Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: DSLstats website has a new home  (Read 870 times)

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 38343
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
DSLstats website has a new home
« on: February 24, 2017, 11:50:08 AM »

I've moved my website to a different hosting company (Falcoda) and a new domain. The home is now http://dslstats.me.uk and the download page is http://dslstats.me.uk/downloads.html .

At present the new site is just a duplicate of the old one, and both can be used, but I won't be updating the old site. At some point the old site will be taken down. This will have one consequence for users: when DSLstats starts it makes a call to my website to obtain your IP address, which is reported in the event log. I don't retain this information or use it for anything else. Present versions of DSLstats (up to v5.8.7) make this call to the old website, but all future versions will call the new website. When the old site is taken down, users who haven't upgraded will experience a delay at startup, while the call to the old site times out.
Logged
  Eric

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 18966
  • Over the Rainbow
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: DSLstats website has a new home
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2017, 04:05:21 PM »

I've taken a quick look and everything looks very familiar.  ;)
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 38343
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: DSLstats website has a new home
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2017, 04:09:02 PM »

I'm pleased to hear it :)
Logged
  Eric

BigJ

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 69
Re: DSLstats website has a new home
« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2017, 07:06:14 PM »

Hi Roseway

Just curious if you're using some sort of reverse proxy service like Cloudflare on the new website? When going to the site using one of my VPN providers servers (the one I usually connect with), the browser request times out. It's not a problem as it's fine when I tried two other VPN servers. Just ideal curiosity :)

Cheers
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 38343
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: DSLstats website has a new home
« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2017, 07:27:21 PM »

I'm not consciously using anything like that. I don't know if the hosting provider is doing anything which would account for your observation. It's a subject which I'm deeply ignorant of. :)
Logged
  Eric

BigJ

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 69
Re: DSLstats website has a new home
« Reply #5 on: February 27, 2017, 07:45:58 PM »

Right-o. I'm not any wiser on the subject myself, just aware that such things exit.

Cheers
Logged

tickmike

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3011
  • Yes Another Penguin !. :)
    • Free Download from.
Re: DSLstats website has a new home
« Reply #6 on: February 28, 2017, 11:17:58 PM »

The new site looks good.  :)

Edit.. I tried to download the new 5.9 64Bit Linux.

On the old site I get a menu box that ask me if I want to open or save the file but on the new website it just downloads it somewhere  :'( Not sure if it's me or the new site.
« Last Edit: March 01, 2017, 12:16:47 AM by tickmike »
Logged
I RECOMMEND TRYING / USING PCLinuxOS (www.pclinuxos.com) .
I have a set of 8 fixed IP's From my Eclipse isp.
BT ADSL2 line>HG612 set as a Modem, Bridge, WAN not Bound to LAN1 or 2 >Smoothwall (Hardware Firewall and routing) > Ethernet LAN, DMZ,WiFI LAN and Spare LAN .
DSLstats LAN2  linked Ethernet

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 38343
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: DSLstats website has a new home
« Reply #7 on: March 01, 2017, 07:41:09 AM »

Nothing is different in the way it's set up. I suggest that you check your browser configuration.
Logged
  Eric

BigJ

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 69
Re: DSLstats website has a new home
« Reply #8 on: March 01, 2017, 03:19:58 PM »

Hi tickmike

Both the old and new websites are behaving identically for me. I'm using Firefox 51.0.1 which I've set to always download gzip files.

Edit: For clarity
« Last Edit: March 01, 2017, 03:56:22 PM by BigJ »
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29870
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: DSLstats website has a new home
« Reply #9 on: March 17, 2017, 07:40:45 PM »

Thank you eric.  Updated today with latest version & url changed on main site.

Also took the opportunity to relocate all my stats to my D drive from my desktop. Over the past few years the stats folder for dslstats & HG612stats has grown to nearly 3GB. :)
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

d2d4j

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 422
Re: DSLstats website has a new home
« Reply #10 on: March 30, 2017, 11:44:29 AM »

Hi roseway

I am sorry to bother you, and I hope I am not wrong posting, but please could I ask the following

How accurate is the monitoring of data usage

(I accept it can only account for the period the software is running)

The reason for asking is, I have again received an overage charge for Feb usage (shown in my march invoice), which when I queried it with bt billing, was told overage charge and my allowance is currently at 100GB

Now I am a samknows tester, and my allowance should be set to unlimited as samknows confirmed on Feb (I opened a thread to warn overs to check)

So beyond I should be unlimited (and samknows I have emailed just now), my usage for Feb was 21367mib up and 29613mib down, which is way lower then 100gb for Feb

So I am asking as it may help others if overage charges been applied and bt data usage is not accurate

Many thanks

John
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 38343
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: DSLstats website has a new home
« Reply #11 on: March 30, 2017, 12:39:39 PM »

The traffic monitoring has always been labelled "Experimental" because there's no consistency between different modems, and even the same modem can deliver the data differently on two different systems. The only way I know to verify it on a particular system is to transfer a few large files down (and up if you want to measure that as well) and compare the results shown in DSLstats with the known size of the files.

So the answer to your question is that I don't know (in any general sense).
Logged
  Eric

d2d4j

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 422
Re: DSLstats website has a new home
« Reply #12 on: March 30, 2017, 01:43:03 PM »

Hi roseway

Many many thanks for you quick reply

It's ok, i was just wondering how accurate it might have been

Thank you for your fantastic work on dslstats - it's appreciated

Many thanks

John
Logged