Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Technicolor TG589VAC V2 - Initial thoughts  (Read 2337 times)

tubaman

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 558
Technicolor TG589VAC V2 - Initial thoughts
« on: March 19, 2017, 11:53:51 AM »

Hi All,

I recently got a Technicolor TG589VAC V2 (the all white one) from my favourite auction site for 8.35 delivered!
It's an SSE version but was easy enough to configure for my BT line.
It's been on my line a few weeks now and here are my thoughts on it.

The Good:

It's Broadcom based so gets on well with my Huawei cabinet. :thumbs:
Connection speed is pretty good - it connects about 1Meg slower (DS) than the Zyxel 8924 I was using previously - and has been stable.
Wireless (2.4 and 5GHz) seems about as good as the Zyxel.
Nice range of stats available in the GUI (line stats, G.INP stats, bit-loading graph etc).
Full stats available in the CLI.

The not so good:

The GUI is the usual Technicolor nasty slow affair (see pic below).
CLI is only available via SSH (no telnet) and is a Technicolor cut-down version (pic below). It does include a useful drink recipe when you log in. :drink:
Its physically rather big - it's so deep it only just goes on my windowsill.
There's no way to turn off all of the flashing green lights.

The Bad:

As usual with Technicolor there doesn't seem any way to get new firmware versions (I have 16.1 but I know that 16.2 is out in the wild). :thumbdown:





« Last Edit: March 19, 2017, 12:05:00 PM by tubaman »
Logged
BT FTTC 80/20 Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG8924

highpriest

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 164
Re: Technicolor TG589VAC V2 - Initial thoughts
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2017, 12:56:35 PM »

I have the original version of one of these. Looks like the V2 has pretty much the same innards, but has been slimmed down a bit to fit through letterboxes. Could you confirm that it has the same Broadcom 63168 chip inside?

My experience with it was similar to yours - maintained a stable connection (in bridge mode) but ended up replacing it with a ZyXel 8324 because I didn't want to get stuck on the 16.1 firmware. Also couldn't get stats out of it using DSLStats because the program currently only supports telnet.

They have the potential to be great devices if only the manufacturer made the fully unlocked firmware freely available. Shame.
Logged
VMG8324-B10A Bridge | EdgeRouter PoE | UniFi AP AC Pro + Lite

tubaman

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 558
Re: Technicolor TG589VAC V2 - Initial thoughts
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2017, 01:49:58 PM »

highpriest,

I had the MK1 a while ago too but it was never stable on my line - it would restart about once per day.  I assumed this was a firmware issue.

Short of taking it apart do you know how I can tell which Broadcom chip it has?
 :)
Logged
BT FTTC 80/20 Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG8924

alexrose1uk

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Technicolor TG589VAC V2 - Initial thoughts
« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2017, 05:41:09 PM »

My ISP is sending me one of those to supersede the Zyxel 8924 I had previously. I've been trying to research to find information about how they compare in terms of hardware, but coming up a blank.

Anyone happen to have any information on the relative hardware specs of the two? Don't want to downgrade inadvertently!
Logged

RayW

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Logged

alexrose1uk

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Technicolor TG589VAC V2 - Initial thoughts
« Reply #5 on: May 17, 2017, 10:53:00 AM »

That is indeed the unit, although I'm not on Sky :)
For what it's worth, my ISP have stated they've found these Technicolors to be more reliable at high speed than the Zyxel (my line is 300/60), and also the Zyxel was being superseded so bit of both in terms of superseded vs improved.

I'd just like to see some stats which back this up :)

Here's my Zyxel 8924, I'll put up a comparison on the line when the new box arrives.
http://beta.speedtest.net/result/6303980213.png

[Moderator edit: 8934 -> 8924]
« Last Edit: May 17, 2017, 06:26:05 PM by burakkucat »
Logged

alexrose1uk

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Technicolor TG589VAC V2 - Initial thoughts
« Reply #6 on: May 19, 2017, 06:57:14 AM »

Right basic before:
http://beta.speedtest.net/result/6308968782.png

After:
http://beta.speedtest.net/result/6309027893.png

So looks to be very similar at least on basic ping and peak speeds.
« Last Edit: May 19, 2017, 07:04:00 AM by alexrose1uk »
Logged

alexrose1uk

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Technicolor TG589VAC V2 - Initial thoughts
« Reply #7 on: September 03, 2017, 05:27:13 PM »

Ok, after some time with this router, if you have a decent older router, then I strongly advise if you game/VOIP etc, then ditch this router ASAP.
Under mixed traffic from only a few computers, and no heavy bandwidth saturation (ie VOIP, games) let alone something worse like P2P, the router CPU is just not up to scratch, and cannot even reliably hold ping within the LAN. Done a few ping tests recently as less reliable than my old Zyxel, and seeing I cannot even ping the gateway IP address for 5 minutes without pings that are not the usual <1 but sometimes 9-10ms or so.

Under light traffic with only a couple of computers attached, that's pretty weak :(

Ditch.
Logged

bilbokitz

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 121
Re: Technicolor TG589VAC V2 - Initial thoughts
« Reply #8 on: September 19, 2017, 11:53:43 AM »

Can you put it in bridge mode?

[Moderator edited to correct a typo.]
« Last Edit: September 19, 2017, 07:14:32 PM by burakkucat »
Logged
Isle of Man - Vectored VDSL