Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2 3 4

Author Topic: Can you access a site please?  (Read 5237 times)

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2790
Can you access a site please?
« on: November 12, 2016, 10:26:15 AM »

I'd appreciate knowing how many of you (if any) can access http://loopsofzen.co.uk/ ?

I am lead to believe that this site is IPv6 ONLY so many may not be able to without either a tunnel or IPv6 support.

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:ZyXEL VMG3925-B10B

licquorice

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 574
Re: Can you access a site please?
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2016, 10:39:54 AM »

Nope on BT IPv4
Logged

jelv

  • Helpful
  • Reg Member
  • *
  • Posts: 620
Re: Can you access a site please?
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2016, 10:56:34 AM »

Yes - AAISP
Logged
Programming today is a race between software engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs, and the Universe trying to produce bigger and better idiots. So far, the Universe is winning. Rick Cook, The Wizardry Compiled

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5031
Re: Can you access a site please?
« Reply #3 on: November 12, 2016, 11:08:24 AM »

loads fine here via ipv6 on sky.
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 38798
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Can you access a site please?
« Reply #4 on: November 12, 2016, 11:28:04 AM »

Unable to connect. PlusNet.
Logged
  Eric

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2790
Re: Can you access a site please?
« Reply #5 on: November 12, 2016, 12:52:08 PM »

Thanks guys... I have told TT what I think about their laziness in not doing anything.

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:ZyXEL VMG3925-B10B

tbailey2

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1223
  • it's is its when it isn't it is. No 'could of'!
    • MyDSLWebStats
Re: Can you access a site please?
« Reply #6 on: November 12, 2016, 01:08:32 PM »

Connects here okay on Plusnet and there is no IPV6 available.
Logged
Tony [Admin MyDSLWebStats]
Upload & View your stats from anywhere MyDSLWebStats
My Books!
Plusnet 80/20 - DSLstats - HG612/TG582n - ECI

ejs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1451
Re: Can you access a site please?
« Reply #7 on: November 12, 2016, 01:21:26 PM »

That site has been deliberately made IPv6 only to encourage IPv6 adoption.

@tbailey2
So how are you accessing it then? You must be using some sort of tunnel.
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 30477
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Can you access a site please?
« Reply #8 on: November 12, 2016, 01:57:02 PM »

I can view it here.   Plusnet. Not on IPv6. No tunnel.

Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 30477
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Can you access a site please?
« Reply #9 on: November 12, 2016, 02:24:52 PM »

Hmmmm

See below.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 30477
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Can you access a site please?
« Reply #10 on: November 12, 2016, 02:39:17 PM »

So I just performed a tracert to loopsofzen.co.uk

Code: [Select]
C:\Users\kitz>tracert loopsofzen.co.uk

Tracing route to loopsofzen.co.uk [2001:8b0:0:30::666:102]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1     *        *       66 ms  2001:1488:ffff::18
  2   188 ms   144 ms   100 ms  2001:1488:ffff::ffff
  3   177 ms    44 ms    47 ms  20ge1-3.core1.prg1.he.net [2001:7f8:14::6e:1]
  4   188 ms   279 ms    94 ms  100ge8-1.core1.fra1.he.net [2001:470:0:213::1]
  5     *      336 ms    61 ms  100ge6-1.core1.lon2.he.net [2001:470:0:37::1]
  6   235 ms   108 ms    93 ms  a.aimless.thn.aa.net.uk [2001:8b0:0:53::41]
  7   139 ms   121 ms    73 ms  a.needless.mh.aa.net.uk [2001:8b0:0:89a::1]
  8   138 ms   108 ms    84 ms  a.homeless.aa.net.uk [2001:8b0:0:30::51bb:1e02]
  9   143 ms    71 ms   100 ms  loopsofzen.uk [2001:8b0:0:30::666:102]

Trace complete.

and then another to homeless.aa.net.uk

Code: [Select]
racing route to homeless.aa.net.uk [81.187.30.1]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.1.1
  2    14 ms    14 ms    13 ms  lo0.central10.pcn-bng01.plus.net [195.166.130.248]
  3    15 ms    15 ms    14 ms  411.be5.pcn-ir02.plus.net [84.93.253.71]
  4    15 ms    15 ms    14 ms  195.99.125.140
  5    16 ms    15 ms    15 ms  peer1-et-1-3-0.telehouse.ukcore.bt.net [195.99.127.19]
  6     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  7    16 ms    16 ms    16 ms  a.needless.tch.aa.net.uk [90.155.53.11]
  8    17 ms    17 ms    17 ms  router.mh.aa.net.uk [81.187.30.1]

Note the increased latency for IPv6.   
According to IANA, the IPv6 address Ive been 'allocated' belongs to Hurricane Electronics. (he.net)
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

tbailey2

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1223
  • it's is its when it isn't it is. No 'could of'!
    • MyDSLWebStats
Re: Can you access a site please?
« Reply #11 on: November 12, 2016, 03:23:43 PM »

So how are you accessing it then? You must be using some sort of tunnel.
The only tunnel round here is the Channel one and don't think it's that  ??? IPV6 is disabled here everywhere.
Logged
Tony [Admin MyDSLWebStats]
Upload & View your stats from anywhere MyDSLWebStats
My Books!
Plusnet 80/20 - DSLstats - HG612/TG582n - ECI

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 20287
  • Over the Rainbow
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Can you access a site please?
« Reply #12 on: November 12, 2016, 04:17:02 PM »

I get an immediate Unable to connect / Problem loading page message.

However that doesn't surprise me, being a fellow TalkTalk user like Stuart.

Ah ha! Having just performed a whois, I see that the registrant is the young Mr Kennard, son of Adrian.

Quote
    Domain name:
        loopsofzen.co.uk

    Registrant:
        James Kennard

    Registrant type:
        UK Individual

    Registrant's address:
        The registrant is a non-trading individual who has opted to have their
        address omitted from the WHOIS service.

    Data validation:
        Nominet was able to match the registrant's name and address against a 3rd party data source on 27-Sep-2016

    Registrar:
        Andrews & Arnold Limited [Tag = AAISP]
        URL: http://www.aa.net.uk

    Relevant dates:
        Registered on: 10-Aug-2010
        Expiry date:  10-Aug-2018
        Last updated:  09-Aug-2016

    Registration status:
        Registered until expiry date.

    Name servers:
        primary-dns.co.uk         81.187.30.41  2001:8b0:0:30::51bb:1e29
        secondary-dns.co.uk       81.187.81.32  2001:8b0:0:81::51bb:5120

    WHOIS lookup made at 15:39:11 12-Nov-2016

Quote
[Duo2 ~]$ sudo traceroute -I loopsofzen.co.uk

connect: Network is unreachable
[Duo2 ~]$ sudo traceroute -T loopsofzen.co.uk

connect: Network is unreachable
[Duo2 ~]$ sudo traceroute -U loopsofzen.co.uk
traceroute to loopsofzen.co.uk (2001:8b0:0:30::666:102), 30 hops max, 80 byte packets
connect: Network is unreachable
[Duo2 ~]$ host 2001:8b0:0:30::666:102
2.0.1.0.6.6.6.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.3.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.b.8.0.1.0.0.2.ip6.arpa domain name pointer loopsofzen.uk.
2.0.1.0.6.6.6.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.3.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.b.8.0.1.0.0.2.ip6.arpa domain name pointer loopsofzen.co.uk.
[Duo2 ~]$

I believe that Andrews and Arnold was recently described as "a strange company run by a strange man", so the above access problems do not surprise me in the slightest!  ::)
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

ejs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1451
Re: Can you access a site please?
« Reply #13 on: November 12, 2016, 04:18:32 PM »

So some people on Plusnet appear to have some sort of IPv6 connectivity, others don't. I wouldn't know if Plusnet themselves have done anything because I'm using an ancient router which doesn't support IPv6.

Any chance certain routers have built-in IPv6 tunnelling? Also, I thought newer versions of Windows have built-in IPv6 tunnelling technologies, but I don't know if any are automatically enabled so that they just work.
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 38798
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Can you access a site please?
« Reply #14 on: November 12, 2016, 04:34:19 PM »

That's interesting, because I see that my Billion 7800DXL router does have the option of a 6 in 4 tunnel. Unfortunately it requires some data which I don't have (or don't understand). See attachment.
Logged
  Eric
Pages: [1] 2 3 4
 

anything