Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Facebook seems to not be accessible if you are on TalkTalk!  (Read 1370 times)

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2521
Facebook seems to not be accessible if you are on TalkTalk!
« on: February 17, 2016, 07:45:53 PM »

Two days now and Facebook is down if you are on TT! I know not many here use it but I would like to know if any TT users can access Facebook at present. There seems to be nothing on the TT forums about this at least nothing obvious that I've found so far. I can access it on my phone using 4g so the site is not down.

Stuart

Seems like it is DNS related. Changed my DNS and it is available again. Was using Google's DNS but not now!!!
« Last Edit: February 17, 2016, 08:08:02 PM by broadstairs »
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:ZyXEL VMG8924-B10A

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 19085
  • Over the Rainbow
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Facebook seems to not be accessible if you are on TalkTalk!
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2016, 09:44:44 PM »

I use TalkTalk as my CP/ISP and I also use Google's public DNS servers.

I don't "do" Facebook but I do have the Kitz Facebook account bookmarked in case of any problems with the forum or the main site.

After reading you post, I tried https://www.facebook.com/Kitz.co.uk and it just worked for me . . .  :-\
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

sheddyian

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1072
    • GardenCam Live!
Re: Facebook seems to not be accessible if you are on TalkTalk!
« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2016, 11:30:09 PM »

I'm also with TalkTalk, and also use Google DNS, and also don't do Facebook  :D

But I've just checked, and the Facebook sign-in page loaded very quickly for me without any problems.

Ian
Logged

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2521
Re: Facebook seems to not be accessible if you are on TalkTalk!
« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2016, 08:05:59 AM »

Thanks Guys... I dont know why this happened but as soon as I replaced the Google DNS servers Facebook became accessible on all our devices. I'll not put them back because after doing some digging it appears that Google use their DNS servers to track what sites users access. I now use a set which, at least according to what I have read, does NOT do any tracking etc.

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:ZyXEL VMG8924-B10A

Dray

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2024
Re: Facebook seems to not be accessible if you are on TalkTalk!
« Reply #4 on: February 18, 2016, 09:46:23 AM »

Maybe your DNS cache was corrupted and it just needed flushing
Logged

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2521
Re: Facebook seems to not be accessible if you are on TalkTalk!
« Reply #5 on: February 18, 2016, 10:53:51 AM »

Maybe your DNS cache was corrupted and it just needed flushing

Yes but since that is a daemon in Linux and the same issue was evident across re-boots it is unlikely. The router of course is a different issue, not sure if it can be done without a re-boot of the router, I guess changing the DNS addresses used by the router would in fact flush any cache but it is only a guess.

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:ZyXEL VMG8924-B10A