Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 2 [3]

Author Topic: DSLStats Docker  (Read 1991 times)

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4435
Re: DSLStats Docker
« Reply #30 on: April 18, 2017, 06:16:05 PM »

ahh fair enough.
I guess a VM would still work right?
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab

andyfitter

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 86
Re: DSLStats Docker
« Reply #31 on: April 18, 2017, 06:17:16 PM »

ahh fair enough.
I guess a VM would still work right?

Yep, a VM would work, but Docker is usually much lighter weight, and things like Synology don't often give you scope to run a full VM
Logged

jaydub

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
Re: DSLStats Docker
« Reply #32 on: April 18, 2017, 06:23:51 PM »

Glad you managed to sort it out. Sorry I wasn't around to be of more assistance!

Andy.

No worries, Andy.

There was a lot of trial and error involved, but I got there in the end.

To be honest once I'd realised that you could pull down Ross' latest version of dslstats down via the Kitematic front end and configure it from within Kitematic I knew I was on the home straight.

There was a final twist in the tail as I couldn't get the app to appear in VNC.  I had been using localhost which then refused to work, but I could see within Kitematic the IP address / port combination the app was being published on, even if it took me several attempts to work out the syntax required by the VNC client(s)!!

It all seems so much simpler in hindsight now I understand the solution.

I couldn't walk away without making sure your command based solution also worked, which was very much smooth sailing in comparison.

A personal vote of thanks to both Andy and Ross for their help as I would never have got there without you and  a quick mention to my missus for not getting too peed off with me for spending several hours in 'dog with a bone' mode on a Bank Holiday.
Logged

jaydub

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
Re: DSLStats Docker
« Reply #33 on: April 18, 2017, 06:31:57 PM »

I am struggling to understand the benefit of running this in a docker? I am not a fan of docker anyway, but whats the purpose of what you guys are doing?  I mean I assume the machine thats hosting the docker could just run dslstats directly right with less complications?

In my case, I'm running on an iMac and whilst I could run DSLStats under Wine the telnet connection generally failed within 3 minutes or so.  I'm guessing it is down to the simulation slowing the telnet handshaking down.

I have no programming background, so an easy to use application is the best for me.  The Kitematic front end makes running the docker container relatively simple, once someone (Ross) has done the donkey work of creating it.

Whether it was worthwhile in the end or not is questionable as I have an issue free line at the moment, but at least I know now that if I do have line issues in the future I can share my stats with you guys.
Logged

Browni

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: DSLStats Docker
« Reply #34 on: May 06, 2017, 12:24:25 AM »

Many thanks for this nallar.

Up and running on my QNAP TS-253A.
Logged

andyfitter

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 86
Re: DSLStats Docker
« Reply #35 on: May 16, 2017, 04:58:47 PM »

Has anything changed recently with the Synology/Docker package?

I had it running correctly a few days ago but had to partially rebuild my Synology. Now whenever I run the Docker package, dslstats fails with a segmentation fault. No other output at all, just the error message.

Wanted to make sure that the package was OK as I can't see anything wrong at my end, and it was working fine previously.
Logged

andyfitter

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 86
Re: DSLStats Docker
« Reply #36 on: May 16, 2017, 05:29:24 PM »

Appears that the latest automated build on Docker has some errors that aren't seen on previous builds?

https://hub.docker.com/r/rossallan/dslstats/builds/bgffbfe5tgmwdhwekqmjsmf/

Logged

jaydub

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
Re: DSLStats Docker
« Reply #37 on: May 16, 2017, 05:43:40 PM »

Hi Andy,

Not been running DSLStats for a few days, but just restarted it and all seems OK.  No error messages and everything presents as normal.  There was a Docker update that installed earlier today, but it doesn't seem to have had a negative impact here.
Logged

andyfitter

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 86
Re: DSLStats Docker
« Reply #38 on: May 16, 2017, 07:14:00 PM »

Fixed now by the developer. Was a bad build that had been published. He's also made the build more resilient to errors.

Really coincidental timing as only an hour or two earlier I'd installed Watchtower, which automatically updates docker images if the master version has been updated. If I hadn't installed that, it would have been running happily all along.

 
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3]
 

anything