Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Which Filter for VDSL?  (Read 1233 times)

cwaite

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
Which Filter for VDSL?
« on: February 22, 2017, 06:09:25 PM »

I am trying to get recommendations on the best filter for VDSL connections, I have the standard Openreach Filter supplied by BT (not sure which MK this is) a ADSL Nation XTE-2005 Master Faceplate and a Z-350uk Filter (see pics), does anyone have any opinions on which of these is the best for speed on a fibre connection and is there anything better out there!

Thanks in advance
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 20314
  • Over the Rainbow
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Which Filter for VDSL?
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2017, 06:27:45 PM »

. . . I have the standard Openreach Filter supplied by BT (not sure which MK this is) . . .

That is the original Mk 1, which was superseded by the Mk 2, which was superseded by the Mk 3 -- all for use with the NTE5/A.

You will come across long discussions about "which version is best" when the measured criterion is synchronisation speed (or throughput speed).

I would recommend the Mk 3 SSFP, for the NTE5/A, or the Mk 4, for the NTE5/C.

Every device will have a measurable insertion loss when connected in circuit. For a zero insertion loss do not use a SSFP, micro-filter or anything. That recommendation implies that you do not use the circuit for telephony purposes, it is just used as a RF feeder for the broadband signals. (Weaver is one such person who does not use the basic circuit for telephony . . . the modem is directly connected to the incoming line.)
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

cwaite

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
Re: Which Filter for VDSL?
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2017, 06:36:31 PM »

Thank you for your prompt and clear recommendation, just what I wanted!

I think I must have an NTE5/A socket (as my faceplate is a MK1), do you think I would be at any gain if I changed my NTE5/A socket to a NTE5/C and used a Mk4?

Thanks in advance!
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 20314
  • Over the Rainbow
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Which Filter for VDSL?
« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2017, 07:47:06 PM »

I think I must have an NTE5/A socket (as my faceplate is a MK1),

Yes, I agree.

Quote
do you think I would be at any gain if I changed my NTE5/A socket to a NTE5/C and used a Mk4?

Probably not. (And, of course, replacing the pre-existing NTE5/A with an NTE5/C is a task that should be performed by Openreach.  ;)  )
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

cwaite

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
Re: Which Filter for VDSL?
« Reply #4 on: February 22, 2017, 08:09:07 PM »

Ok, Thanks for the advice! I do know someone that works for Openreach that could change it if it was beneficial but if you think its not going to make much of a difference I will leave the socket and just change the faceplate to a mk3 SSFP

Thanks again
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 20314
  • Over the Rainbow
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Which Filter for VDSL?
« Reply #5 on: February 22, 2017, 08:31:50 PM »

. . . change the faceplate to a mk3 SSFP

That is exactly what I would do, if I was in your situation.

Quote
Thanks again

You are welcome.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.
 

anything