Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: HP 1820G or 1810G switch  (Read 2872 times)

Weaver

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4004
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 3 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
HP 1820G or 1810G switch
« on: January 10, 2016, 07:35:24 AM »

I'm thinking of getting one of the above HP switches as my faithful Netgear 24-port gigabit switch is getting a bit long in the tooth and I would like to retire it to be a storm damage emergency backup swapout unit.

Does anyone have any experience of using these HP switches?
Logged

d2d4j

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 458
Re: HP 1820G or 1810G switch
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2016, 09:22:30 AM »

Hi weaver

We use these switches in different environments, and they work extremely well, easy to setup but no cli

You want to look at the Poe switch version, so you can power VoIP phones etc

Many thanks

John
Logged

Weaver

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4004
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 3 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: HP 1820G or 1810G switch
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2016, 09:29:21 AM »

* What's the difference between an 1820 and an 1810 ?

I'm sure I can dig up the user manuals given time, but I'm not doing too well today. (fatigue, confusion.)
« Last Edit: January 10, 2016, 09:33:16 AM by Weaver »
Logged

Weaver

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4004
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 3 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: HP 1820G or 1810G switch
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2016, 09:29:49 AM »

* Anyone used jumbo frames with them?
Logged

d2d4j

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 458
Re: HP 1820G or 1810G switch
« Reply #4 on: January 10, 2016, 11:36:36 AM »

Hi

The main difference is the 1820g has QoS, 8 levels for defined services such as VoIP etc...

Jumbo frames depends upon your need and can slow down normal flow if not suited to large blocks.

We do not use jumbo frames in normal circumstances

A nice feature of procurve switches though, is dual firmware options, albeit the 1810/20 are only semi managed level 2 switches ie webgui only, no cli

Many thanks

John
Logged

Weaver

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4004
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 3 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: HP 1820G or 1810G switch
« Reply #5 on: January 10, 2016, 11:45:26 AM »

@d2d4j - many thanks John, very useful indeed.
Logged

Weaver

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4004
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 3 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: HP 1820G or 1810G switch
« Reply #6 on: January 20, 2016, 12:29:14 AM »

Anyone suggest good suppliers ?
Logged

Weaver

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4004
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 3 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: HP 1820G or 1810G switch
« Reply #7 on: February 18, 2016, 11:07:54 PM »

Does anyone know where the manual for the 1820 might be lurking on the www?

Yes I know I could find it myself, but lots of pain and confusion just now. ;D
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 19104
  • Over the Rainbow
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: HP 1820G or 1810G switch
« Reply #8 on: February 19, 2016, 12:09:45 AM »

This link to the HP web-site might provide the required document(s).
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.
 

anything