

So are small village with 1400 residents will be totally ignored by Virgin Media because it ain't commercial profitable.

The town Holywood in my map which has less residents has VM (12000) residents yet my local town Bangor N.I has (56000) residents and the distance is just 5-6 miles and VM have not even had a look, very strange company  ???
Logged

Ignitionnet

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 563
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #29 on: April 18, 2017, 08:01:17 PM »

VM aren't BT. Whether there are 1,400 or 14,000 residents in a place if they have fibre running through it it'll have the same kind of viability. Most companies have to dig ducts passing each home to deliver broadband services and population density is more important. Villages can be among the cheapest places to deploy new network and only become a problem either when long fibre runs are required to reach them, or using a legacy FTTC solution.

Holywood's network would've probably been built by one of VM's predecessors that may or may not have had the franchise for Bangor.

The build in Bangor is in progress and has been since at least January.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 6
 

anything