Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 6

Author Topic: VMG8924-B10a disable TR-069  (Read 4116 times)

lloyd

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
Re: VMG8924-B10a disable TR-069
« Reply #15 on: December 05, 2016, 09:10:59 PM »

Just one thought which you may have done.... did you do a full factory reset after installing V15 f/w? I know its a pain having to set everything up again but it might be worth it if you did not do that, or if you did then did you check for the menu before reloading any settings?

As I said if you did all this then ignore me thinking out loud  ;)

Stuart
It's a good point, but yes, did that this evening (and saved the config beforehand to make reloading easier). No joy.
Logged

npr

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 231
Re: VMG8924-B10a disable TR-069
« Reply #16 on: December 06, 2016, 09:42:26 AM »

You could try loading the config file which comes zipped with the firmware.
For the 15C0 fw, the file is named 1.00(AAKL.15)C0.rom.

Alternatively compare that and your saved config using a text editor (preferably notepad++), you'll see the privilege for each user near the beginning of the file.


Logged

lloyd

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
Re: VMG8924-B10a disable TR-069
« Reply #17 on: December 06, 2016, 10:00:10 AM »

Well Zyxel wanted a copy of my config file, and it has note been escalated to an 'expert'. To be fair to Zyzel, they have been very responsive so far.

I actually only want to confirm that they are turned off (I'm sure you've seen the press regarding vulnerability with TR-064), so may just do a port scan.
Logged

lloyd

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
Re: VMG8924-B10a disable TR-069
« Reply #18 on: December 06, 2016, 06:51:07 PM »

Another interesting observation - hardware reset does not work under v15.  Downgrade to v14 and it does.

Now when I do a hardware reset, the default johnlewis auto connect settings are restored in the WAN configuration, so something is not being fully reset, or there is another ROM that the ISP has access to.  I beginning to get suspicious that the ISP has control of these menu entries.  (And interestingly Zyxel support have asked if the router is ISP provided.)
Logged

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2433
Re: VMG8924-B10a disable TR-069
« Reply #19 on: December 06, 2016, 08:40:14 PM »

the default johnlewis auto connect settings are restored in the WAN configuration

Well that kind of does indicate to me that this is not a retail router and could well explain why you have these issues. I suspect the router does have the 069 and 064 stuff enabled and the fact that no menu item exists is probably to stop you messing with it.

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:ZyXEL VMG8924-B10A

lloyd

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
Re: VMG8924-B10a disable TR-069
« Reply #20 on: December 06, 2016, 09:07:58 PM »

Well I'm not prepared to potentially become part of a Mirai botnot, so for the moment this router will stay in its box.  Unless I can block TR-069 with its own firewall?
Logged

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2433
Re: VMG8924-B10a disable TR-069
« Reply #21 on: December 06, 2016, 09:13:46 PM »

As a matter of interest where did you get the router from? Was it supplied by John Lewis?

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:ZyXEL VMG8924-B10A

lloyd

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
Re: VMG8924-B10a disable TR-069
« Reply #22 on: December 06, 2016, 09:15:57 PM »

As a matter of interest where did you get the router from? Was it supplied by John Lewis?

Stuart

Yes, just changed contract from BT.
Logged

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2433
Re: VMG8924-B10a disable TR-069
« Reply #23 on: December 06, 2016, 10:31:42 PM »

I'm afraid that is not uncommon with ISP provided routers, they mess them about so they can do what they want with them. I suspect if you invest in a retail 8924 it will work as mine.

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:ZyXEL VMG8924-B10A

aam

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: VMG8924-B10a disable TR-069
« Reply #24 on: December 06, 2016, 10:45:33 PM »

Today I tried a Zyxel VMG3925 provided by KCOM and various menu items were missing under maintenance when logged-in using the admin user account. Remote management, TR-069, TR-064 and even the firmware upgrade options were missing. Previously the KCOM supplied units, such as the VMG8924, had all of these options present.
Logged

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2433
Re: VMG8924-B10a disable TR-069
« Reply #25 on: December 06, 2016, 11:05:59 PM »

Its the main reason I will always use my own router where I have total control, if an ISP didn't allow it I would not use them.

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:ZyXEL VMG8924-B10A

Adco

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: VMG8924-B10a disable TR-069
« Reply #26 on: December 06, 2016, 11:22:15 PM »

I've had a couple of these Zyxel ex ISP routers and have always had to clear out the ROM D which has the ISP config details. There is a guide on how to do this on the Andrews & Arnold site but it does require telnet access. The guide is for the VMG1312-B10A but works for the VMG8924-B10 as well.
http://support.aa.net.uk/VMG1312:_Factory_Reset

Doug
Logged

j0hn

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 608
Re: VMG8924-B10a disable TR-069
« Reply #27 on: December 07, 2016, 12:56:54 AM »

I've had a couple of these Zyxel ex ISP routers and have always had to clear out the ROM D which has the ISP config details. There is a guide on how to do this on the Andrews & Arnold site but it does require telnet access. The guide is for the VMG1312-B10A but works for the VMG8924-B10 as well.
http://support.aa.net.uk/VMG1312:_Factory_Reset

Doug
I can confirm this works. send the telnet command save_default clean, then reset the modem via the pin hole reset button
Logged
BT FTTC 55/10 ECI Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG8924 bridge mode + Asus RT-AC68U - minted on MDWS via DslStats

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29737
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: VMG8924-B10a disable TR-069
« Reply #28 on: December 07, 2016, 01:26:04 AM »

Both options are there in mine and disabled.

If you dont have the option, then you should be able to set rules in the firewall to block port 7547.

Firewall > Protocol

Add UDP Port 7547
Add TCP Port 7547

Then in Firewall > Access Control

Add ACL rules for TCP 7547 and UDP 7547
Direction WAN to router
DROP
From Any IP


Same applies to the ex-Zen VMG1312's
B*cat has some screen shots that he may kindly share,  as he's already done this.
I'd do a proper tutorial, but unfortunately Im really bogged down with other things right now :/
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

lloyd

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
Re: VMG8924-B10a disable TR-069
« Reply #29 on: December 07, 2016, 01:12:29 PM »

Thanks everyone, that is just the info I was after.

Having told Zyxel that this is an ISP supplied device, they have offered to swap it out (!?).  As long as the suggestions here work, I can see no reason to do so, so I'll give those a go first.

What does concern me is that v15 would not react to a press of the hardware reset button (but downgrade to v14 made it work).  I don't suppose anyone can confirm if they have been successful with this?
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 6
 

anything