Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Does this mean that I have G.INP on upstream  (Read 2133 times)

ejs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1277
Re: Does this mean that I have G.INP on upstream
« Reply #15 on: August 22, 2016, 03:55:20 PM »

Evidently you already had G.INP on the upstream without checking the box for upstream PhyR, so it seems doubtful checking that box is going to get G.INP back into use on the upstream. It could have been a coincidence that the DLM decided to enable it for mlmclaren.
Logged

Oldjim

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 217
Re: Does this mean that I have G.INP on upstream
« Reply #16 on: August 22, 2016, 05:09:47 PM »

possibly but let us wait and see
Logged
Jim
Plusnet

WWWombat

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1458
Re: Does this mean that I have G.INP on upstream
« Reply #17 on: August 22, 2016, 05:22:13 PM »

Just a reminder that I (at least) am absolutely sure that the PhyR settings on the modem have absolutely nothing whatsoever to do with G.INP.

I experimented a month ago, and unticked the "Downstream PhyR" box the GUI of my 8800NL. Changing the setting caused a resync ... but the link came back up with downstream G.INP running, and it hasn't subsequently gone away.
Logged

mlmclaren

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 245
Re: Does this mean that I have G.INP on upstream
« Reply #18 on: August 23, 2016, 11:12:13 AM »

Maybe the PhyR option on the 8800NL applies to ADSL only... Like the SNR tweaking.
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 38379
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Does this mean that I have G.INP on upstream
« Reply #19 on: August 23, 2016, 01:09:04 PM »

SNR tweaking depends on how the DSLAM is configured. I expect it would work on VDSL2 if the DSLAM configuration permitted.

PhyR is a bit different. It's a Broadcom specific technology, and would only work with a DSLAM designed with that specific technology. G.Inp is similar but not the same, and I doubt very much if the PhyR controls in the modem would have any effect on G.Inp capability.
Logged
  Eric

Oldjim

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 217
Re: Does this mean that I have G.INP on upstream
« Reply #20 on: November 30, 2016, 05:33:28 PM »

Resurrecting an old thread
For the last couple of days the upstream error seconds went through the roof - from under 10 per hour to around 200 per hour - presumably due to the high pressure forming.
Then this morning at about 9.00am the system reacted and G.INP is now on the upstream with the speed increasing from about 8,500 to 9,998 kbps and with no error seconds reported
Logged
Jim
Plusnet

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 19076
  • Over the Rainbow
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Does this mean that I have G.INP on upstream
« Reply #21 on: November 30, 2016, 05:52:33 PM »

Then this morning at about 9.00am the system reacted and G.INP is now on the upstream with the speed increasing from about 8,500 to 9,998 kbps and with no error seconds reported

Excellent news. Thank you for sharing.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Oldjim

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 217
Re: Does this mean that I have G.INP on upstream
« Reply #22 on: April 24, 2017, 12:27:49 PM »

Now I don't understand how DLM works on upstream
G.INP removed and set to minimum interleaving with speed reduced
Code: [Select]
Downstream Upstream
Line attenuation (dB):  21.2 0.0
Signal attenuation (dB): Not monitored
Connection speed (kbps): 41777 8374
SNR margin (dB):        6.6 5.0
Power (dBm):            12.6 4.6
Interleave depth:        8 1
INP:                    47.00 0
G.INP:                  Enabled Not enabled
Vectoring status:        5 (VECT_UNCONFIGURED)

RSCorr/RS (%):          0.0173 0.0054
RSUnCorr/RS (%):        0.0000 0.0000
ES/hour:                0.36 26.1
« Last Edit: April 24, 2017, 12:30:08 PM by Oldjim »
Logged
Jim
Plusnet
Pages: 1 [2]