Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Who experienced G.INP on ECI?  (Read 1563 times)

Sunzz

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
Who experienced G.INP on ECI?
« on: December 29, 2016, 04:15:52 PM »

Hey everyone, so iv been reading up on G.INP, and i believe G.INP was on eci cabinets for a little while but it was removed as some people reported problems? For anyone here whos experienced G.INP for a little while on there ECI cabinet, how was it?

did you gain performance? or lose it? etc etc :D fingers crossed its back in april 2017!
Logged

underzone

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 188
Logged
BT 80/20, ECI PCP, Vigor 130, ASUS RT-AC87U

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4426
Re: Who experienced G.INP on ECI?
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2016, 08:17:14 PM »

Have watched both Huawei & ECI G.INP full roll-outs and Openreach seem to start the ball rolling in February for updates/upgrades it's almost like they have a 4 month window in the year to launch new tech on their network
Logged

ktz392837

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
Re: Who experienced G.INP on ECI?
« Reply #3 on: December 29, 2016, 08:53:30 PM »

Hey everyone, so iv been reading up on G.INP, and i believe G.INP was on eci cabinets for a little while but it was removed as some people reported problems? For anyone here whos experienced G.INP for a little while on there ECI cabinet, how was it?

did you gain performance? or lose it? etc etc :D fingers crossed its back in april 2017!
It was enabled on my eci cab line for a short period of time and did increase sync speed approx 5-10% but correctable errors went through the roof I do not know if this is why it was removed.  Errored seconds dropped to 0 or a rare 1 per hour.

I too hope it comes back to my line.  Concerned that 3db is being done before Ginp though it would make more sense for Ginp first to make line more stable then allow reductions down to 3db.

I also wish they would allow 3db for upload as that is why I pay for 80/20 but due to crosstalk my upload is being impacted so a 3db target would help greatly.

Edit: I had and still have a fastpath line but Ginp did give me an increase in sync even though theoretically it shouldn't - several people do report getting better sync with Ginp even on fastpath so not just me - doesnt make sense but anything to give me back the 40% loss due to crosstalk is welcome.
« Last Edit: December 29, 2016, 09:57:01 PM by ktz392837 »
Logged

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4426
Re: Who experienced G.INP on ECI?
« Reply #4 on: December 29, 2016, 09:50:58 PM »

It depends if your line is on fastpath or interleaved with a line using fastpath you won't gain much in sync speed though your errored seconds should be very low, but if your line is interleaved then yes you will gain a lot more sync speed because there is less overheads.

I gain 7Mbps of sync with G.INP active compared to Interleaving
Logged

skyeci

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 824
Re: Who experienced G.INP on ECI?
« Reply #5 on: December 29, 2016, 09:56:05 PM »

Bit of a mash up for me. Saw ES  go down but drop in sync though had a gain  in sync after a pair swap and reverted to an unlocked eci modem. Fingers crossed we see something in April 2017...
.
« Last Edit: December 29, 2016, 09:58:38 PM by skyeci »
Logged
Sky Fibre Pro -  8800NL v1 + PFSENSE (APU2C4) 2.4.0 with ipv6 , AC-88U WAP- ECI cab, G.INP disabled as of 8th April 2016

http://www.mydslwebstats.co.uk user upload ID skyECI (using a pi3)

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4426
Re: Who experienced G.INP on ECI?
« Reply #6 on: December 29, 2016, 10:24:38 PM »

Again when G.INP becomes active on the ECI cabinets and find your having problems with G.INP with a third party modem/router make sure the firmware is up to date before contacting your ISP to complain about G.INP !
Logged

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2528
Re: Who experienced G.INP on ECI?
« Reply #7 on: December 30, 2016, 08:38:49 AM »

I must have been one of the lucky ones, I saw no issues at all and a very stable line at the fastest sync speeds I have ever had so was very upset when it went away. My d/l speed is now 59995kbps and was 71000kbps. I am using a ZyXEL VMG8924 as both modem and router (single unit).

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:ZyXEL VMG8924-B10A

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2174
Re: Who experienced G.INP on ECI?
« Reply #8 on: December 30, 2016, 09:37:40 AM »

I also had a big jump up (was interleaved) in speeds and no issues.
Logged

forceware

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
Re: Who experienced G.INP on ECI?
« Reply #9 on: December 30, 2016, 09:40:06 AM »

Same for me, it only did good things for my 1.6km line, Im looking forward to its return.
Logged

Mark07

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 153
Re: Who experienced G.INP on ECI?
« Reply #10 on: December 30, 2016, 01:28:06 PM »

Same - gained almost 6Mbps downstream and no issues, shame they removed it.
Logged

skyeci

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 824
Re: Who experienced G.INP on ECI?
« Reply #11 on: December 30, 2016, 01:32:10 PM »

Again when G.INP becomes active on the ECI cabinets and find your having problems with G.INP with a third party modem/router make sure the firmware is up to date before contacting your ISP to complain about G.INP !

Mine is mct approved already... imagine if the possible updated eci g.inp if it cones only worked with mct approved Modems... ::) - didn't the Asus dsl68u have issues back then..
« Last Edit: December 30, 2016, 01:39:31 PM by skyeci »
Logged
Sky Fibre Pro -  8800NL v1 + PFSENSE (APU2C4) 2.4.0 with ipv6 , AC-88U WAP- ECI cab, G.INP disabled as of 8th April 2016

http://www.mydslwebstats.co.uk user upload ID skyECI (using a pi3)

Sunzz

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
Re: Who experienced G.INP on ECI?
« Reply #12 on: December 30, 2016, 02:22:22 PM »

Was there any improvement to upload speed for anyone?
Logged

Sunzz

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
Re: Who experienced G.INP on ECI?
« Reply #13 on: December 30, 2016, 02:23:19 PM »

Have watched both Huawei & ECI G.INP full roll-outs and Openreach seem to start the ball rolling in February for updates/upgrades it's almost like they have a 4 month window in the year to launch new tech on their network

why only 4 months in a year i wonder? hmmm
Logged

EvilShubunkin

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Who experienced G.INP on ECI?
« Reply #14 on: December 30, 2016, 02:23:26 PM »

No change in speed for me post-G.INP - I still have G.INP active on an ECI cabinet. What I have benefited from is a lower SNRM which I think happened after a cabinet outage overnight, but the line has been up ever since with the lower SNRM.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
 

anything