Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: win10 adding back some control over updates for pro users  (Read 1178 times)

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5031
win10 adding back some control over updates for pro users
« on: March 30, 2017, 04:56:26 PM »

Not for home users tho as they are utilised as beta testers.

Quote
Windows 10 Home computers, by design, will not be able to control updates using these new settings. That’s intentional–Microsoft uses the Win10 Home installed base to test new versions before they’re deemed ready for businesses.

http://www.infoworld.com/article/3176774/microsoft-windows/how-to-block-automatic-updates-in-the-next-version-of-windows-10.html
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab

Weaver

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4004
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 3 × 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: win10 adding back some control over updates for pro users
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2017, 07:12:33 PM »

Yet another reason why buying the home user versions is utter utter madness. All just to save a miserable few quid, And as I've said before, you end up with an o/s that is impossible to secure correctly because all the vital standard mechanisms are knocked out. I can explain in detail to anyone who wants to understand why this is so critical - for those not familiar with fully hardening the o/s correctly - but this is not the place at all, and in any event everyone would be bored stiff.
Logged

gt94sss2

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 689
Re: win10 adding back some control over updates for pro users
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2017, 07:51:22 PM »

I believe Home users will also be getting more control over updates then they had before - just not as much as Pro users

Quote
For one thing, users will be able to schedule updates, and then reschedule them if the chosen time turns out to be inconvenient. Previously, users only had the option of setting 'active hours' which were times when updates wouldn't be installed, rather than being able to choose a specific time that they would be.

Speaking of active hours, users will now be able to set a period of up to 18 hours, rather than the previous 12 hours in the Anniversary Update. This will be particularly useful if you're like us and spend all day on your PC.

Finally, when you're notified that there's an update ready to install, there will be a snooze button, which will pause the update for three days.

All of these new controls are meant to prevent the dreaded "forced updates" that sometimes seem to happen at the worst possible time. They'll be available in all versions of Windows, unlike some earlier features that are only available in Pro or better, such as the ability to pause or defer updates.

https://www.neowin.net/news/microsoft-details-new-controls-over-windows-updates-in-the-creators-update

Logged

Bowdon

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1262
Re: win10 adding back some control over updates for pro users
« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2017, 07:52:45 PM »

That is good news.

Now if they could only fix the system restore function that they borked up.
Logged
BT Infinity 2 - HG612 & Asus RT-N66U - ECI Cab

digbey

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: win10 adding back some control over updates for pro users
« Reply #4 on: March 31, 2017, 12:01:50 AM »

Now if they could only fix the system restore function that they borked up.

It's worked fine in all the Insider previews including the latest version 1703 build 15063 which looks very close to the release version due 11th April.
Logged

gt94sss2

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 689
Re: win10 adding back some control over updates for pro users
« Reply #5 on: March 31, 2017, 12:13:45 AM »

Build 15063 is the RTM version - as you say it will be officially released to PC's on 11/4 - but its already available via the Windows 10 Release Preview Ring or via ISOs among others.

Its already gone live for Xbox ones users.
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5031
Re: win10 adding back some control over updates for pro users
« Reply #6 on: March 31, 2017, 12:22:04 AM »

Personally I think the snooze feature is a bit of a joke ;)
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab

Chunkers

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 327
  • Brick Wall head-banger
Re: win10 adding back some control over updates for pro users
« Reply #7 on: March 31, 2017, 06:05:27 AM »

This behaviour drives me nuts although Windows 10 has been pretty reliable on my boxes and hasn't really caused me any issues.  This, and have you SEEN how much info Microsoft farms from your PC by default, its SCAREY.

On my personal PC now I have Eve Online, Mumble, Discord, Steam and all my webby stuff running under Linux I only boot up Windows to play Star Wars Battlefront and other games with my son, I took a deep breath and swapped over to Linux for my daily *stuff* and now only update when I wanna!  The rest of the PC's / family are happily Windowsed-up (?) apart from my daughter who is largely unaware that her ChromeOS laptop isn't windows.

If only the steam machine hadn't died I could have probably dispensed with Windows as they would have ported the other games to SteamOS.  I wonder if Valve will try to revive it with a HL 3 release?

Linux is so close to being a drop in replacement for Windows 10 its painful, its just not *quite* there for normos, still need the occasional command line action .... which they won't like

I gotta say though I DO like Windows 10 in tablet mode on my laptop, its really nice for casual browsing.

The latest development with ChromeOS getting access to the Android Appstore could be the beginning of some real competition for MS though.  I am tempted to get one just out of curiosity...

wub u

Chunks

Note : almost entire post is off-topic, sorry, its early .................. MORE COFFEE
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5031
Re: win10 adding back some control over updates for pro users
« Reply #8 on: March 31, 2017, 01:12:40 PM »

We just need vulkan to catch on, DirectX is the main last obstacle with windows I feel.
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab

NEXUS2345

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 226
Re: win10 adding back some control over updates for pro users
« Reply #9 on: March 31, 2017, 03:07:30 PM »

The lack of decent support for NVIDIA GPUs in many Linux distros is another obstacle. I can't tell you how many issues I have had with software not supporting the official NVIDIA drivers. Or the open source drivers not supporting the latest gen cards (I have a GTX 1060).
Logged
Zen ADSL2+ | HG612 + TP-Link C2600 | Awaiting FTTC (build in progress)

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5031
Re: win10 adding back some control over updates for pro users
« Reply #10 on: March 31, 2017, 06:55:09 PM »

yeah I know, I think tho if vulkan were to take off, there would be a higher demand for linux and consumer pressure may then get better linux drivers released.
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab

Bowdon

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1262
Re: win10 adding back some control over updates for pro users
« Reply #11 on: April 03, 2017, 11:14:58 AM »

It's worked fine in all the Insider previews including the latest version 1703 build 15063 which looks very close to the release version due 11th April.

I'm glad. There are a lot of people getting the 0x80070091 error when they try and use system restore, even on multiple clean installed win10. Some people have messed around with it trying different things and it seems to come down to file/directory permissions. That windows sets a directory to a high level permission but when it tries to do the system restore it hasnt got permission. It should be easy for them to fix, and your news is encouraging.
Logged
BT Infinity 2 - HG612 & Asus RT-N66U - ECI Cab