Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 2 3 [4]

Author Topic: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A and IPv6 Usage  (Read 5880 times)

LordSven

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A and IPv6 Usage
« Reply #45 on: September 04, 2017, 06:45:40 PM »

@skyeci: Thanks for that. Should I check both the "Get IPv6 Address From DHCPv6 Server(IA_NA)' and 'Prefix Delegation(IA_PD)' option? If I did then would I need to change 'LAN IPv6 DNS Assign Setup' option from 'Router Advertisement' to 'Router Advertisement and DHCPv6 server'? Presumably I would then need to 'Enable DHCPv6 server' and change LAN IPv6 Address Assign Setup to 'Stateless and Stateful'. The devil is that I am receiving an IPv6 PD/56 address from the WAN side, the LAN side is issuing PD/64 addresses to the LAN but for a reason or various reasons beyond my dangerously slim to non-existent knowledge or understanding to two aren't working together.

@NewtronStar: I am using the 8924-B10A in the same way. Do you feel that I should 'uncheck' 'Default gateway for IPv6'?
Logged
BT FTTC 79/18 from Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG8924-B10A - LordSven on MDWS via DslStats

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4811
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A and IPv6 Usage
« Reply #46 on: September 04, 2017, 07:04:03 PM »

Well for me the ISP is EE/Orange yet the test shown says Ohuk-btw which is listed as the Top 25 internet service providers for IPv6 in United Kingdom (Jul 2017 yet a different test says
No problems detected.
You don’t have IPv6, but you shouldn’t have problems on websites that add IPv6 support.
and another says Find IPv6 Service Provider    bad (0.018s)

TBH IPv4 is serving me well and don't see a need for IPv6 and thought IPv6 should be automatic when needed no change of setting on the modem/router side by the user.
« Last Edit: September 04, 2017, 07:08:50 PM by NewtronStar »
Logged

banger

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 688
  • Uno comms 80/20
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A and IPv6 Usage
« Reply #47 on: September 04, 2017, 09:59:24 PM »

I've been trying to get 6to4 to work on my DSL-N55U and finally got a result from http://test-ipv6.com/ but running the test on ipv6-test.com gets IPV6 not supported and yet it was working the other day. My problem was the tunnel MTU had to be set at 1280 but the second site still says unsupported.
Logged
Tim
www.uno.net.uk & freenetname
Asus DSL-N55U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

dobbs2010

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A and IPv6 Usage
« Reply #48 on: March 18, 2018, 01:25:52 AM »

Sorry to resurrect an old thread, but has anyone had any success with this?  I'm running VMG8924-B10A latest 21 firmware, have set it up as per the zen guide and what other people have done here, it's picking up an address but IPV6 just doesn't work according to the test sites.
Logged

tubaman

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1702
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A and IPv6 Usage
« Reply #49 on: March 18, 2018, 10:44:08 AM »

I haven't been able to get IPv6 to work fully on my line for some time now.
My 8924 used to work fully and just stopped for no apparent reason.
The Netgear 6220 that I am using now is working on 6to4 but won't go native (so to speak :D).
Logged
BT FTTC 80/20 Huawei Cab - Netgear D6220

dobbs2010

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A and IPv6 Usage
« Reply #50 on: March 18, 2018, 11:03:45 AM »

Thanks for reply, it's frustrating because if I use my BT Smart hub IPV6 works no problem, but I get better sync, better WiFi and better stability with my Zyxel.
Logged

tubaman

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1702
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A and IPv6 Usage
« Reply #51 on: March 18, 2018, 11:41:23 AM »

I think for the vast majority it doesn't really matter if IPv6 works or not right now.
I appreciate that some do actually need it to work, but for the general net-surfing I do it's neither here nor there.
However, I did spend some considerable time fiddling about trying to make it work again, for no other reason than it's there and it blooming well should work!
I am unfortunately afflicted in that way :'(
Logged
BT FTTC 80/20 Huawei Cab - Netgear D6220

dobbs2010

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A and IPv6 Usage
« Reply #52 on: March 18, 2018, 11:50:38 AM »

I think for the vast majority it doesn't really matter if IPv6 works or not right now.
I appreciate that some do actually need it to work, but for the general net-surfing I do it's neither here nor there.
However, I did spend some considerable time fiddling about trying to make it work again, for no other reason than it's there and it blooming well should work!
I am unfortunately afflicted in that way :'(

Know exactly how you feel, it should work and bugs me that I can't get it to work.  ???
Logged

dobbs2010

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A and IPv6 Usage
« Reply #53 on: March 18, 2018, 04:56:51 PM »

Just to add to this problem, I've setup my HG612 using the VM8924 as a router only, and I still can't get IPv6 working, so it must be a problem with the router.
Logged

gt94sss2

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 776
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A and IPv6 Usage
« Reply #54 on: March 18, 2018, 10:32:57 PM »

I haven't been following this thread in detail, as I don't use IPv6, but if anyone has any issues or notices any bugs with in firmware, its worth contacting ZyXel support. They have helped me in the past in resolving issues with my own 8924 and then building that change into one of their public firmware releases.
Logged

MrMike

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A and IPv6 Usage
« Reply #55 on: March 18, 2018, 11:02:24 PM »

I removed my post by mistake. What I said was IPv6 works fine when my VMG8924-B10A is running in bridge mode to my Ubiquiti EdgeRouter X. So I guess it's just the router side of the 8324/8924 that's not playing nicely.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 [4]
 

anything