Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Processor 64Bit !  (Read 2265 times)

tickmike

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3058
  • Yes Another Penguin !. :)
    • Free Download from.
Processor 64Bit !
« on: July 18, 2016, 07:15:07 PM »

I'm just looking for a cheap secondhand laptop/notebook to take on holidays with me, it's got to be able to have Linux put on it.
Is there any way just looking at the 'processor specs' to tell if it will be ok for 64Bit OS ?, or does it have to say 32Bit or 64Bit or both ?.
Logged
I RECOMMEND TRYING / USING PCLinuxOS (www.pclinuxos.com) .
I have a set of 8 fixed IP's From my Eclipse isp.
BT ADSL2 line>HG612 set as a Modem, Bridge, WAN not Bound to LAN1 or 2 >Smoothwall (Hardware Firewall and routing) > Ethernet LAN, DMZ,WiFI LAN and Spare LAN .
DSLstats LAN2  linked Ethernet

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 19356
  • Over the Rainbow
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Processor 64Bit !
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2016, 08:02:47 PM »

Almost all modern laptops/notebooks will have a 64-bit processor.

Certainly any of the Intel Core2Duo, Core2Quad, i3, i5, i7, etc, processors will be 64-bit.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2667
Re: Processor 64Bit !
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2016, 08:22:01 PM »

Plus most of the AMD processors.....

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:ZyXEL VMG3925-B10B

kitzuser87430

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 376
Re: Processor 64Bit !
« Reply #3 on: July 18, 2016, 09:00:32 PM »

I suggest buying a chromebook if you are not against google (don't be evil) then unlocking the bootloader and install linux via crouton.

http://lifehacker.com/how-to-install-linux-on-a-chromebook-and-unlock-its-ful-509039343

Logged

tickmike

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3058
  • Yes Another Penguin !. :)
    • Free Download from.
Re: Processor 64Bit !
« Reply #4 on: July 18, 2016, 11:22:05 PM »

Ok.
But the one I was looking at (HP 2133) has Win7 32Bit loaded, Does that say anything ?.
Logged
I RECOMMEND TRYING / USING PCLinuxOS (www.pclinuxos.com) .
I have a set of 8 fixed IP's From my Eclipse isp.
BT ADSL2 line>HG612 set as a Modem, Bridge, WAN not Bound to LAN1 or 2 >Smoothwall (Hardware Firewall and routing) > Ethernet LAN, DMZ,WiFI LAN and Spare LAN .
DSLstats LAN2  linked Ethernet

Dray

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2126
Re: Processor 64Bit !
« Reply #5 on: July 19, 2016, 05:49:45 AM »

Why does it matter if it's 32 or 64 bit?

If it's a 32 bit machine then you can load a 32 bit operating system. If it's a 64 bit machine then you can load a 32 bit or a 64 bit operating system.
Logged

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2238
Re: Processor 64Bit !
« Reply #6 on: July 19, 2016, 06:15:48 AM »

It really wasn't difficult, two searches later and it has a x86  (32 bit) CPU.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/HP_2133_Mini-Note_PC
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/VIA_C7

Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4791
Re: Processor 64Bit !
« Reply #7 on: July 19, 2016, 10:18:37 AM »

Why does it matter if it's 32 or 64 bit?

If it's a 32 bit machine then you can load a 32 bit operating system. If it's a 64 bit machine then you can load a 32 bit or a 64 bit operating system.

32bit operating systems have a lot of limitations, 64 bit is alot more than just able to use larger amounts of system memory.
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab

Dray

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2126
Re: Processor 64Bit !
« Reply #8 on: July 19, 2016, 10:23:56 AM »

What about an example showing why 64 bit is a requirement here?
Logged

tickmike

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3058
  • Yes Another Penguin !. :)
    • Free Download from.
Re: Processor 64Bit !
« Reply #9 on: July 19, 2016, 10:43:20 AM »

Thanks, I will not bother to bit on that one.

With the support for 32Bit on a Linux based operating system being phased out it's not worth getting a older machine that only will take 32Bit OS.
Logged
I RECOMMEND TRYING / USING PCLinuxOS (www.pclinuxos.com) .
I have a set of 8 fixed IP's From my Eclipse isp.
BT ADSL2 line>HG612 set as a Modem, Bridge, WAN not Bound to LAN1 or 2 >Smoothwall (Hardware Firewall and routing) > Ethernet LAN, DMZ,WiFI LAN and Spare LAN .
DSLstats LAN2  linked Ethernet

Dray

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2126
Re: Processor 64Bit !
« Reply #10 on: July 19, 2016, 10:52:01 AM »

Even if Ubuntu dropped support today, they would still be supporting 16.04 until 2021. Do you think you'll still be working with those laptops in another 5 years?
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4791
Re: Processor 64Bit !
« Reply #11 on: July 19, 2016, 01:55:33 PM »

If its just desktop use not server use it might be ok, Dray I wasnt saying dont use it :) just warning that using 32bit has multiple implications over 64bit.  A lot of people think 64bit only matters if you need more than 4 gig of ram.
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 38531
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Processor 64Bit !
« Reply #12 on: July 19, 2016, 02:40:22 PM »

On Linux there's an optional PAE (Physical Address Extension) kernel which allows a 32-bit OS to address much more memory than 4 GB. This works very well unless you have unusually high performance needs. Debian (for example) employs a PAE kernel as standard in its 32-bit releases.
Logged
  Eric

tickmike

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3058
  • Yes Another Penguin !. :)
    • Free Download from.
Re: Processor 64Bit !
« Reply #13 on: July 19, 2016, 05:09:17 PM »

@Eric As do PCLinuxOS 32bit but they have stopped doing any updates for 32bit OS.
Logged
I RECOMMEND TRYING / USING PCLinuxOS (www.pclinuxos.com) .
I have a set of 8 fixed IP's From my Eclipse isp.
BT ADSL2 line>HG612 set as a Modem, Bridge, WAN not Bound to LAN1 or 2 >Smoothwall (Hardware Firewall and routing) > Ethernet LAN, DMZ,WiFI LAN and Spare LAN .
DSLstats LAN2  linked Ethernet

licquorice

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 541
Re: Processor 64Bit !
« Reply #14 on: July 19, 2016, 05:27:18 PM »

If its just a notebook to take on holiday, 32bit Ubuntu will be more than adequate.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
 

anything