Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 18 19 [20] 21

Author Topic: OpenWrt (Chaos Calmer r46559) for ECI/r v1 & v2 - Update: G.INP/ReTX Support  (Read 85602 times)

btsimonh

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20

I don't know if this is relevant or useful, but I believe the ethernet driver on this and the BTHH5 are the same (lantiq).
I proposed a change to allow mini-jumbo frames on the ethernet, see:
https://forum.lede-project.org/t/lantiq-vrx200-pppoe-1500-bytes/4087/2
but was unable to test as the ECI was limited to 1500 also.

Maybe someone who builds LEDE for ECI may like to try?
Should enable you to use full 1500 mtu on the pppoe connection with any UK ISP using BT Openreach (assuming the router you are using with the ECI also supports frames of 1508 on the ethernet link).

Logged

faenil

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 3

Has anyone managed to get this going with ADSL instead of VDSL?

I am currently still on the official firmware, I switched to ADSL using
/usr/sbin/vg3503j_bt_xml_modify.sh WAN_CFG_GROUP_T_00 media_type ADSL

The line syncs, but I still get no traffic on the nas interface...any idea?

Should it work straight away if I flash a non-modified OpenWrt?

How can I backup the current squashfs, considering the modem has no internect connection and does not seem to ship with ssh?
« Last Edit: June 06, 2017, 11:24:41 PM by faenil »
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 20161
  • Over the Rainbow
    • The ELRepo Project

Welcome to the Kitz forum.  :)

Has anyone managed to get this going with ADSL instead of VDSL?

I am currently still on the official firmware, I switched to ADSL using
/usr/sbin/vg3503j_bt_xml_modify.sh WAN_CFG_GROUP_T_00 media_type ADSL

The line syncs, but I still get no traffic on the nas interface...any idea?

I suspect you have not changed the device's configuration from packet transfer mode (PTM) to asynchronous transfer mode (ATM). That would result in exactly the symptoms you have described.

Unfortunately I do not have any experience of using the modem/router and so will not be able to help you.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

faenil

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 3

Welcome to the Kitz forum.  :)

I suspect you have not changed the device's configuration from packet transfer mode (PTM) to asynchronous transfer mode (ATM). That would result in exactly the symptoms you have described.

Unfortunately I do not have any experience of using the modem/router and so will not be able to help you.

thanks for getting back to me :)

The device seems to be on ATM. The line syncs, and I get download/upload rates.

"DSL_STATUS Notification
Negotiated DSL Mode = ADSL
Negotiated TC Mode = ATM
>> DSL data rate: US 888 kbps, DS 14494 kbps.
>> DSL link up, time 76, handshake elapsed time 76"

But then udhcpc is started, and it doesn't get any reply.

I'm not sure how to proceed from there, the Asus router fails to connect over PPPoE reporting "Timeout waiting for PADO packets"
Logged

faenil

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 3

Nothing...I backed up, flashed with the 15.05.1 from OpenWRT's website.

I can't even get this one to sync the line.
I edited /etc/config/network to use annex a (tried b and j too) and atm

But the DSL led doesn't come on at all, and dsl_control reports the line as "Idle"

Any clue?
Logged

perdrix

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 2

Hi folks,

I'm currently using a BT HH5A running LEDE on my VDSL link.  I am going to update a router with a much fast CPU so I can run OpenVPN on it without crippling throughput.

As I'll be running LEDE/OpenWRT on the new router, I'll likely need to dust off the BT ECI V2 modem the BT Openreach enginieer left when they put me onto VDSL (I had an HH 5A then so just used it).  Or would I be better off with the Huawei HG612?

Apart from the "I have control" issue that all we techies love, what are the benefits of flashing this modem with OpenWRT?

Oh yes, while I'm here, How do I found out what type of DSLAM is in my cabinet?

** Update ** Thanks to post from Dray below, I've found out I'm on a Hauwei cabinet

Thanks
Dave
« Last Edit: June 08, 2017, 04:13:53 PM by perdrix »
Logged

linker3000

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 2

Hi Everyone,

After a fair bit of reading ( ??? ) - one question...Is the best way to get the top off these things still by following the advice to drill a 2mm hole in the sides (http://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php?topic=11818.msg225850 Reply #7)?

Thanks
Logged
Nobody reads this bit.

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 20161
  • Over the Rainbow
    • The ELRepo Project

Welcome to the Kitz forum.  :)

It is possible to open the /r ECI devices by using a number of plastic implements to gently distort the casing and ease off the lid. Start from the long side which has the fixing screws and gradually work around towards the back. Once the first clip has been released then task then becomes easier.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

skyeci

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 971

Drilling method worked for me numerous times... dremmel worked a treat..

As you are on a huawei cab I would stick with a broadcom device which would give you easy access to stats too
« Last Edit: August 26, 2017, 09:18:08 PM by skyeci »
Logged
Sky Fibre Pro -  billion 8800nl v1 (bridge mode) + PFSENSE (APU2C4) 2.4.0 with ipv6 , AC-88U WAP- ECI cab, G.INP disabled as of 8th April 2016

http://www.mydslwebstats.co.uk user upload ID skyECI (using a pi3)

linker3000

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 2

Drilling method worked for me numerous times... dremmel worked a treat..

As you are on a huawei cab I would stick with a broadcom device which would give you easy access to stats too

Thanks - one metal spudger, 10 mins later and I was in, serial header fitted and OpenWrt installed! Yay!

With regards to the cab, it's just gone live with FTTC and I am waiting for my order to activate on 13th Sept. I currently have a Draytek 2830n doing the ADSL biz and I will be using the Openreach modem on the WAN port (so any pointers to guides for that would be good!). I am debating getting a Vigor 130, but thought I'd give the Openreach modems a go first as I managed to obtain a couple of 'unwanted' ones.

Sidenote: For fitting the serial port header, I've seen mention elsewhere of using a 1mm drill bit to clear the solder from the PCB holes (especially the end ones as they are attached to the power and ground planes and a bit of a bugger to clear) - 'in the trade' a 0.8mm bit is generally used as there is less chance of taking out the through-hole plating.

So - where to next - any tweaks I should now go do to get ready for VDSL?
« Last Edit: August 26, 2017, 09:53:20 PM by linker3000 »
Logged
Nobody reads this bit.

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 20161
  • Over the Rainbow
    • The ELRepo Project

Sidenote: For fitting the serial port header, I've seen mention elsewhere of using a 1mm drill bit to clear the solder from the PCB holes (especially the end ones as they are attached to the power and ground planes and a bit of a bugger to clear) - 'in the trade' a 0.8mm bit is generally used as there is less chance of taking out the through-hole plating.

A good tip. Thank you for mentioning it.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

akashi

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: OpenWrt (Chaos Calmer r46559) for ECI/r v1 & v2 - Update: G.INP/ReTX Support
« Reply #297 on: September 12, 2017, 12:49:22 AM »

I have successfully installed OpenWrt on my ECI V2 by following the excellent guide on the first post.

I have encountered a recurring problem, after ever 10 or so days, I am unable to browse the internet unless I power-cycle the modem. I was using a Asus N66U router and now a Plusnet Hub with the same issue.

I wanted to upgrade OpenWrt with this file: openwrt-15.05-lantiq-xrx200-VG3503J_V2-squashfs.image Unfortunately, I was unable to load it via the webgui update (LuCI) page and also failed with sysupgrade via ssh.

Any help with this would be appreciated.

Thanks.
Logged

petervrangel

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: OpenWrt (Chaos Calmer r46559) for ECI/r v1 & v2 - Update: G.INP/ReTX Support
« Reply #298 on: September 21, 2017, 07:45:52 PM »

Help please adjust the work with the profile 17a

At the moment the modem is synchronized with the profile 8b

I downloaded the file https://www.openreach.co.uk/orpg/home/products/super-fastfibreaccess/super-fastfibreaccess/landrgnu/downloads/code/ECI_Arcadyan_VDSL_modem.zip,

Using Arc, I unzipped the xcpe_hw.bin file from the dsl_vr9_firmware_xdsl-05.04.07.09.01.06_05.04.04.04.01.01 archive, renamed it to vdsl.bin, copied it to the / lib / firmware /

The following line is added to the / etc / config / network file.

option firmware '/lib/firmware/vdsl.bin'

The modem can not be synchronized

What am I doing wrong?


root@LEDE:~# /etc/init.d/dsl_control status
ATU-C Vendor ID:                          Broadcom 177.174
ATU-C System Vendor ID:                   Broadcom
Chipset:                                  Lantiq-VRX200 Unknown
Firmware Version:                         5.4.7.9.1.6
API Version:                              4.17.18.6
XTSE Capabilities:                        0x0, 0x0, 0x0, 0x0, 0x0, 0x0, 0x0, 0x2
Annex:                                    B
Line Mode:                                G.993.2 (VDSL2)
Profile:                                  8d
Line State:                               UP [0x801: showtime_tc_sync]
Forward Error Correction Seconds (FECS):  Near: 0 / Far: 0
Errored seconds (ES):                     Near: 0 / Far: 20
Severely Errored Seconds (SES):           Near: 0 / Far: 5
Loss of Signal Seconds (LOSS):            Near: 0 / Far: 4
Unavailable Seconds (UAS):                Near: 171 / Far: 171
Header Error Code Errors (HEC):           Near: 0 / Far: 0
Non Pre-emtive CRC errors (CRC_P):        Near: 1 / Far: 0
Pre-emtive CRC errors (CRCP_P):           Near: 0 / Far: 0
Power Management Mode:                    L0 - Synchronized
Latency / Interleave Delay:               Down: Interleave (6.0 ms) / Up: Interleave (4.0 ms)
Data Rate:                                Down: 7.556 Mb/s / Up: 572 Kb/s
Line Attenuation (LATN):                  Down: 10.9dB / Up: 0.0dB
Signal Attenuation (SATN):                Down: 15.5dB / Up: 0.0dB
Noise Margin (SNR):                       Down: 14.2dB / Up: 36.3dB
Aggregate Transmit Power (ACTATP):        Down: 9.4dB / Up: 3.9dB
Max. Attainable Data Rate (ATTNDR):       Down: 15.723 Mb/s / Up: 2.812 Mb/s
Line Uptime Seconds:                      12
Line Uptime:                              12s


my Belgacom provider This is the data from my Fritz.Box modem.

Negotiated Connection Properties
      Receive Direction    Send Direction
Max. DSLAM throughput   kbit/s   50000   10000
Min. DSLAM throughput   kbit/s   14568   0
Attainable throughput   kbit/s   88803   15236
Current throughput   kbit/s   49997   9998
Seamless rate adaptation      off   off
          
Latency      fast   fast
Impulse Noise Protection (INP)      32   42
G.INP      on   on
          
Signal-to-noise ratio   dB   17   10
Bitswap      off   on
Line attenuation   dB   16   25
          
Profile   17a      
G.Vector      full   full
          
Carrier record      B43   B43
Logged

ejs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1427
Re: OpenWrt (Chaos Calmer r46559) for ECI/r v1 & v2 - Update: G.INP/ReTX Support
« Reply #299 on: September 21, 2017, 07:59:30 PM »

Firmware Version:                         5.4.7.9.1.6

There are two problems:
1. This is a very old firmware version.
2. The firmware does not support vectoring.

The profile and bandwidth have probably been restricted due to the lack of vectoring support.

Find a later firmware that supports vectoring:
http://xdarklight.github.io/lantiq-xdsl-firmware-info/
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 18 19 [20] 21
 

anything