Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5

Author Topic: Beefy UPS  (Read 6765 times)

Weaver

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4004
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 3 ◊ 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Beefy UPS
« Reply #15 on: February 19, 2016, 10:22:42 AM »

> Have you considered the option of an inverter and a big leisure battery

Jelv, I think that that's an excellent idea, but it would have to be a zero hassle zero maintenance setup. It's in an office environment. You possibly know about my health situation and physical limitation, which rule out sensible solutions that normally would be practical for health people.

> Extending the run time of that option is just add another battery.

Am very sorry, am not following you,  :-[ what add them in series?

Logged

vic0239

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 230
Re: Beefy UPS
« Reply #16 on: February 19, 2016, 11:20:15 AM »

Iím currently using a CyberPower CP1500EPFCLCD rated 1500VA/900W which Iíve had since March last year. I mainly suffer from sort interruptions and it has performed faultlessly in those circumstances. Since Iíve had it we havenít had a lengthy power outage ( :fingers: and touches wood), but some have been at least of an hourís duration.

With just my modem/router, time capsule, NAS, DECT base station, analogue telephone adapter and Raspberry Pi connected it reports a 3% loading and a battery run time of 143.5 minutes. With my Mac Pro and thunderbolt drives connected the loading is 18% with a lesser battery run time of 60 minutes.

The CyberPower runs very quietly unlike some of my previous UPSs which have suffered from annoying hum. Iíve also had issues with two previous APC models going to battery for no apparent reason and never reverting to the mains.
Logged

jelv

  • Helpful
  • Reg Member
  • *
  • Posts: 541
Re: Beefy UPS
« Reply #17 on: February 19, 2016, 01:14:48 PM »

Am very sorry, am not following you,  :-[ what add them in series?

No, parallel! But I'm not sure if you would need to. The battery inside my small UPS is I think a 7Ah motorcycle type battery. Leisure batteries of around 100Ah are very common (around £75 for a 120Ah battery) and it's easy to find ones up to 200Ah.
Logged
Programming today is a race between software engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs, and the Universe trying to produce bigger and better idiots. So far, the Universe is winning. Rick Cook, The Wizardry Compiled

Weaver

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4004
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 3 ◊ 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Beefy UPS
« Reply #18 on: February 19, 2016, 01:24:25 PM »

@jelv if the voltages on the two batteries aren't exactly matched and you connect them in parallel, then there's just going to be a huge short as the voltages try to equalise and current flows from one battery to the other with only the internal resistance to limit it!

Am I going mad? Apologies if so.
« Last Edit: February 19, 2016, 01:32:36 PM by Weaver »
Logged

guest

  • Guest
Re: Beefy UPS
« Reply #19 on: February 19, 2016, 01:29:49 PM »

@jelv if the voltages on two batteries aren't exactly matched and you connect the PM in parallel, then there's just going to be a huge short as the voltages try to equalise and current flows from one battery to the other with only the internal resistance to limit it!

That was my initial thought too :)
Logged

jelv

  • Helpful
  • Reg Member
  • *
  • Posts: 541
Re: Beefy UPS
« Reply #20 on: February 19, 2016, 01:39:40 PM »

Hmmm... yes you'd need to put together some circuitry for that.
Logged
Programming today is a race between software engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs, and the Universe trying to produce bigger and better idiots. So far, the Universe is winning. Rick Cook, The Wizardry Compiled

Weaver

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4004
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 3 ◊ 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Beefy UPS
« Reply #21 on: February 19, 2016, 01:40:18 PM »

 ;D
Logged

jelv

  • Helpful
  • Reg Member
  • *
  • Posts: 541
Re: Beefy UPS
« Reply #22 on: February 19, 2016, 01:42:32 PM »

But looking further you can get 24v inverters so you could go series.
Logged
Programming today is a race between software engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs, and the Universe trying to produce bigger and better idiots. So far, the Universe is winning. Rick Cook, The Wizardry Compiled

jelv

  • Helpful
  • Reg Member
  • *
  • Posts: 541
Re: Beefy UPS
« Reply #23 on: February 19, 2016, 01:44:56 PM »

What wattage of output would you need?
Logged
Programming today is a race between software engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs, and the Universe trying to produce bigger and better idiots. So far, the Universe is winning. Rick Cook, The Wizardry Compiled

jelv

  • Helpful
  • Reg Member
  • *
  • Posts: 541
Re: Beefy UPS
« Reply #24 on: February 19, 2016, 01:48:55 PM »

I've just found something a bit different - a UPS that you connect to your own battery: http://www.sunshinesolar.co.uk/khxc/gbu0-prodshow/CSC2000.html
Logged
Programming today is a race between software engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs, and the Universe trying to produce bigger and better idiots. So far, the Universe is winning. Rick Cook, The Wizardry Compiled

guest

  • Guest
Re: Beefy UPS
« Reply #25 on: February 19, 2016, 01:56:05 PM »

I don't think we've actually established the power he requires?

Weaver do you have one of those plugin power meters - goes in between plug & socket & usually shows :

Voltage, Current, Watts, Volt Amps, Frequency, Power Factor & power/money used.

If not then PM - I probably have one lying around I can send you.

Once we know what the peak power requirements are then its easier :)
Logged

Weaver

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4004
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 3 ◊ 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Beefy UPS
« Reply #26 on: February 19, 2016, 02:06:32 PM »

That's true, I don't know what the current consumption of that little lot is
Logged

Weaver

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4004
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 3 ◊ 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Beefy UPS
« Reply #27 on: February 19, 2016, 02:12:06 PM »

@jelv well spotted. I just need a battery charger to keep the leisure battery charged up.

Thing is, we're trying to invent the UPS when one already exists. I've noted that some UPS's have extra packs that can be used to extend the runtime.
Logged

guest

  • Guest
Re: Beefy UPS
« Reply #28 on: February 19, 2016, 02:17:26 PM »

Amusingly we've just had our first powercut in the last 2 years now. Couple of minutes duration, hundreds of alarms going off :(

I had typed some stuff out but this machine* isn't on a UPS but basically it comes down to :

Remember to factor in the inherent losses in transformers for costs and remember the losses only get worse the more its used (hysteresis/eddy current losses). My 13 year old SmartUPS1500 eats 60W power with no load, fully-charged new(ish) battery, gets a bit worse each year.

*machine is used as a Steam Link base unit, & if the link got activated during a powercut (like someone playing elsewhere on a cheap lappy) then whatever it was connected to would go flat very damn quickly :D
Logged

Weaver

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4004
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 3 ◊ 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Beefy UPS
« Reply #29 on: February 19, 2016, 02:24:58 PM »

I actually can't take over the whole of the desk, and I can't physically do the work to invent a ups, so I'll have to stick to commercial ones that have expansion packs to boost the runtime dramatically. We have our generator after all.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5
 

anything