Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Finding out if fitting a new faceplate is worthwhile?  (Read 850 times)

SuperTeeJay

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
Finding out if fitting a new faceplate is worthwhile?
« on: March 06, 2017, 03:26:57 PM »

Hello folks,

I am about to move into a new build with a 5C master socket in the service cupboard and two extensions elsewhere in the flat (including one in the sitting room, which is where I'd like to put my router).

I know that splitting the VDSL from the phone signal at the master socket with a new faceplate is the best option but I can't see a way to make this work unless I'm prepared to start drilling (which I'm not) or to put the router in the cupboard (I could live with this if it was for a substantial gain).

So, my question is this - Will plugging the router into the master socket's test port via a microfilter give a good indication of the possible benefit of fitting a split faceplate or do I have to fit the faceplate first to find out?

Thanks.
Logged

licquorice

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 541
Re: Finding out if fitting a new faceplate is worthwhile?
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2017, 04:03:29 PM »

Yes, it will be pretty much the same as fitting a faceplate. I assume you mean you intend comparing speed at the test socket with a filter compared to speed at the extension.
Logged

SuperTeeJay

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
Re: Finding out if fitting a new faceplate is worthwhile?
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2017, 04:20:33 PM »

Yup, that's the plan. Thanks for confirming.
Logged

jelv

  • Helpful
  • Reg Member
  • *
  • Posts: 565
Re: Finding out if fitting a new faceplate is worthwhile?
« Reply #3 on: March 06, 2017, 05:04:25 PM »

If you don't need the telephone socket where you would like the router and there is a twisted pair wire that goes to that socket only (i.e. separate cables for each of the extensions) you could replace the extension socket with one you can plug the router into and attach the cable on the back of the filtered faceplate to the data terminals. That would avoid drilling holes and running a new cable.
Logged
Programming today is a race between software engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs, and the Universe trying to produce bigger and better idiots. So far, the Universe is winning. Rick Cook, The Wizardry Compiled

SuperTeeJay

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
Re: Finding out if fitting a new faceplate is worthwhile?
« Reply #4 on: March 06, 2017, 07:03:59 PM »

Thanks for that suggestion. A problem would be that the extension in the sitting room is part of a modular panel and I'm having trouble finding an RJ11 or RJ45 module that would fit into it, but I'll see how it goes with the speed testing before making any decisions.
Logged

licquorice

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 541
Re: Finding out if fitting a new faceplate is worthwhile?
« Reply #5 on: March 06, 2017, 07:09:48 PM »

I very much suspect there will little or no difference in the speeds. You could always still use the existing phone module and an adaptor if you don't need a phone. http://www.maplin.co.uk/p/rj11-to-telephone-adapter-ar34m
Logged

tubaman

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
Re: Finding out if fitting a new faceplate is worthwhile?
« Reply #6 on: March 06, 2017, 08:06:13 PM »

Couldn't you wire that extension to the 5C's data outlet (which is just an unfiltered connection I believe) and then plug a standard dongle filter into the extension socket if you wanted to use a phone there.
I know it's double filtering but it shouldn't lose you much speed.
 :)
Logged
BT FTTC 80/20 Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG8924

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 19356
  • Over the Rainbow
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Finding out if fitting a new faceplate is worthwhile?
« Reply #7 on: March 06, 2017, 09:05:25 PM »

A problem would be that the extension in the sitting room is part of a modular panel and I'm having trouble finding an RJ11 or RJ45 module that would fit into it, . . .

It looks to be a fairly standard modular fitting.

Take a look at Run-IT-Direct, specifically the BT & Euro Modules and Euro Faceplates & Back Boxes pages. Here's the RJ45 module and the RJ11 module.

I have a faceplate, fitted to a standard "double gang" back box, which holds two BT631A modules, one RJ11 module and a blanking plate for the unused quarter.
« Last Edit: March 06, 2017, 09:26:43 PM by burakkucat »
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

tickmike

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3058
  • Yes Another Penguin !. :)
    • Free Download from.
Logged
I RECOMMEND TRYING / USING PCLinuxOS (www.pclinuxos.com) .
I have a set of 8 fixed IP's From my Eclipse isp.
BT ADSL2 line>HG612 set as a Modem, Bridge, WAN not Bound to LAN1 or 2 >Smoothwall (Hardware Firewall and routing) > Ethernet LAN, DMZ,WiFI LAN and Spare LAN .
DSLstats LAN2  linked Ethernet