Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: FTTC cab - How to lookup location & type of DSLAM  (Read 19531 times)

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 30133
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
FTTC cab - How to lookup location & type of DSLAM
« on: April 28, 2015, 05:42:26 PM »

There's a page on the main website which gives detailed steps about various ways to get information on the location of you cab and also how to find out what make/model of FTTC cab/DSLAM it is.

FTTC Fibre Cab Lookup

Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 19559
  • Over the Rainbow
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: FTTC cab - How to lookup location & type of DSLAM
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2015, 06:50:34 PM »

That is a very useful technique. Thank you for documenting a simple way to make use of that website's data.  :)
« Last Edit: September 10, 2016, 10:42:55 PM by burakkucat »
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Black Sheep

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4456
Re: FTTC cab - How to lookup location & type of DSLAM
« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2015, 07:23:28 PM »

Absolutely agree ..... that is a nice piece of work, right there.  :)
Logged

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4638
Re: FTTC cab - How to lookup location & type of DSLAM
« Reply #3 on: April 28, 2015, 09:29:29 PM »

My Cabinet 1 on the map is in the wrong location if it was correct i would have a sync of 79998  ;D
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 30133
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: FTTC cab - How to lookup location & type of DSLAM
« Reply #4 on: April 28, 2015, 09:46:18 PM »

My Cabinet 1 on the map is in the wrong location if it was correct i would have a sync of 79998  ;D

It centralises it on postcode - hence why it will never be exactly correct, but at least it gives an idea of the general area to look.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

lemzip

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 77
Re: FTTC cab - How to lookup location & type of DSLAM
« Reply #5 on: April 28, 2015, 11:12:03 PM »

thanks, helped me find mine as i never walk the other direction from my house!
Logged

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4638
Re: FTTC cab - How to lookup location & type of DSLAM
« Reply #6 on: April 28, 2015, 11:29:15 PM »

My Cabinet 1 on the map is in the wrong location if it was correct i would have a sync of 79998  ;D

It centralises it on postcode - hence why it will never be exactly correct, but at least it gives an idea of the general area to look.

All i get now is

Sorry, No More Lookup Attempts Permitted at Present.
Please Login as a Paid Member for more Attempts


I'll be back when i have some money  :no:
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 30133
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: FTTC cab - How to lookup location & type of DSLAM
« Reply #7 on: April 28, 2015, 11:33:06 PM »

lol   I think it only allows 10 lookups per day.   I did a few today as I was putting in pizza takeaway phone no's to use for the example but I must have managed to keep under the 10 :D
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4638
Re: FTTC cab - How to lookup location & type of DSLAM
« Reply #8 on: April 28, 2015, 11:40:25 PM »

lol   I think it only allows 10 lookups per day.

Maybe a change of IP address will give me another 10 lookups  :-\
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 30133
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: FTTC cab - How to lookup location & type of DSLAM
« Reply #9 on: April 29, 2015, 12:02:10 AM »

Perhaps, or it may just store a cookie.   You could try a different browser to test  Actually thinking about it..  I was using two different browsers whilst I was doing the page, so maybe thats why I didnt hit the limit.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

KIAB

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
Re: FTTC cab - How to lookup location & type of DSLAM
« Reply #10 on: April 29, 2015, 10:29:15 AM »

Just been to the link  'www.telecom-tariffs.co.uk/codelook.htm' very useful site, been looking at cabinet locations for my area Bath, there one cabinet shown as 'Exchange 11', driven along the road, can see no cabinet, so can a exchange be in a manhole?
Logged

ip75

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
Re: FTTC cab - How to lookup location & type of DSLAM
« Reply #11 on: April 29, 2015, 10:48:04 AM »

I think the "Exchange" entries, as opposed to the "Cabinet" entries, refer to bundles of exchange-only lines, not cabinets.
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 30133
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: FTTC cab - How to lookup location & type of DSLAM
« Reply #12 on: April 29, 2015, 05:59:53 PM »

Yep exchange = Exchange only lines.  ie those that don't have a PCP cabinet. 

So no e-side, no d-side just one length of copper back to the MDF in the exchange *. 
Which also means no FTTC for EO lines until BT install a brand new PCP & FTTC cabinet for them OR install one of these at the bottom of the page here http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/fttc-cabinets.htm#fttc_street_cabinet



*Before someone else points it out, that doesnt mean it wont have joints and joins anywhere.

Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

Geekofbroadband

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 209
Re: FTTC cab - How to lookup location & type of DSLAM
« Reply #13 on: June 04, 2015, 01:31:22 PM »

What's all the different phases? Phase 06a, 09a, 10a?
Logged

jid

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1944
Re: FTTC cab - How to lookup location & type of DSLAM
« Reply #14 on: June 04, 2015, 07:44:47 PM »

What's all the different phases? Phase 06a, 09a, 10a?

This was simple BT's rollout schedule in the rollout of FTTC - so 06a was before 09a etc
Logged
Kind Regards
Jamie

TalkTalk Fibre 76meg | Sky+2TB | See My DSL Connection Stats | Bridgend Weather
Pages: [1] 2