Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5

Author Topic: Windows 10 64 Bit running out of internal Ram  (Read 3053 times)

phi2008

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 308
Re: Windows 10 64 Bit running out of internal Ram
« Reply #15 on: September 29, 2016, 12:01:16 AM »

For 100 you may well be able to buy a more modern used/refurbed motherboard
+CPU from eBay and a stick of 8GB DDR3(think I paid about 23 for a brand new item not so long ago) - then if you feel like adding more memory it'll be cheap. My current motherboard is second(or maybe third?) hand, and the one before that was an Amazon return - experienced no problems in either case.  :)
« Last Edit: September 29, 2016, 12:04:23 AM by phi2008 »
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 18956
  • Over the Rainbow
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Windows 10 64 Bit running out of internal Ram
« Reply #16 on: September 29, 2016, 12:06:16 AM »

Don't forget to also check suppliers like RS Components or Farnell Electronics.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4395
Re: Windows 10 64 Bit running out of internal Ram
« Reply #17 on: September 29, 2016, 12:29:11 AM »

For 100 you may well be able to buy a more modern used/refurbed motherboard
+CPU from eBay and a stick of 8GB DDR3

Indeed phi2008 that is the way I am thinking even DDR3 ram is cheaper than DDR2, I used to update PC mobo every two years and tried my best to keep with up newer hardware but the income is less these days the one thing that kept me updating the PC was games have fallen way behind.

So bought Rise of Tomb Raider key 18.99 and can only play it on Windows 10 64Bit and the memory runs out and have to close  the program  :D
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4430
Re: Windows 10 64 Bit running out of internal Ram
« Reply #18 on: September 29, 2016, 01:01:49 AM »

That is the problem, pricing is all about the numbers the parts are been manufactured in, DDR2 now will only get more expensive as its becoming a niche product.

With that said I do have some DDR2 chips I was planning to sell.
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4430
Re: Windows 10 64 Bit running out of internal Ram
« Reply #19 on: September 29, 2016, 01:10:38 AM »

Newt I just looked at the DIMMS, tell me what you think is a fair price.

I got 2 OCZ PC6400 1 gig sticks
PN OCZ2P80QR226K

Also 2 Corsair XMS2 1 gig sticks
CMX2X1024-6400

I havent powered on the system the sticks were installed in for at least 3 years, but they were working fine when was last used.  If you do buy them I will let you send them back if they not working properly.

Actually thinking about this, these are useless for you, as with all 4 slots most you would get is 4 gig of ram.  Sorry I couldnt help.
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab

phi2008

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 308
Re: Windows 10 64 Bit running out of internal Ram
« Reply #20 on: September 29, 2016, 01:21:53 AM »

Indeed phi2008 that is the way I am thinking ...

Take a look at AMD, everything's cheaper and will work well for most people. In fact I reckon there's a good chance you could afford a brand new AM3+ motherboard and CPU if you take the AMD route. My previous board was AMD and excellent value for money.
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4430
Re: Windows 10 64 Bit running out of internal Ram
« Reply #21 on: September 29, 2016, 01:32:59 AM »

Wait for zen to come out and prices for current gen AMD hardware will drop further also.
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4430
Re: Windows 10 64 Bit running out of internal Ram
« Reply #22 on: September 29, 2016, 01:34:36 AM »

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Quad-Core-Gaming-PC-Tower-PC-With-WIFI-8GB-1TB-HDD-1GB-Graphics-Windows-7/252419015368

Although there is better class stuff around for the 250-300 price range.  Amd fx chips.

[Moderator edited to remove the complexity from the above link.]
« Last Edit: September 29, 2016, 03:52:42 PM by burakkucat »
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4395
Re: Windows 10 64 Bit running out of internal Ram
« Reply #23 on: September 29, 2016, 06:12:58 PM »

Thanks Chry for the offer  :) EEC 2X4GB sent back to seller to-day, I moved away from AMD to Intel chipsets in 2002 so don't much about the performance on them these days.

When looking around I see 4GB 240pin Dimms for AMD will those work on Intel chipsets ?
« Last Edit: September 29, 2016, 06:17:21 PM by NewtronStar »
Logged

parkdale

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
Re: Windows 10 64 Bit running out of internal Ram
« Reply #24 on: September 29, 2016, 06:48:26 PM »

Sorry to hear about memory problems, btw I get out of memory messages even with 16Gb of the stuff, esp scanning ??? still looking for clues  :-\
Novatech, local to me has these
http://www.novatech.co.uk/motherboardbundles/view/mbb-53004d.html
http://www.novatech.co.uk/products/components/motherboards/intelsocket1151/h110chipset/b-ga-h110m-s2h.html

Do you use internal or external graphics card?

Robin

Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4430
Re: Windows 10 64 Bit running out of internal Ram
« Reply #25 on: September 29, 2016, 07:10:45 PM »

amd and intel dont have their own ram, what you looking at is the class of ram.

So DDR2, DDR3 and now DDR4.

To a lesser degree is also the voltage spec of ram so e.g. is some 1.5v DDR3 ran and some 1.35v DDR3 ram, some DDR3 systems will only work with 1.35v ram.

Laptops to make this more complicated tend to have their own type of ram on top of that.

Also ECC ram which is typically for server systems, and non ECC for desktop systems.
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4395
Re: Windows 10 64 Bit running out of internal Ram
« Reply #26 on: September 29, 2016, 07:25:40 PM »

Novatech, local to me has these
http://www.novatech.co.uk/motherboardbundles/view/mbb-53004d.html
http://www.novatech.co.uk/products/components/motherboards/intelsocket1151/h110chipset/b-ga-h110m-s2h.html

Do you use internal or external graphics card?

Thanks parkdale that is the same company I got this Mobo from long time ago and use external graphic card GTX 650 1GB that 1st link looks good and will look into it later on.

amd and intel dont have their own ram, what you looking at is the class of ram.

So DDR2, DDR3 and now DDR4.

To a lesser degree is also the voltage spec of ram so e.g. is some 1.5v DDR3 ran and some 1.35v DDR3 ram, some DDR3 systems will only work with 1.35v ram.

Laptops to make this more complicated tend to have their own type of ram on top of that.

Also ECC ram which is typically for server systems, and non ECC for desktop systems.

Thanks Chry nearly forgot about Dimm voltages this mobo DDR2 uses 1.8v .
Logged

parkdale

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
Re: Windows 10 64 Bit running out of internal Ram
« Reply #27 on: September 29, 2016, 07:44:22 PM »

ahh thats where your memory's gone :-\
If you only have 3Gb, the Graphics card will 'map' 1 Gb and then you need shadow ram and o/s on top.... I think :'(
did you turn off internal graphics?
Logged

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4395
Re: Windows 10 64 Bit running out of internal Ram
« Reply #28 on: September 29, 2016, 08:08:14 PM »

Once you install an external GPU the motherboard should automatically turn off internal graphics if my memory serves me right.

When I used XP VISTA WIN8.1 never seen an issue with Ram running out warnings until WIN10 64BIT its not just in this one game it happens on Chrome application one app that really uses Ram is Flightradar24.com  ???
Logged

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4395
Re: Windows 10 64 Bit running out of internal Ram
« Reply #29 on: September 29, 2016, 11:26:01 PM »

Here is some Ram on ebay yes it's 6400 (800 Mhz) which this mobo can use now read this it's only compatible with AMD mainboard chipset it's DDR2 ram 1.8v 240pin  Non-ECC Unbuffered CL6

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/8GB-2x4GB-240PIN-PC2-6400-DIMM-DDR2-800MHz-for-AMD-CPU-Motherboard-Memory-RAM-/281931332368?hash=item41a46abb10:g:ZEoAAOSwx-9Wugh

will it work ?



Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5
 

anything