Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4

Author Topic: G.INP - Compatible Modem/Routers  (Read 34323 times)

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2201
Re: Re: G.INP - Compatible Modem/Routers
« Reply #30 on: April 09, 2015, 07:47:56 PM »

Max, please read what I wrote again  ;) A lot of people will not be aware it needs a custom firmware - this at the very least should be highlighted in the list.
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29969
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Re: G.INP - Compatible Modem/Routers
« Reply #31 on: April 10, 2015, 01:17:46 AM »

Point taken...   I had listed it as follows
Quote
Netgear DGND3700v1 (Firmware: 2015-02-08)
but I will make it clearer by adding the link to where it can be downloaded :)
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

jelv

  • Helpful
  • Reg Member
  • *
  • Posts: 548
Re: G.INP - Compatible Modem/Routers
« Reply #32 on: April 22, 2015, 09:08:31 AM »

Just seen this topic on the Plusnet Community forums that suggests the latest ASUS DSL-AC68U firmware (3.0.0.4.378_5007 released 14/04/2015) causes a 10% drop in speed. Reverting to 3.0.0.4.376_2187 restored the 10%.
Logged
Programming today is a race between software engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs, and the Universe trying to produce bigger and better idiots. So far, the Universe is winning. Rick Cook, The Wizardry Compiled

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29969
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: G.INP - Compatible Modem/Routers
« Reply #33 on: April 27, 2015, 12:39:13 AM »

Been advised to day (thanks Mark) that the Draytek Vigor 2850 series is experiencing the same problems as the ECI modems.

Draytek are working on the firmware but nothing concrete yet. Mark has promised to keep me updated if there is any progress.

I believe the chipset is a Metanoia
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

Bowdon

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1141
Re: G.INP - Compatible Modem/Routers
« Reply #34 on: May 11, 2015, 11:14:01 AM »

What chipset is the HH3? And would it be compatable to G.INP ?

I'm asking because there is a guy on another forum who as just had fibre installed and they give him a HH3.
Logged
BT Infinity 2 - HG612 & Asus RT-N66U - ECI Cab

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29969
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: G.INP - Compatible Modem/Routers
« Reply #35 on: May 11, 2015, 12:42:55 PM »

The HH3 isn't a VDSL modem, so the chipset is kind of irrelevant in this case.   
If he has a HH3 then he will also need an Openreach VDSL modem to be able to connect. 

If he is a BT customer and has a brand new Infinity account then they should in theory send him a HH5. :(...  otherwise he will have to use his HH3 as a router only and get a modem from the installing engineer.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4599
Re: G.INP - Compatible Modem/Routers
« Reply #36 on: May 11, 2015, 04:09:44 PM »

yeah for FTTC HH3 is just a router and as such has no affect on g.inp.  Very odd for BT to give a HH3 to a FTTC customer.
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab

Dray

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2044
Re: G.INP - Compatible Modem/Routers
« Reply #37 on: May 11, 2015, 05:51:07 PM »

Probably a mistype. I think he's got a HH5.
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4599
Re: G.INP - Compatible Modem/Routers
« Reply #38 on: May 11, 2015, 06:19:16 PM »

Ask him to check if its a HH5A or HH5B

He wants a HH5B for proper working G.INP.
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab

Dray

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2044
Re: G.INP - Compatible Modem/Routers
« Reply #39 on: May 11, 2015, 06:43:03 PM »

"proper", except the HH5B has it's own problems in addition.
Logged

Dray

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2044
Re: G.INP - Compatible Modem/Routers
« Reply #40 on: May 11, 2015, 06:53:06 PM »

Does interleaving reduce sync?
Logged

terrencem

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: G.INP - Compatible Modem/Routers
« Reply #41 on: May 12, 2015, 12:42:34 PM »

I've got a Draytek Vigor 2860 and can confirm it supports G.INP and vectoring. The vectoring boosted my downstream speed from 31 mps to 40 mps.
Logged

tommy45

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 533
Re: G.INP - Compatible Modem/Routers
« Reply #42 on: May 12, 2015, 03:07:16 PM »

Does interleaving reduce sync?
Yup the normal level used will knock around 10-12mbps off the ds sync rate and add 7-8ms of extra latency
Logged

simoncraddock

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 231
Re: G.INP - Compatible Modem/Routers
« Reply #43 on: May 12, 2015, 04:37:08 PM »

So much for the BT trials, just begs the question why was all this not picked up on sooner?
Logged
Fritzbox 7490 l Plusnet FTTC

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2719
Re: G.INP - Compatible Modem/Routers
« Reply #44 on: May 12, 2015, 05:31:37 PM »

Yup the normal level used will knock around 10-12mbps off the ds sync rate and add 7-8ms of extra latency



I think we should perhaps look at the effect of interleaving more in percentage terms.

When my connection had attainable rates of around 33 Mbps, interleaving depths of around 400 or so left me with sync speeds of around 30 Mbps.

More recently, with attainable rates of around 23Mbps, Interleaving left me with sync speeds of around 20.5 Mbps.

So for my connection, at lowish interleaving depths, the effect was a syncs speed reduction of around 10%.


With attainable rates of say 90 Mbps, 10% reduction would equate to a possible sync speed of around 81 Mbps, capped at 80 Mbps = 10 Mbps sync speed difference.


Higher interleaving depths than around 400 (say 1000 or so) would no doubt show a larger sync speed reduction?


« Last Edit: May 12, 2015, 05:35:06 PM by Bald_Eagle1 »
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4
 

anything