Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: TalkTalk's DLM for G.992.1/G.992.3/G.992.5 Circuits  (Read 1659 times)

Black Sheep

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4530
TalkTalk's DLM for G.992.1/G.992.3/G.992.5 Circuits
« on: January 31, 2017, 07:31:51 AM »

New TalkTalk dynamic line management (DLM) tool to be introduced for February

TalkTalk has introduced a new DLM tool for its copper broadband lines which will be in place between now and the end of February. If you're an engineer working on a TalkTalk copper broadband line and a fault is found this is what you need to do.

Contact the TalkTalk agent for a co-op requiring a DLM action as before. The TalkTalk agent will determine which DLM system the line is on and carry out the necessary action. The agent will then take actions on the new DLM which will be slightly different but will enable the line to be optimised (opposed to reset) within one minute if the fault has been resolved.
Logged

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2793
Re: TalkTalk's DLM for G.992.1/G.992.3/G.992.5 Circuits
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2017, 08:09:52 AM »

One question here, since TT will be able to action DLM does this mean that should a line have issues they will be able to action DLM without intervention of BTOR?

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:ZyXEL VMG3925-B10B

Black Sheep

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4530
Re: TalkTalk's DLM for G.992.1/G.992.3/G.992.5 Circuits
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2017, 09:16:38 AM »

That has always been the case with ISP owned DLM's.
Logged

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2793
Re: TalkTalk's DLM for G.992.1/G.992.3/G.992.5 Circuits
« Reply #3 on: January 31, 2017, 09:23:00 AM »

So just to clarify TT own both the current and new DLM so they can do with it what they want when they want without reference to BTOR and this could include any action at all? Could they for example remove a cap/band or implement one?

This is an important point considering what TT have told me in the past and the likely argument I am about to have with them.

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:ZyXEL VMG3925-B10B

atkinsong

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 85
Re: TalkTalk's DLM for G.992.1/G.992.3/G.992.5 Circuits
« Reply #4 on: January 31, 2017, 09:43:38 AM »

This specifically states COPPER broadband, i.e. ADSL.
Logged
ISP:BT 80/20; Cab:ECI; Router:Draytek Vigor 2760

Dray

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2344
Re: TalkTalk's DLM for G.992.1/G.992.3/G.992.5 Circuits
« Reply #5 on: January 31, 2017, 09:55:18 AM »

FTTC is delivered over copper though
Logged

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2793
Re: TalkTalk's DLM for G.992.1/G.992.3/G.992.5 Circuits
« Reply #6 on: January 31, 2017, 10:20:08 AM »

Yes my assumption was that when they say copper broadband it means anything delivered over the copper from the cabinet, both all flavours of ADSL and FTTC which is over copper for the last part. So this needs clarifying as well.

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:ZyXEL VMG3925-B10B

atkinsong

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 85
Re: TalkTalk's DLM for G.992.1/G.992.3/G.992.5 Circuits
« Reply #7 on: January 31, 2017, 10:31:58 AM »

Without getting bogged down in semantics, the term "copper" is generally accepted as ADSL, just as the term "fibre" is generally accepted as FTTC.
Logged
ISP:BT 80/20; Cab:ECI; Router:Draytek Vigor 2760

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2793
Re: TalkTalk's DLM for G.992.1/G.992.3/G.992.5 Circuits
« Reply #8 on: January 31, 2017, 10:34:52 AM »

Without getting bogged down in semantics, the term "copper" is generally accepted as ADSL, just as the term "fibre" is generally accepted as FTTC.

Whilst I agree that is indeed the norm I need to be 100% sure of my ground before talking to TT hence asking the question.

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:ZyXEL VMG3925-B10B

Ignitionnet

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 621
Re: TalkTalk's DLM for G.992.1/G.992.3/G.992.5 Circuits
« Reply #9 on: January 31, 2017, 10:39:43 AM »

Be 100% sure - copper refers to exchange-based ADSL only. Fibre refers to FTTC/P.

Reading your signature this doesn't change your situation in any way.
Logged

Black Sheep

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4530
Re: TalkTalk's DLM for G.992.1/G.992.3/G.992.5 Circuits
« Reply #10 on: January 31, 2017, 11:20:40 AM »

Without getting bogged down in semantics, the term "copper" is generally accepted as ADSL, just as the term "fibre" is generally accepted as FTTC.

He knows ^^^^  :)
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1089
Re: TalkTalk's DLM for G.992.1/G.992.3/G.992.5 Circuits
« Reply #11 on: January 31, 2017, 11:34:25 AM »

Indeed, Talktalk have always run their own LLU ADSL DLM system. It's much better than the BTw system in that you can turn the bloody thing off.

Even if they wanted to, Talktalk can't just make their own DLM for FTTC. OpenReach own and run the FTTC network very differently. There's just not the flexibility for an ISP to customise GEA-FTTC. It's OpenReach's DSLAM (Fibre cabinet) unlike LLU ADSL where the ISP owns their own equipment in the exchange.
Logged
BT FTTC 55/10 ECI Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridge mode + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin - minted on MDWS via DslStats

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2793
Re: TalkTalk's DLM for G.992.1/G.992.3/G.992.5 Circuits
« Reply #12 on: January 31, 2017, 12:05:14 PM »

End of discussion now folks as we have a definitive answer. Shame though not the one I wanted  ;)

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:ZyXEL VMG3925-B10B

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2350
Re: TalkTalk's DLM for G.992.1/G.992.3/G.992.5 Circuits
« Reply #13 on: January 31, 2017, 01:23:54 PM »

A bit late to the party, but if you think about it you can only have one DLM system in the street cabinet.
Logged

ejs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1452
Re: TalkTalk's DLM for G.992.1/G.992.3/G.992.5 Circuits
« Reply #14 on: January 31, 2017, 04:30:30 PM »

I thought it is possible to switch off the BTWholesale ADSL2+ DLM. The old way was with custom thresholds, and I think there's a newer way now to just turn it off.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2