Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: ZyXel VMG1312-B - should I go for it?  (Read 1624 times)

Weaver

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4004
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 3 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
ZyXel VMG1312-B - should I go for it?
« on: April 08, 2017, 08:40:26 AM »

Should I try out a ZyXel VMG1312-B as a modem (not a router)? I can get one configured as a straight modem. Can anyone tell me if they can handle MTU 1500 + 8 = 1508?

Any good things / bad things I should know?

I see that they are full featured:

* They speak SRA (I can only dream).

* Can do RE-ADSL too

* I think they support "monitored tones", which would be an improvement for me, although how significant I couldn't say. Might help stop the general downward spiral of ever-decreasing SNRM?


Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 19341
  • Over the Rainbow
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: ZyXel VMG1312-B - should I go for it?
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2017, 06:43:41 PM »

Should I try out a ZyXel VMG1312-B as a modem (not a router)?

Which ZyXEL VMG1312?  The older VMG1312-B10A, still being sold by A&A, or the newer VMG1312-B10D?
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 30079
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: ZyXel VMG1312-B - should I go for it?
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2017, 07:51:10 PM »

Quote
I think they support "monitored tones", which would be an improvement for me, although how significant I couldn't say. Might help stop the general downward spiral of ever-decreasing SNRM?

To follow up on what b*cat says, the B10D is the budget version with a newer but cheaper chipset - BCM chipsets.

The VMG8324-B10A, VMG8924-B10A, VMG1312-B10A also include an internal common mode noise filter which is why they may perform better on some lines with certain types of noise and another reason why they are more expensive.

That said Zen supposedly did some fairly extensive testing on the B10D and concluded it performed better than the average modem, but as with most modems sometimes its a case of suck it and see.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 30079
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: ZyXel VMG1312-B - should I go for it?
« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2017, 08:00:37 PM »

Quote
Any good things / bad things I should know?

Zyxel f/w can be a bit buggy, but the web GUI is extremely feature rich.  For a modem intended for the consumer market the config options are more akin to what you would expect from a business grade modem.

Also double check your wifi requirements as to whether you want AC or are happy with wireless-n.    That said I dont think I've ever seen any complaints about the wireless N versions which are at the high end and perform better than the average wireless n for range.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

Weaver

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4004
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 3 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: ZyXel VMG1312-B - should I go for it?
« Reply #4 on: April 08, 2017, 09:50:31 PM »

So the B10A might be the one to go for? Ultimate DSL performance is all that matters.

I didn't know which model it was that AA are selling.

I take it I can get it dumbed down to be just a PPPoE modem, is that correct?

I doubt I'll be able to use wifi, because I am thinking about these devices as my main modems, so I would need three WAPs in client mode to talk to three ZyXel boxes which would give me lightning protection hurrah! But that gets rather messy and extremely wasteful if precious channel space. Unless I put them all on the same channel and let them fight, which might be nasty and I am worrying about collisions. Or I just stay wireful as I am now, which is a lot cleaner, less latency and no channel space wasted. Right now I am using insurance plus spares as my lightning protection (finally got some sorted out, just in time).

So let's say for the moment no wifi, just a very expensive ADSL2 modem and supported by AA which is good because they are then 100% to blame for everything, no buck-passing.
Logged

vic0239

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 245
Re: ZyXel VMG1312-B - should I go for it?
« Reply #5 on: April 08, 2017, 10:18:13 PM »

I use two B10As in bridge mode as they provide the highest sync on my lines. I've compared them to the HG612, Vigor 130, Billion 8800NL and Netgear D7000. The 10Ds were also inferior. I did have a weird PPPoE issue, but that appears to be fixed with a parameter tweak on the Firebrick. Unfortunately they don't support the larger MTU size. My lines are vdsl, so the performance on your lines may be totally different. Perhaps A&A could ship one to you on approval?
Logged

Weaver

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4004
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 3 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: ZyXel VMG1312-B - should I go for it?
« Reply #6 on: April 08, 2017, 11:43:59 PM »

I think I should perhaps go for it. It is a nuisance about the MTU though.
Logged

j0hn

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 803
Re: ZyXel VMG1312-B - should I go for it?
« Reply #7 on: April 09, 2017, 04:01:30 AM »

I'm confused when you say you want to configure it as a modem not a router. If you're setting these up in bridge mode then MTU isn't set from the Zyxel GUI. Your router is where the MTU should be set. Does your Firebrick handle the PPP session, or your D-Links?

I'm not familiar with the VMG1312's, but the VMG8x24's can be configured to use PPPoA or PPPoE(oA).
With PPPoA you can set MTU at 1500.
With PPPoE(oA) you can set MTU at 1492.

Logged
BT FTTC 55/10 ECI Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG8924 bridge mode + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin - minted on MDWS via DslStats

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4780
Re: ZyXel VMG1312-B - should I go for it?
« Reply #8 on: April 09, 2017, 04:23:20 AM »

thanks for the info kitz on the chipset changes, one for sure needs to be careful, this zyxel here is about 50 cheaper than 10A's

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Zyxel-4-Port-Firewall-Integrated-Router/dp/B01DCHV02Y/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1491708100&sr=8-4&keywords=VMG1312-B10A

It says 10A in the product description at the top, but if scrolling down it then says its a 10D.  So be careful.

Also it seems the VMG1312-B10A has the same chip as the hg612 according to the page kitz linked to.  So if you want the best chip you would need the VMG8324-B10A which now looks like its not been made anymore.
« Last Edit: April 09, 2017, 04:28:49 AM by Chrysalis »
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab

vic0239

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 245
Re: ZyXel VMG1312-B - should I go for it?
« Reply #9 on: April 09, 2017, 07:42:51 AM »

The VMG1312-B10A has a Broadcom 63168.

Code: [Select]
Escape character is '^]'.
VMG1312-B10A
Login: admin
Password:
> cat /proc/cpuinfo
system type             : 963168VX
processor               : 0
cpu model               : Broadcom4350 V8.0
BogoMIPS                : 398.33
wait instruction        : yes
microsecond timers      : yes
tlb_entries             : 32
extra interrupt vector  : no
hardware watchpoint     : no
ASEs implemented        :
shadow register sets    : 1
core                    : 0
VCED exceptions         : not available
VCEI exceptions         : not available

unaligned exceptions            : 15143555
processor               : 1
cpu model               : Broadcom4350 V8.0
BogoMIPS                : 402.43
wait instruction        : yes
microsecond timers      : yes
tlb_entries             : 32
extra interrupt vector  : no
hardware watchpoint     : no
ASEs implemented        :
shadow register sets    : 1
core                    : 0
VCED exceptions         : not available
VCEI exceptions         : not available

unaligned exceptions            : 15143555
 >

The VMG1312-B10A is much more compact than the 8324 and can be easily wall mounted which may better suit being used as a modem only.
« Last Edit: April 09, 2017, 07:57:17 AM by vic0239 »
Logged

vic0239

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 245
Re: ZyXel VMG1312-B - should I go for it?
« Reply #10 on: April 09, 2017, 07:56:11 AM »

I'm confused when you say you want to configure it as a modem not a router. If you're setting these up in bridge mode then MTU isn't set from the Zyxel GUI. Your router is where the MTU should be set. Does your Firebrick handle the PPP session, or your D-Links?

I'm not familiar with the VMG1312's, but the VMG8x24's can be configured to use PPPoA or PPPoE(oA).
With PPPoA you can set MTU at 1500.
With PPPoE(oA) you can set MTU at 1492.
Yes, but the 1312 in bridge mode still has to pass the packets. When  I swapped back to them after using the Vigor, which does support the larger MTU size, I forgot to change the Firebrick back to 1492 (from 1500) and had all sorts of issues. Some sites wouldn't load and streaming (Netflix) was completely broken. That was PPPoE. Looking at the configuration options on my 1312, in normal mode the encapsulation methods offered are PPPoE and IPoE, max MTU 1492. In bridge mode there is no choice offered as you say.
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4780
Re: ZyXel VMG1312-B - should I go for it?
« Reply #11 on: April 09, 2017, 09:08:50 AM »

thanks vic.
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab

j0hn

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 803
Re: ZyXel VMG1312-B - should I go for it?
« Reply #12 on: April 09, 2017, 03:13:42 PM »

Looking at the configuration options on my 1312, in normal mode the encapsulation methods offered are PPPoE and IPoE, max MTU 1492. In bridge mode there is no choice offered as you say.
That's for ADSL/VDSL over PTM.
Weaver needs ADSL over ATM.
When ATM is selected the options then change to PPPoA or PPPoE(oA). PPPoA offers a 1500 MTU.
Logged
BT FTTC 55/10 ECI Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG8924 bridge mode + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin - minted on MDWS via DslStats

vic0239

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 245
Re: ZyXel VMG1312-B - should I go for it?
« Reply #13 on: April 09, 2017, 03:26:59 PM »

Indeed. I had to create a new WAN interface for those options to show up. Thanks for the clarification.
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 19341
  • Over the Rainbow
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: ZyXel VMG1312-B - should I go for it?
« Reply #14 on: April 09, 2017, 05:37:27 PM »

At The Cattery, a ZyXEL VMG1312-B10D device is used for a G.992.3 (ADSL2) service, PPPoA, with a MTU of1500.

For my purposes, it is the best modem/router I have ever owned.  :)
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.
Pages: [1] 2 3
 

anything