Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum

Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Help With Wiring In BT Master Socket  (Read 9162 times)

keyap

Help With Wiring In BT Master Socket
« on: September 25, 2016, 03:38:23 PM »

Hi, hope you guys can help.

I recently moved to a fibre broadband connection and since install / activation have been having loads of problems  :(.

My ISP has tried to resolve and has apparently also had BT investigate but so far they have been unable to isolate the problem.

When the switch over was taking place, an 'engineer' called and fitted a new master socket so I thought I'd have a quick look inside to see if everything appeared OK. I'm no expert, but have done a bit of 'digging' and, from what I can see, I think the wiring may be wrong.

Apologies for the lack of technical terms but hopefully you guys can follow the explanation below:-

The new master socket box is labelled Openreach MK3 and the first thing I did was to undo the two screws on the front panel (there is apparently a MK4 version but the 'engineer' said he didn't like these as there was a lack of room for additional wiring so was using his MK3 stock?). This allowed me to slide off the bottom part of the faceplate (the part which my phone connects into). On the back of this unit there are three terminals marked 2, 3 and 5 with wires connected to them. This wire runs to an extension socket in another room which is used for a phone only.

If I now look at the unit on the wall, I can see the inside of the Openreach MK3 unit and at the bottom right there's a telephone socket and at the top left a connection marked A and B. The A and B terminals have wires going to them which lead outside to a grey box which just has a T on it. This box then connects to my incoming line.