Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 12

Author Topic: Which ISP  (Read 14114 times)

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4989
Re: Which ISP
« Reply #30 on: December 12, 2016, 10:14:38 PM »

is too late to cancel?
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4691
Re: Which ISP
« Reply #31 on: December 12, 2016, 11:15:20 PM »

Well lets look at the T&C for Equipment and give me your interpretation
where does it say you cannot use a third party modem  ;)

 
« Last Edit: December 12, 2016, 11:25:50 PM by NewtronStar »
Logged

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4691
Re: Which ISP
« Reply #32 on: December 12, 2016, 11:31:37 PM »

is too late to cancel?

No it's not to late to cancel
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 20168
  • Over the Rainbow
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Which ISP
« Reply #33 on: December 12, 2016, 11:47:31 PM »

If you have not signed a paper document to enter into a contract with Vodafone, then I believe that there is a "cooling off period" . . . which is a mandatory part of the "distance selling regulations".  :-\
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4691
Re: Which ISP
« Reply #34 on: December 13, 2016, 12:06:57 AM »

No paper/documents signed for contract the issue is giving the end-user/customer the authentication details for a third party modem which does not seem to breach the contract under page 24 section 6 (The Equipment)

So if they don't give me my authentication details it's going to become very messy for them !
Logged

ejs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1427
Re: Which ISP
« Reply #35 on: December 13, 2016, 08:13:24 PM »

I thought I found the relevant term in the Vodafone terms & conditions earlier:
Quote
4.5   Regardless of whether we need to access your home to install a new line or if we’re taking over an existing line, we’ll send you the necessary Broadband Equipment which you’ll need to connect in order to access your Vodafone Broadband and Home Phone Services. You agree to follow any instructions provided to you by us in order to set up and connect the Broadband Equipment.

Is saying that you need to use something the same as saying it's mandatory to use that something? Do they have to also say that you cannot use anything else, if they're already saying that you must use their Broadband Equipment?
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4989
Re: Which ISP
« Reply #36 on: December 14, 2016, 06:43:08 PM »

Newt has been offline on MDWS since yesterday, has the migration now occurred?
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4691
Re: Which ISP
« Reply #37 on: December 14, 2016, 09:16:10 PM »

No still with EE until Monday taken MDWS and RPi offline and going cold turkey without any line stats as that maybe what I'll have for the next 18 months with a VF modem and no way to use a third party modem  :bye:

The Phone number will change but will be changed back to original number after three days, the only way they could rectify their mistake is by cancelling the order and then start a new order which when activated would be on the 3rd of January 2017
Logged

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4691
Re: Which ISP
« Reply #38 on: December 15, 2016, 09:14:42 PM »

HHG2500 arrived was hoping it wouldn't it's 50% larger than a Billion 8800NL and 20% larger than the EE modem BrightBox2 and hooked it upto the 8800NL via lan the GUI is useless it only took me 2 mins to go through all the settings, the old EE BB2 modem is by far superior.

The 2.4 Ghz signal strength (dBm) is 18% lower than the 8800NL
Logged

keyap

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 47
Re: Which ISP
« Reply #39 on: December 17, 2016, 06:34:38 PM »

Here's something me and my friend got hold of when considering Vodafone. He did upload to somewhere on here but i can't find it so thought I'd re-post.

It's written confirmation from Vodafone, in the form of a 'chat' session, that you can use your own modem/router.

Hope it help
Logged

ejs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1427
Re: Which ISP
« Reply #40 on: December 17, 2016, 07:15:10 PM »

And a sales advisor would never get some technical detail like that wrong? They might have accidentally said that to a few people, but that doesn't mean everyone else will be able to hold them to it.
Logged

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4691
Re: Which ISP
« Reply #41 on: December 18, 2016, 12:17:20 AM »

The VF telephone sales rep said I could use a third party modem by calling the customer services department and the Chat session Rep says it is impossible to use a third party modem so two different answers to same question.

At this point i'm resigned that won't be able to use a third party modem with vodafone connect, what will I lose you ask !

1. No way to change the DNS Server I use Google
2. No way to block WAN pings IPv4 or 6
3. some ports are open on HHG2500
4. TR-069 & remote is active open to Mirai
5. No Telnet access to monitor line stats
6. No useful Modem line stats
7. No security log events
8. No dhcp setting ranges for other devices

and so on
« Last Edit: December 18, 2016, 12:30:09 AM by NewtronStar »
Logged

ejs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1427
Re: Which ISP
« Reply #42 on: December 18, 2016, 06:04:35 AM »

1. You can change the DNS servers on your computer.
4. The open port used for TR-069 does not mean it suffers from all the other vulnerabilities that allowed some routers to be infected with the Mirai worm.
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 30353
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Which ISP
« Reply #43 on: December 18, 2016, 09:01:51 AM »

2. No way to block WAN pings IPv4 or 6

I thought they were blocked by default and no way to change this setting.   Which is a PITA - one of the first things I normally do when configuring a new router is allow ICMP pings.   
Blocking ICMP is not always a good thing, not only does it stop some diagnostics but it can also break path MTU Discovery :/

4. TR-069 - As ejs said, just because port 7547 is open does not mean its vulnerable to Mirai.  It also needs to have buggy f/w that allows TR-064 to open port 80.

9. Very basic config options that anyone used to configuring their own LAN will be unhappy with.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4691
Re: Which ISP
« Reply #44 on: December 19, 2016, 08:09:02 PM »

I'll have to eat some of my words only until the HHG2500 is configured by vodafone when going live for the 1st time then a host of extra options are available to EU via GUI

You can change DNS server
Wan pings or ICMP pings are selectable on / off
No ports open all ports are stealth
DHCP ranges can be changed as usual
And there is logs available to look at
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 12