Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4

Author Topic: just out of interest  (Read 2387 times)

noddy

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 165
Re: just out of interest
« Reply #30 on: February 15, 2017, 10:22:15 PM »

I have been meaning to ask . . .

Are you connected to an exchange that is still using 20CN equipment? For I notice that the modulation being used is G.992.1 (a.k.a. G.Dmt).

If your serving exchange is 21CN equipped, then configuring the modem/router to G.992.3 (i.e. ADSL2) would be beneficial.
yes afraid it's just 20CN ( modern technology not made it up here yet  ;) )  exchange " NSBIR "
« Last Edit: February 15, 2017, 10:26:39 PM by noddy »
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 19341
  • Over the Rainbow
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: just out of interest
« Reply #31 on: February 15, 2017, 10:27:26 PM »

yes afraid it's just 20CN ( modern technology not made it up here yet  ;) )

That's unfortunate.  :o  Even Weaver, on the Isle of Skye, has been 21CN for over a year.

So a curious kitteh wonders just how "up" is your "here"? The Shetland Islands?
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

tickmike

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3058
  • Yes Another Penguin !. :)
    • Free Download from.
Re: just out of interest
« Reply #32 on: February 15, 2017, 10:38:15 PM »

looks like the top of the world 'Orkney'  :)
https://www.samknows.com/broadband/exchange/NSBIR
Logged
I RECOMMEND TRYING / USING PCLinuxOS (www.pclinuxos.com) .
I have a set of 8 fixed IP's From my Eclipse isp.
BT ADSL2 line>HG612 set as a Modem, Bridge, WAN not Bound to LAN1 or 2 >Smoothwall (Hardware Firewall and routing) > Ethernet LAN, DMZ,WiFI LAN and Spare LAN .
DSLstats LAN2  linked Ethernet

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 19341
  • Over the Rainbow
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: just out of interest
« Reply #33 on: February 15, 2017, 10:44:12 PM »

looks like the top of the world 'Orkney'  :)

Ah, I have obviously failed to do the required research.  :-[  :paperbag:

Thank you for providing the information.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

noddy

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 165
Re: just out of interest
« Reply #34 on: February 16, 2017, 06:33:54 AM »

Thats why I don't have a problem with trees  :lol:
Logged

noddy

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 165
Re: just out of interest
« Reply #35 on: February 16, 2017, 09:11:48 AM »

That's unfortunate.  :o  Even Weaver, on the Isle of Skye, has been 21CN for over a year.

So a curious kitteh wonders just how "up" is your "here"? The Shetland Islands?
The plus side for some but apparently not me  :( is they are connecting fibre to the exchange shortly , seen new cabinets appearing near the exchange
Logged

tickmike

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3058
  • Yes Another Penguin !. :)
    • Free Download from.
Re: just out of interest
« Reply #36 on: February 16, 2017, 10:58:31 AM »

Code look up says.

FTTC doing Design, live due by April 2017 

https://www.telecom-tariffs.co.uk

That's just set the cogs going in my three brain cells I have left.

Does the exchange have a Microwave dish on it somewhere pointing to the mainland or nearby on a mast  ? that would be used for the link.
Wind = loose dish = wobbly broadband  :hmm:

Have you asked some other island residents if they have noticed poor broadband when it's windy ?.
« Last Edit: February 16, 2017, 02:54:52 PM by tickmike »
Logged
I RECOMMEND TRYING / USING PCLinuxOS (www.pclinuxos.com) .
I have a set of 8 fixed IP's From my Eclipse isp.
BT ADSL2 line>HG612 set as a Modem, Bridge, WAN not Bound to LAN1 or 2 >Smoothwall (Hardware Firewall and routing) > Ethernet LAN, DMZ,WiFI LAN and Spare LAN .
DSLstats LAN2  linked Ethernet

noddy

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 165
Re: just out of interest
« Reply #37 on: February 16, 2017, 01:37:10 PM »

Code look up says.

FTTC doing Design, live due by April 2017 

https://www.telecom-tariffs.co.uk

That's just set the cogs going in my three brain cells I have left.

Does the exchange have a Micro wave dish on it somewhere pointing to the mainland or nearby on a mast  ? that would be used for the link.
Wind = loose dish = wobbly broadband  :hmm:

Have you asked some other island residents if they have noticed poor broadband when it's windy ?.
" Genius " that would make sense it does have one on the rise behind the exchange but difficult getting info from others most I've spoken to don't even know how to log in to their routers , they just complain and leave it at that  :(
Logged

noddy

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 165
Re: just out of interest
« Reply #38 on: February 16, 2017, 01:48:45 PM »

so would that mean when fibre arrives the dish would be redundant ?
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 19341
  • Over the Rainbow
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: just out of interest
« Reply #39 on: February 16, 2017, 02:15:26 PM »

so would that mean when fibre arrives the dish would be redundant ?

Not necessarily so. It really depends upon what plans have been made for the access link (of the telephony and the broadband Internet services) between the islands and mainland Scotland. Upgraded microwave link or submarine optical fibre cables?

The planners will look at all options, including the price.  :-X
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

tickmike

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3058
  • Yes Another Penguin !. :)
    • Free Download from.
Re: just out of interest
« Reply #40 on: February 16, 2017, 03:17:55 PM »

so would that mean when fibre arrives the dish would be redundant ?
I would think it would be upgraded and possibly solve your problem.

But you could get some graphical evidence of the problem and ask BTOR to check that there equipment is all in order, be a nice day trip for someone  :)

Do you have a parish council or similar, you maybe could get some of them to monitor there broadband .

Found some old posts .
http://www.orcadian.co.uk/ongoing-problems-phones-internet-north-isles/
http://www.shetnews.co.uk/newsbites/4834-broadband-problems-traced-back-to-orkney-mast

If you are with BT give them a free call 0800 800 151 if you are unlucky to get through to India I just said goodbye and dialed again and I got a UK based call center that seem to get things sorted.

Tell them you suspect the radio link needs looking at to the mainland because of the high winds.
Logged
I RECOMMEND TRYING / USING PCLinuxOS (www.pclinuxos.com) .
I have a set of 8 fixed IP's From my Eclipse isp.
BT ADSL2 line>HG612 set as a Modem, Bridge, WAN not Bound to LAN1 or 2 >Smoothwall (Hardware Firewall and routing) > Ethernet LAN, DMZ,WiFI LAN and Spare LAN .
DSLstats LAN2  linked Ethernet

noddy

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 165
Re: just out of interest
« Reply #41 on: February 16, 2017, 03:31:46 PM »

Not necessarily so. It really depends upon what plans have been made for the access link (of the telephony and the broadband Internet services) between the islands and mainland Scotland. Upgraded microwave link or submarine optical fibre cables?

The planners will look at all options, including the price.  :-X
the under sea cable came ashore a couple of years ago already installed in a lot of the county but being the very north west tip we have to wait a while  :fingers:
Logged

noddy

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 165
Re: just out of interest
« Reply #42 on: February 16, 2017, 03:35:19 PM »

I would think it would be upgraded and possibly solve your problem.

But you could get some graphical evidence of the problem and ask BTOR to check that there equipment is all in order, be a nice day trip for someone  :)

Do you have a parish council or similar, you maybe could get some of them to monitor there broadband .

Found some old posts .
http://www.orcadian.co.uk/ongoing-problems-phones-internet-north-isles/
http://www.shetnews.co.uk/newsbites/4834-broadband-problems-traced-back-to-orkney-mast

If you are with BT give them a free call 0800 800 151 if you are unlucky to get through to India I just said goodbye and dialed again and I got a UK based call center that seem to get things sorted.

Tell them you suspect the radio link needs looking at to the mainland because of the high winds.
I'm with Plusnet but that sounds a good plan to look in to , I could get a BT neighbour to do it with any luck
Logged

ejs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1315
Re: just out of interest
« Reply #43 on: February 16, 2017, 04:03:46 PM »

I would have thought that the SNRM, on your ADSL connection between your modem and the exchange, would be completely unaffected by any problems with the backhaul.
Logged

4candles

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2060
  • Not young enough to know everything
Re: just out of interest
« Reply #44 on: February 16, 2017, 04:16:35 PM »


Does the exchange have a Microwave dish on it somewhere pointing to the mainland or nearby on a mast  ? that would be used for the link.
Wind = loose dish = wobbly broadband  :hmm:

Have you asked some other island residents if they have noticed poor broadband when it's windy ?.


As well as forecasts, the Met Office website provides figures, including wind speed/direction, for the previous 15 hours or so - eg


http://www.metoffice.gov.uk/public/weather/observation/gfmzs9uhd


For documented evidence, perhaps you could associate a dodgy DSLststs graph with the Met Office figures?
Logged
Most things are somewhere else
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4