Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 2 3 [4]

Author Topic: Major Power Outage in Leicester - Effects on Circuit  (Read 7275 times)

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4981
Re: Major Power Outage in Leicester - Effects on Circuit
« Reply #45 on: May 14, 2017, 06:05:15 PM »

By the way ronski do you use the powerchute software? I am considering monitoring via pfsense instead since that has a UPS package that is compatible with these units, as then I can check it from any device on my lan.
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2328
Re: Major Power Outage in Leicester - Effects on Circuit
« Reply #46 on: May 14, 2017, 06:40:49 PM »

Yes I do, I have it set up to email my phone, also to shut the server down after X minutes. I've also configured the outlets so that only half are turned off when the server shuts down, so I can keep some stuff powered for much longer.
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4981
Re: Major Power Outage in Leicester - Effects on Circuit
« Reply #47 on: May 14, 2017, 07:14:03 PM »

The personal edition doesnt have some of those features :) (backup models) But I can setup the email notification using pfsense.
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4981
Re: Major Power Outage in Leicester - Effects on Circuit
« Reply #48 on: May 15, 2017, 12:29:48 PM »

Ronski if I did the research prior to purchasing I perhaps would have gone with this, a cyberpower but lower wattage than the one you posted.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/CyberPower-CP900EPFCLCD-Backup-Sinewave-Sockets/dp/B004SO5FWM/ref=sr_1_1?s=computers&ie=UTF8&qid=1494846644&sr=1-1&keywords=cyberpower

It seems APC is the intel of the UPS market, where they charge a premium for their brand, and cyberpower is the AMD which is better value. :)

The APC unit I has thankfully does have AVR (some of their consumer devices do not), but I still have the limited consumer version of their software, simulated sinewave and had to purchase extra components so I can use it for my purpose.

The cyberpower units have much better software for consumers, cheaper pure sinewave as you shown, and even have normal power plug sockets at the back. Of course its possible they may cut corners to achieve the prices they do, but as you said reviews mostly hold out.  If I was buying today I perhaps would have got the 150 cyberpower, 35 more than the one I did get.  If anyone else is reading this thread and wants a pure sinewave UPS at home without spending 400 on a smartups, then consider cyberpower.

With all this said the device I got is doing its job to spec, my pc stays on without no abnormality if I run a test, the buzz is ok I have confirmed now, APC do have a warranty for damaged equipment caused by their units as well.

The personal edition software has these features.

A summary page which shows amount of undervoltage (brownouts), overvoltage, blackouts and electrical noise within a set time period, the time period viewable is either 1 week, 4 weeks, 12 weeks or 24 weeks. It has a note stating short instances of problems will not appear on this page.  There is no historical graphs like the business edition.
Current status page, shows the power been drawn from the unit (which I like), the power source in use, charging state of battery, input voltage, and date of last blackout and self test.
A run self test page to stimulate a power failure.
Energy usage page to estimate electricity costs of devices powered by the UPS.
Auto shutdown cannot be disabled, it can either be set to run the PC for X amount of minutes on battery, or shutdown when X amount of mins is remaining.
The audible alarm on the unit can be disabled or set to only sound at certian hours, there is no email notifications function.
The electrical noise sensitivity can be adjusted to either low, medium or high, medium is the default.  I am on the default of medium and no instances have been tallied.
Finally a voltage page where can adjust upper and lower voltage limits before battery intervention, I have left on the defaults.

Now I installed the software on my laptop so I can watch the status whilst using full screen stuff on my PC, but the obvious flaw is that if there is a power cut the UPS may shutdown my laptop.  I am likely to connect it to my pfsense unit and monitor it from there instead, and the pfsense unit if I choose to can send a network signal to my PC to shut it down.  This will also allow me to monitor from my phone etc., setup email notifications, and graph data on pfsense.
« Last Edit: May 15, 2017, 12:33:34 PM by Chrysalis »
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4981
Re: Major Power Outage in Leicester - Effects on Circuit
« Reply #49 on: May 15, 2017, 06:12:35 PM »

everything hooked up now to UPS that I want

So

PS4 - doesnt like power cuts when in hibernate mode
Both LCD monitors
PC
PFSense unit
Asus router

USB is connected to pfsense, here is screenshot of pfsense status page during my simulated power cut, good news is nothing exploded :D

Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2328
Re: Major Power Outage in Leicester - Effects on Circuit
« Reply #50 on: May 15, 2017, 07:24:28 PM »

Looking good, bet you won't get any more power cuts now.
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4981
Re: Major Power Outage in Leicester - Effects on Circuit
« Reply #51 on: June 12, 2017, 02:12:19 PM »

For the curious Leicester has continued to have power cuts, I have not had the new one's but in the past 3 weeks meridian business park has had 7, and glenfield area has had 3 more also.

My UPS has logged 27 brownouts.
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab
Pages: 1 2 3 [4]