Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4

Author Topic: Major Power Outage in Leicester - Effects on Circuit  (Read 7299 times)

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4989
Re: Major Power Outage in Leicester - Effects on Circuit
« Reply #30 on: May 11, 2017, 03:42:48 PM »

Redid the order, noticed the estimated availability is an earlier date, so new order now has a delivery day 3 days nearer.

To power the pfsense unit and monitor, I have also ordered this since the UPS only has kettle power outputs.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B005FWRHNQ/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

The billion 8800nl is in my living room so wont be UPS, but  am not so bothered about that.
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4989
Re: Major Power Outage in Leicester - Effects on Circuit
« Reply #31 on: May 11, 2017, 03:45:10 PM »

I have the Smart UPS 1500 version for my server and main network equipment, great bit of kit.

Looks very nice, but above my budget :)

I have tightened my wallet now as I been spending too much on electricals in 2016, partially funding this UPS by selling that Z83 mini pc I brought late last year and some unwrapped console games I accidently own duplicates off.
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2332
Re: Major Power Outage in Leicester - Effects on Circuit
« Reply #32 on: May 11, 2017, 07:17:48 PM »

They seem to have shot up in price, I paid 230 for mine back in 2011, although I've a vague idea it may have been a used or display unit.

You can buy the kettle plugs, or IEC plugs as they are officially know, I just cut the 3 pin plug off a four way socket, fitted a IEC plug and screwed it to my wall for some of the gear - transformers etc. Also changed the plug on the server to suit. You can also get angled ones for tight spaces, done this for my printer so it goes tighter to the wall. I get mine from RS components as we have an account at work, but Ebay's just as good.

www.ebay.co.uk/itm/350805002806
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4989
Re: Major Power Outage in Leicester - Effects on Circuit
« Reply #33 on: May 13, 2017, 11:58:18 AM »

UPS is here, I cancelled the 2nd amazon order as I found them taking the pee having it in stock and a 5 day estimated delivery (was originally 8 even worse), got instead from ebuyer with saturday delivery for same price.

The included kettle leads do feel cheap as one reviewer said so have ordered another, no usb cable included, but I can borrow the printer usb cable, and have ordered a second.

I probably wont be connecting this tho until the C13 to socket adaptor arrives which is when I will be able to also hook up pfsense etc.

Find myself sort of itching to make my billion 8800nl also power protected, but putting it in this room is out of the question, likewise I am not prepared to run a long power extension cable to it either, exploring options to see if I can power it from my old laptop, laptops of course having built in UPs with their batteries.
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab

underzone

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 199
Re: Major Power Outage in Leicester - Effects on Circuit
« Reply #34 on: May 13, 2017, 06:36:41 PM »

I have an APC 750W UPS to keep my router, pi-hole and a 12v PSU powered. The 12v is then fed from the UPS location over a spare cat5e ethernet cable to power the VDSL modem in a location 25m away (I twisted 4 wires for the +ve and 4 wires for the -ve).

The UPS is in the most central location but still feeds power to my modem in a remote location. You may be able to sort something similar, you could utilise a spare cat5e or an aerial cable or perhaps even run a dedicated length of bell wire maybe.
« Last Edit: May 13, 2017, 06:39:37 PM by underzone »
Logged

BT Infinity 2, ECI PCP, Vigor 130, pfSense 2.4.1

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2332
Re: Major Power Outage in Leicester - Effects on Circuit
« Reply #35 on: May 14, 2017, 08:50:58 AM »

I wouldn't recommend using bell wire,  I highly suspect you'll get a nice voltage drop over that,  especially at 25 meters and even worse for  higher current devices like AC wifi routers.
Logged

underzone

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 199
Re: Major Power Outage in Leicester - Effects on Circuit
« Reply #36 on: May 14, 2017, 10:53:04 AM »

If the resistance is negligible then the voltage drop will be negligible. I couldn't measure a difference over my 25m run. I have put a large ferrite bead before the DC goes into my modem though, as I was more concerned about RF pickup over the cable run.
Logged

BT Infinity 2, ECI PCP, Vigor 130, pfSense 2.4.1

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2332
Re: Major Power Outage in Leicester - Effects on Circuit
« Reply #37 on: May 14, 2017, 11:34:03 AM »

I'm no expert, but you're using cat5e with 4 cores for +VE and 4 cores for -VE, that 4 times the thickness of bell wire, voltage drop is more to do with the current drawn than the resistance. Try drawing 10 amps off the end of that cable and see what happens  ;)

PS. Did you measure you're voltage under load?

I often get this at work, a fitter measures the voltage on a cable with his volt meter and gets 12v or 24v, connects the light and can't understand why it goes out. Reason is the wire is corroded somewhere, effectively making it thinner at that point, and once you start drawing current it can't cope and the voltage drops significantly.
« Last Edit: May 14, 2017, 11:36:47 AM by Ronski »
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4989
Re: Major Power Outage in Leicester - Effects on Circuit
« Reply #38 on: May 14, 2017, 12:53:50 PM »

I found a second usb cable that fits that was used for my external hdd caddy, impatience got the better of me and now my PC is hooked up via the UPS, done a fair bit of tidying up as well as was a mess of power cables even covered in some dust as well, right now its just the PC fed by the UPS and I also temporarily have some things disconnected since I have plugged in the UPS direct to the wall socket (as said by the manual), until I get my kettle to power socket convertor there will be nothing else fed by the UPS, but I see its very handy to see the amount of watts my pc is using.

Circa 60 watts when idle.  Circa 100 watts low GPU load, circa 130-160 watts in a game.  Seems my 600 watt PSU is a tad overkill. :p

I ran a self test, and when it switched to battery wow the UPS is noisy, a pretty loud buzzing noise, didnt sound healthy, but maybe thats normal?
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2332
Re: Major Power Outage in Leicester - Effects on Circuit
« Reply #39 on: May 14, 2017, 02:37:58 PM »

Just tested mine by pulling the plug out the wall, there's a bit of a noise as it kicks in and the fans spin up, but other than I wouldn't say it was noisy.
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4989
Re: Major Power Outage in Leicester - Effects on Circuit
« Reply #40 on: May 14, 2017, 02:57:29 PM »

Found a few threads on the net with people reporting buzzes, and the people replying try to make the person think its a humming noise. O_o

here is recording funny enough phone mic struggled to pick it up

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B7P3Ne0hzKcGbXozN0szQnAxeVk/view?usp=drivesdk

Is silent on AC (thankfully) but thats the noise when on battery.  Bear in mind you have a premium model and I dont :)

When I checked the specs of your unit its roughly 3x the battery capacity, 4x charge speed. and better warranty. :)

I would say the volume is comparable to hair clippers.
« Last Edit: May 14, 2017, 03:14:28 PM by Chrysalis »
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4989
Re: Major Power Outage in Leicester - Effects on Circuit
« Reply #41 on: May 14, 2017, 03:31:58 PM »

Done some digging it might be related to this "Simulated Sine Wave"

Apparently that can cause buzzing in the equipment its powering.  However I am 99% sure in my case the buzzing is coming from the UPS not my PC PSU.

More worrying is some people have said emulated stepped sine wave's can damage equipment including monitors, so not sure now about the safety of using my monitor on it.  Need to do some more digging.

See waveform type near the top.

http://www.apc.com/shop/uk/en/products/APC-Back-UPS-1400VA-230V-AVR-IEC-Sockets/P-BX1400UI;jsessionid=yi+2qVBX5uHil1WPRbGJf0iq.prod_store02-2

The smart ups models use true sine wave.
« Last Edit: May 14, 2017, 03:34:00 PM by Chrysalis »
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4989
Re: Major Power Outage in Leicester - Effects on Circuit
« Reply #42 on: May 14, 2017, 05:26:58 PM »

Seems I should be ok with my monitor however I learnt that one should not use a surge protector in a UPS (which I was going to do), I was going to plug in my existing 8 socket surge protector extension cable into the single socket adaptor.  Now I have ordered a couple of plain 4 socket adaptors that are safe to use in a UPS.

Didnt really find much more useful info on the buzzing.
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2332
Re: Major Power Outage in Leicester - Effects on Circuit
« Reply #43 on: May 14, 2017, 05:29:35 PM »

That buzzing does sound just like hair clippers. I do recollect reading something about the wave form and it could be problematic for some power supplies.

I have one of these at work, although it's gone up by 50 since December 2015

https://www.scan.co.uk/products/780w-cyberpower-lcd-tower-ups-pfc-sinewave-series-1300va

No noise when on batteries and I'm sure it's pure sign wave. IIRC the Cyberpower stuff gets good reviews.
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4989
Re: Major Power Outage in Leicester - Effects on Circuit
« Reply #44 on: May 14, 2017, 05:40:05 PM »

I think my PSU is fine, PC stays up and running, and no noise from the PSU when its on battery.  I think there is some confusion on this because most people talk as if there is only 2 types of sinewaves but seems there is 3.

There is squared sinewave which is large steps and causes the issues with those PSU's.  There is pure sinewave which is like a perfect frequency output.  Then there is stepped sinewaves which is stepped like square but much smaller steps emulating a pure sinewave.  The stepped and squared are treated the same by some people.  I do have a active PFC PSU and it works fine.

If this UPS does actually turn out to be a problem then I will probably just return it, the pure sinewave is not a reasonable cost to me.

Hmm according to my sound meter on my phone it is actually below 45db the rated noise level.
« Last Edit: May 14, 2017, 05:53:47 PM by Chrysalis »
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4