Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 7 8 [9]

Author Topic: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?  (Read 16181 times)

Zico

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #120 on: December 22, 2017, 10:34:03 PM »

Had a few fun days with a VM cabinet issue at work. Thankfully things went well and in the end everybody was happy (I think).

Come on VM, put a fibre cab outside my house, I would love you for it  :D
Logged
mydslwebstats: Zico

Ignitionnet

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 631
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #121 on: December 24, 2017, 12:36:07 PM »

No point in making another thread VM coming to Bangor N.I which it has as shown on the Map outlined in red and my village marked by the blue X, was wondering if Zico had any info whether VM plan to install this in my area and have placed a interest on their Web Site.

If VM have duct down the B20 they'll very likely build to that area. If they don't and the fibre path is going down the B20 could also be good. No reason why they wouldn't take that route as long as the costs aren't significantly different from taking the A2 all the way. Sometimes taking 'B' roads is less disruptive than A roads. On the flip side they may also have narrow or congested pavements requiring the narrow trench to go into the carriageway a lot which quickly gets expensive.

I have no idea if you can monitor roadworks but keep an eye on them if possible. They have to get fibre from Belfast to Bangor somehow and will certainly be taking in Holywood if they haven't already built there. If they do Helen's Bay you're in luck I think.

This village built outside Leeds might give you some hope. If they are going through villages they can and do build to them - makes a few quid off the long trek in between population centres.

Logged

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4737
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #122 on: December 24, 2017, 07:21:17 PM »

All the VM work has come to a end on the B20 route for this year 2017 and WEB roadworks info is very limited here, Will be keeping a keen eye for any more VM action in the new year.

I agree if they do Helen's Bay it's looking good and I'm not looking for the high end rate of 300Mbps 70-80Mbps would do me just fine and can't see away for Openreach to build a FTTC & PCP cabinet closer to my premises in the next 15 years.
Logged

hornet156

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #123 on: January 02, 2018, 06:25:28 PM »

so do we have any go live dates for broadstairs yet ?
Logged

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2394
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #124 on: January 02, 2018, 07:16:42 PM »

Not that I'm aware of, and the two hub cabinets I've passed recently (St George's and Pysons Rd) haven't been installed yet. So very unlikely to be in January.
Logged

Zico

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #125 on: January 12, 2018, 08:49:57 PM »

Work should be starting back up after the holiday break.

Busy, busy, busy!
Logged
mydslwebstats: Zico
Pages: 1 ... 7 8 [9]