Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Latest Virgin Media 'Freebie'  (Read 8356 times)

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 18807
  • Over the Rainbow
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Latest Virgin Media 'Freebie'
« Reply #15 on: December 25, 2015, 11:37:26 PM »

My only other concern at the moment is if my 8 port (Gigabit Ethernet Switch Model GS605) switch box will be suitable, but at a guess I'm thinking it will be, . . .

There will be not be a problem with whatever equipment that you decide to connect to your LAN.  :) 

It will be interesting to know which modem/router TT will provide. (When I joined, the only service available was G.Dmt -- up to 8 Mbps DS -- and I was given a Huawei SmartAX MT882. It's now in a drawer, in the grotto.)
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3567
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
Re: Latest Virgin Media 'Freebie'
« Reply #16 on: December 25, 2015, 11:54:32 PM »

Thanks for all the reassurances, obviously it's now just a waiting game and I'll update when everything is up and running.
Logged

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3567
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
Re: Latest Virgin Media 'Freebie'
« Reply #17 on: January 15, 2016, 12:00:46 AM »

Well TalkTalk phone and BB installed and now both running.

Obviously a bit of a difference with my UP/DL speed, BTH I've not really noticed it so far, however going from 50mbps with VM down to at the moment '5.5mbps' and a upload of .75mbps (both avg speeds taken of 2 tests 3 days apart)

However, only one complaint so-far, logging into my online 'My Account' has not been possible and the help assistant in India says they are having a problem with their web-site and to try again in 24 to 48 hours time, but I think I may have been talking with the newest recruit because of the way he kept repeating details exactly from I assume his script because he could not reset my password which I had already tried twice.

My only other problem was with my CCTV cameras because I needed to change the internal IPs back to 192.168.1.x and had forgotten how to so 'blundered' away for two days trying the same thing over and over then by accident it all fell into place which then reminded me of how to do it, yea,
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29831
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Latest Virgin Media 'Freebie'
« Reply #18 on: January 19, 2016, 10:53:26 PM »

Oh my... havent you been with VM since the year dot?
Welcome to the joys of adsl.  ;D
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3567
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
Re: Latest Virgin Media 'Freebie'
« Reply #19 on: January 19, 2016, 11:29:19 PM »

Yes, year dot, now going to throw away the string and tin cans.

VM offered me a full years free line rental plus a price match of 21.40 instead of what was going to be in February 43+ to stay with them 'after' I had made the decision to move.

Although I'm not saying the changeover went as smooth as I would have liked because today was the first time I have managed to log into My Account, due to a stupid setting they have that if you do not put a mobile phone number onto the system it does not recognise either the original or changed password, 'damn stupid' not forgetting after 2 on-line chats and 2 telephone chats none of the helpline people knew  or suggested this was my login problem, yes I discovered it myself, 'albeit by accident'
But so-far I have not been inconvenienced by my drop down to 5.5 mbps (should be 12+) from 50mbps

*************************
I wonder if and when the nightmare of switching will end?

Today I received a bill from Virgin Media for 53+ which is also nearly double my normal bill of 26.58 + Line rental which was paid in advance until next April.

So 'EVENTUALLY' having telephoned a local VM shop in order to get a phone number for VM (because they no longer seem to advertise any helpline numbers on the bills or on their website) it now turns out that I shouldn't actually be paying anything and in February I should/might even receive a pound or two credit.

If of any use they are: 01752200669 & 08000521920 (Both being freephone numbers)


However, the word of warning for anyone thinking of switching from and to 'ANY' provider is first of all check if you need to give the obligatory 30 day notice to quit.

Then make sure the company you are going to does not start your new contract until your old company and the notice period that has been given is about to expire, or else, as in my instance apart from my phone line which is not only cut off because of porting the number to my new supplier but also no refund on the upfront payment, but my BB and TV although the equipment has been disconnected (by myself) the service is still live and being paid for until the 3rd February because of not giving the 30 day notice early enough.
Obviously there may be times when this is not possible.
« Last Edit: January 22, 2016, 04:26:20 PM by oldfogy »
Logged

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3567
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
Re: Latest Virgin Media 'Freebie'
« Reply #20 on: January 08, 2017, 05:41:58 PM »

Just a quick update on my switch-over,

Speed-wise I have never achieved anything over 6MBps (download) and definitely nowhere near their estimated 'up-to 18mbps

BUT with no longer needing high speeds for downloading I seem to have coped quite well apart from the more recent constant drop-outs which seem to last for hours at a time over (although mainly just over the last few weeks) so don't know if it's anything to do with any software updates from TalkTalk.
But the cost saving has been tremendous and ALL the FREE phone calls (mobile and Land-line) has certainly been a hefty saving.
Logged

Ignitionnet

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 493
Re: Latest Virgin Media 'Freebie'
« Reply #21 on: January 09, 2017, 01:05:10 PM »

There's no money in competing with offers like that. If TalkTalk want to lose money by eating the Openreach install charge and then charging next to nothing for the rest that's their call. VM and others are far better leaving that market alone, which they do a lot more now  :)
Logged

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3567
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
Re: Latest Virgin Media 'Freebie'
« Reply #22 on: January 21, 2017, 01:27:53 AM »

It's only fair that I update on my previous comment/s especially any where I may have rubbished TalkTalk and with threats of leaving.
I was on FB having a gripe on the TalkTalk page and well eventually a engineer was booked to come out after their second on-line test finally found a fault which turned out to be with a piece of equipment I own 'a Pro Call Blocker' is what they have said has a fault which was possibly building up with fault until the only way it was cleared was after I reset the modem/router, and so-far it's now been a week without any drop-out problems, so back to a more stable connection, although nothing can be done with the 'up-to' 18 mbps speed and will have to put up with my sow stable 6 and a bit mbps connection.

So as per usual not so much operator error but in this case operators equipment error.
Logged

Ignitionnet

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 493
Re: Latest Virgin Media 'Freebie'
« Reply #23 on: January 28, 2017, 05:34:22 PM »

If it was a BT engineer you may well be liable for the cost of the visit. Be aware.
Logged

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3567
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
Re: Latest Virgin Media 'Freebie'
« Reply #24 on: January 28, 2017, 05:39:24 PM »

Yes thanks I am aware and possibly expecting the 68 charge the BT engineer said they actually charge TalkTalk more than that so it must be subsidised. But at least it's so far resolved the problem so will reluctantly accept the charge if It comes through, but still no sign of it. Maybe my luck is still holding out!
Logged

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4365
Re: Latest Virgin Media 'Freebie'
« Reply #25 on: April 19, 2017, 07:58:52 PM »

Mr Oldfogy have the same product and an ISP also found the same fault they called it a Loop fault and once removed the test they were doing cleared after removing the CPR call blocker, so what is a loop fault and how is the call blocker effecting the line or master socket.
Logged

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3567
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
Re: Latest Virgin Media 'Freebie'
« Reply #26 on: April 20, 2017, 11:04:13 PM »

Sorry I don't know the answer to your comment, but since removing the call blocker the problem went away, and yes the bill did eventually arrive the following month
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]
 

anything