Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: BT infinity and home hub 5  (Read 422 times)

thom

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 12
BT infinity and home hub 5
« on: March 19, 2017, 07:43:30 PM »

Hi all,

I was trying to stream some football today from NBC using smartdns/getflixdns and I had problem after problem with buffering.. But a few others that I have asked aren't experiencing such issues..

So leads me to wonder if BT's routing to USA is rubbish or my home hub is the issue.. But my bt tv doesn't have any issues what so ever

Sent from my MHA-L09 using Tapatalk

Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 19353
  • Over the Rainbow
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: BT infinity and home hub 5
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2017, 12:39:57 AM »

Welcome to the Kitz forum.  :)

I do not have any knowledge as to routing to the USA . . .

As to the possibility that the Home Hub might be the cause, the simplest way to confirm or deny it would be to test with a different modem/router. Do you have another device with which you could test?
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

thom

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: BT infinity and home hub 5
« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2017, 11:04:57 AM »

No I don't have any other fttc routers only a adsl one which is no use

Sent from my MHA-L09 using Tapatalk

Logged

Bowdon

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1162
Re: BT infinity and home hub 5
« Reply #3 on: March 20, 2017, 12:31:05 PM »

Are the other people using the home hub 5?

When I used to use that the bt dns was hardcoded and in my personal experience even when I used a different dns on the computer it was still partially using the hubs dns.

Do you usually have buffering issues?

To view US streams they usually geo-lock them.. so I'm assuming the dns services were acting like a proxy?

Is it possible to stream nbc while its not showing a football game?
Logged
BT Infinity 2 - HG612 & Asus RT-N66U - ECI Cab

thom

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: BT infinity and home hub 5
« Reply #4 on: March 20, 2017, 12:39:57 PM »

The person I asked firstly was with virgin I asked a few others but forgot to ask their isp

Yes I get what you mean.. Even though the device has custom dns at the end of the day it still goes out via BT's.

Yes acting as a proxy used 2 different providers both same results.

Yes they have lots of live streams

Usually with bt tv and Iplayer and they work ok

Although it was streaming fine for 30 min periods then went to s**t
Sent from my MHA-L09 using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: March 20, 2017, 01:14:15 PM by thom »
Logged
 

anything