Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2 3 4

Author Topic: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A and IPv6 Usage  (Read 2617 times)

digitalnemesis

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 305
ZyXel VMG8324-B10A and IPv6 Usage
« on: January 11, 2017, 11:37:53 AM »

How do you configure this router to work with IPv6 on ISPs which support such protocol?
Logged

youngsyp

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A and IPv6 Usage
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2017, 01:24:32 PM »

How do you configure this router to work with IPv6 on ISPs which support such protocol?
Network Setting > Broadband > Add New WAN Interface or Modify

You can select IPv6 Only or IPv4/IPv6 Dual Stack from the IPv6/IPv4 Mode: options.

Paul
Logged

digitalnemesis

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 305
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A and IPv6 Usage
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2017, 01:28:02 PM »

Network Setting > Broadband > Add New WAN Interface or Modify

You can select IPv6 Only or IPv4/IPv6 Dual Stack from the IPv6/IPv4 Mode: options.

Paul


I've done that however I'm not getting an IPv6 address only a IPv6 Link Local Address.
Logged

digitalnemesis

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 305
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A and IPv6 Usage
« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2017, 12:48:00 AM »

Network Setting > Broadband > Add New WAN Interface or Modify

You can select IPv6 Only or IPv4/IPv6 Dual Stack from the IPv6/IPv4 Mode: options.

Paul


In the end I now have IPV6 once I reconfigured for Prefix Delegation.


Cheers!
Logged

tubaman

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 442
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A and IPv6 Usage
« Reply #4 on: March 26, 2017, 04:25:39 PM »

Hi,
I thought I'd put my Zyxel 8924 back on the line after playing with a TG589vac V2 for a few weeks and I realised that the 8924 is not picking up an IPV6 address (the TG589 does).
It's set for dual-stack and  "Delegate prefix from WAN" is set for the VDSL address but I still don't pick-up an IPV6 address from BT.
Please could someone with IPV6 working on a 8924 (or 8324) let me have their WAN and LAN settings so I can see where I am going wrong.
 :)
Logged
BT FTTC 80/20 Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG3925

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1867
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A and IPv6 Usage
« Reply #5 on: July 15, 2017, 12:07:45 AM »

Was this resolved? I'm on BT and I can't get an IPv6 address on my VMG8324.
Logged

skyeci

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 970
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A and IPv6 Usage
« Reply #6 on: July 15, 2017, 12:35:44 AM »

If you are on bt your router will need to support dhcp-pd  under your ipv6 settings which is the flavour of ipv6 BT are using.
There are a number of routers that dont support this config.  I have setup my mums asus using merlin and it fully works with bt's ipv6
Logged
Sky Fibre Pro -  billion 8800nl v1 (bridge mode) + PFSENSE (APU2C4) 2.4.0 with ipv6 , AC-88U WAP- ECI cab, G.INP disabled as of 8th April 2016

http://www.mydslwebstats.co.uk user upload ID skyECI (using a pi3)

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1867
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A and IPv6 Usage
« Reply #7 on: July 15, 2017, 01:28:10 AM »

If you are on bt your router will need to support dhcp-pd  under your ipv6 settings which is the flavour of ipv6 BT are using.
There are a number of routers that dont support this config.  I have setup my mums asus using merlin and it fully works with bt's ipv6


Is that the following.

Logged

skyeci

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 970
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A and IPv6 Usage
« Reply #8 on: July 15, 2017, 08:20:20 AM »

Sounds like it. Heres my asus settings from our bt infinity connection.
Logged
Sky Fibre Pro -  billion 8800nl v1 (bridge mode) + PFSENSE (APU2C4) 2.4.0 with ipv6 , AC-88U WAP- ECI cab, G.INP disabled as of 8th April 2016

http://www.mydslwebstats.co.uk user upload ID skyECI (using a pi3)

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1867
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A and IPv6 Usage
« Reply #9 on: July 15, 2017, 10:56:58 AM »

It still doesn't work unfortunately :(
Logged

skyeci

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 970
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A and IPv6 Usage
« Reply #10 on: July 15, 2017, 11:21:17 AM »

Are you able to set the 56 requirement- might be whats causing the issue
Logged
Sky Fibre Pro -  billion 8800nl v1 (bridge mode) + PFSENSE (APU2C4) 2.4.0 with ipv6 , AC-88U WAP- ECI cab, G.INP disabled as of 8th April 2016

http://www.mydslwebstats.co.uk user upload ID skyECI (using a pi3)

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1867
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A and IPv6 Usage
« Reply #11 on: July 15, 2017, 11:30:27 AM »

Are you able to set the 56 requirement- might be whats causing the issue

What do you mean sorry?
Logged

skyeci

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 970
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A and IPv6 Usage
« Reply #12 on: July 15, 2017, 11:53:52 AM »

well on the asus and on my own pfsense box with sky for example the prefix delegation size needs to be set to 56. This also is needed as far as I am aware for BT IPV6

If you can set the  prefix delegation size on  zyxel to 56 I would think it might fix the problem- that's if its available to set.

I use a vmg8324 but its in bridge mode so I don't think I will be able to see these options.

On my pfsense box its under the wan config - see attached

If you look on my asus pic above the length is also set to 56 and thats the one connected to bt infinity - test result attached for the asus carrried out over my pi3

« Last Edit: July 15, 2017, 12:17:53 PM by skyeci »
Logged
Sky Fibre Pro -  billion 8800nl v1 (bridge mode) + PFSENSE (APU2C4) 2.4.0 with ipv6 , AC-88U WAP- ECI cab, G.INP disabled as of 8th April 2016

http://www.mydslwebstats.co.uk user upload ID skyECI (using a pi3)

tubaman

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 442
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A and IPv6 Usage
« Reply #13 on: July 25, 2017, 07:58:02 PM »

I've had another play with my VMG8924 today but it flatly refuses to pickup an IPV6 address from BT.
It'd be really useful if another Kitizen could post their VDSL WAN and LAN config pages so I can try and work out what's going wrong.
 :)
Logged
BT FTTC 80/20 Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG3925

freelander

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A and IPv6 Usage
« Reply #14 on: July 25, 2017, 08:27:53 PM »

Have you been to network settings then home networking and enabled Lan  IPv6
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 4