Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Sync worse after line fixed?  (Read 794 times)

Sheepie

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 85
Sync worse after line fixed?
« on: January 11, 2017, 10:55:32 AM »

I'm a little confused. BT Openreach engineer found a fault at the E side street cab (fault was showing as 300m away from me). He said it was wet/damp and that had dryed and resealed the joint etc. His line tests now showed there was no fault. So far so good......

He said that he was only able to get 66Mbit sync at the cab (in part due to interleave but 66mbit at the cab???). Came back to my house and I was getting 62mbit but it had interleave. He called openreach support who removed the interleave (took less than 1 min!), and now I am sync'ing up at 68mbit.

Before he arrived my max attainable was 72mbit, now it's down to 68mbit. How can it actually be worse than it was before he fixed the fault.

« Last Edit: January 11, 2017, 11:31:17 AM by Sheepie »
Logged

Dray

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2044
Re: Sync worse after line fixed?
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2017, 11:27:04 AM »

Max attainable is only a notional figure and can't be relied upon. Is your sync the same as Max attainable then?
Logged

Sheepie

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 85
Re: Sync worse after line fixed?
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2017, 11:40:07 AM »

sync is now the same as max attainable.

Looking a bit more at the stats it seems Quiet Line and Hlog changed slightly for the worse, especially at the higher tones.

When the engineer first arrived he seemed pretty sure that I should get 80/20. After "fixing" the fault and coming back to my house and with me telling him sync was worse than before, he said he would test what sync he could get, so he plugged in his tester then after a few mins gave some excuse that it (his tester) needed to be charged, nothing more he could do, goodbye.

It's almost like he'd realised why it was worse and could not wait go get out the house fast enough!

Logged

Dray

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2044
Re: Sync worse after line fixed?
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2017, 11:59:05 AM »

According to Mydslwebstats your sync speed is the highest it's been, or am I reading that wrong?
Logged

Sheepie

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 85
Re: Sync worse after line fixed?
« Reply #4 on: January 11, 2017, 12:13:00 PM »

I was stuck at a banded profile of 60Mbit due to faulty modem. I only wanted the banding removed but engineer said he had to test for (and fix) any faults first. Unfortunatly I only set up the monitoring to MDWS after sync started to drop so do not have any data saved before then.

2 months ago I was syncing at 80mbit with attainable at 87mbit and since then I have lost 14mbit due to new (close) neighbour, 3mbit due to new neighbour in same road and today another 2mbit

Logged

Dray

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2044
Re: Sync worse after line fixed?
« Reply #5 on: January 11, 2017, 12:39:44 PM »

Perhaps your sync will increase when G.INP is turned on?
Logged

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2201
Re: Sync worse after line fixed?
« Reply #6 on: January 11, 2017, 01:15:18 PM »

In theory it won't if on fast path,  only if interleaved will it increase.

Sheppie how far are you from the cab?
Logged

Sheepie

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 85
Re: Sync worse after line fixed?
« Reply #7 on: January 11, 2017, 01:28:00 PM »

it is fastpath now both US & DS so when GINP gets enabled sync may even drop slightly due to overheads.

Openreach guy said I was 300m from the cab, and my ISP said their test said 271m (so openreach guy have have rounded up).  And I know it is a new bundle installed when my estate was built in 1999, since you can still see where they dug up the pavement all the way back to the cab. I have one of the BT inspection points in my front garden and I know there are 4 properties that are fed off it, which is a minimum of 5 pairs.

Logged

j0hn

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 716
Re: Sync worse after line fixed?
« Reply #8 on: January 11, 2017, 05:52:44 PM »

When on fastpath my max attainable is 55mb, sync at 55mb.
When interleaved my max attainable is 60mb, sync at 50mb.
Lines always show a higher attainable when interleaving is applied, it's normal and nothing to worry about.
Logged
BT FTTC 55/10 ECI Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG8924 bridge mode + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin - minted on MDWS via DslStats

Sheepie

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 85
Re: Sync worse after line fixed?
« Reply #9 on: January 11, 2017, 09:02:02 PM »

I think you're right j0hn, I just looked back at old stats and max attainable does seem to drop when on fastpath. Hopefully it will enable GINP pretty soon anyway.

Logged

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4486
Re: Sync worse after line fixed?
« Reply #10 on: January 11, 2017, 09:32:38 PM »

If the line was fixed to-day and a DLM reset was done or even changing provider from my own experience G.INP should return in 11 days or thereabouts
Logged

Sheepie

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 85
Re: Sync worse after line fixed?
« Reply #11 on: January 12, 2017, 11:08:09 AM »

wow I found some old stats from when I first had FTTC enabled (few days after cab went live) in April 2015.

DS Attainable:103258, and 21 months later it's now 68000.

a whole 35mbit (~34%) lost due to crosstalk!
Logged

NEXUS2345

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 226
Re: Sync worse after line fixed?
« Reply #12 on: January 12, 2017, 11:49:14 AM »

I am just noticing that you said something about it being "E-side cabinet". By that, do you mean between the cabinet and exchange? If so, that shouldn't make a lick of difference to your FTTC speeds, as there is a filter inside the fibre twin that prevents VDSL from being influenced by the E-side. It would make a difference to call quality, ADSL, etc.
Logged
Zen ADSL2+ | HG612 + TP-Link C2600 | Awaiting FTTC (build in progress)

Sheepie

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 85
Re: Sync worse after line fixed?
« Reply #13 on: January 12, 2017, 04:21:39 PM »

yes that is what the engineer said, but he also told me he'd cleaned and resealed the joints at the PCP. I did have awful errors on this line when it was ADSL, and I was unable to even use ADSL2+ without it putting on interleave (I have another ADSL 2+ line and that is perfect).
Logged

highpriest

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
Re: Sync worse after line fixed?
« Reply #14 on: January 12, 2017, 10:49:02 PM »

My estimated line length is 296 metres and I sync at the full speed. That much loss due to crosstalk is just insane.
Logged
VMG8324-B10A Bridge | EdgeRouter PoE | UniFi AP AC Lite