Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: how to secure reset Samsung EVoS that are in RAID 0  (Read 2820 times)

snadge

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1003
    • Broadband & Tech Chat
how to secure reset Samsung EVoS that are in RAID 0
« on: December 20, 2014, 10:01:55 PM »

how to secure reset Samsung EVoS that are in RAID 0
i have 2 x samsung evos in raid 0 running win7 and i would like to perform factory restore on each as Iam wanting to install windows 8 onto the system with the drives reset back to factory

can any can any please help as i recall i had issues with them the first time round

please can any 1 help please?

i just want then SSDs reset to factory then installed with 8 on RAID

thanks
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4430
Re: how to secure reset Samsung EVoS that are in RAID 0
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2014, 09:05:17 AM »

you cannot factory reset, the closest thing is a a secure wipe which erases all the cells.

secure wipe can be a bit problematic, I use parted magic live discs, and when I secure wiped the ssd in my laptop I had to put it in sleep mode and wake it again to bypass the bios protection.

you can also now secure wipe using samsung magician software, but if you are booting of those ssd's I expect it wont let you.
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab

snadge

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1003
    • Broadband & Tech Chat
Re: how to secure reset Samsung EVoS that are in RAID 0
« Reply #2 on: December 21, 2014, 04:40:58 PM »

sorry your right - i meant what i first said

the samsung magician software does not let you do this while in raid

the only other thing i was thinking was putting each SSD in an old laptop and running secure erase that way

...or will it be just as easy to format the RAID and install 8..?

i just remember i had issues doing this and it required a Samsung Magician runnin from USB - and i would have though if that was the case you'd be able to disable raid and secure erase each drive then re-enable raid and go from there

unfortunately i cany find the USB version of Samsung Magician

thanks for your help by the way
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4430
Re: how to secure reset Samsung EVoS that are in RAID 0
« Reply #3 on: December 21, 2014, 11:04:31 PM »

I would think the win8 installer should be able to format it and setup a new filesystem.

The win8 installer also initiates a trim when quick formatting.
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab

snadge

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1003
    • Broadband & Tech Chat
Re: how to secure reset Samsung EVoS that are in RAID 0
« Reply #4 on: December 22, 2014, 06:03:47 AM »

thanks

drives come with SECURE ERASE which restores the cells back to factory condition, all TRIM does is garbage collection during use

SECURE ERASE restores lost performance on the drive, as far as im aware they are two different things

see here : http://www.cnet.com/uk/how-to/how-to-securely-erase-an-ssd-drive/

but im unsure as to whether or not to use a non-samsung secure erase

Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4430
Re: how to secure reset Samsung EVoS that are in RAID 0
« Reply #5 on: December 22, 2014, 10:53:27 AM »

a TRIM will also maintain performance as well if the drive has decent GC.

The only difference been in my view is a secure erase will immediatly clear out all the cells, whilst a TRIM just marks them ok to wipe and so they wont be wiped until GC.

I think you over worrying about it.  Unless your drive feels slow, just quick format it during install and move on.

Otherwise I recommend parted magic to secure wipe.

That guide is more suited to older generation SSD's which had bad GC or non existant GC.
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab

snadge

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1003
    • Broadband & Tech Chat
Re: how to secure reset Samsung EVoS that are in RAID 0
« Reply #6 on: December 24, 2014, 01:08:07 PM »

thanks

what is GC..?

im just going off what many other websites say to secure erase the drive(s) if your selling on or wanting to re-install

I understand what you mean and there doesnt appear to be any performance drop - on AS SSD im getting
read 1070MB/s
write 790MB/s
iops 160,000
4k read 30.73MB/s
4k write 50.79MB/s
4k-64thd read 560MB/s
4k-64thd write 548MB/s
read 0.084ms - write 0.069ms

im actually thinking of getting a Samsung 250Gb EVO 850 when i get paid next week and another 8Gb RAM bringing total RAM to 16Gb - you can use RAPID mode on the EVO's to speed them up...which you cant on raid...nor can you upgrade FW... so think that best think to do
« Last Edit: December 24, 2014, 01:11:56 PM by snadge »
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4430
Re: how to secure reset Samsung EVoS that are in RAID 0
« Reply #7 on: December 25, 2014, 03:53:36 PM »

garbage collection.

a secure erase is good for piece of mind, but the first generation ssd's had no GC, so they suffered a lot without a secure erase, now days things are very different, especially if a decent amount of over provisioning. 

I own 2 samsung 830s (128gig)

and now in my main rig a lovely 850 pro 512gig.

One of the 830s is in a pc I am using for testing, and I have done multiple OS reinstalls only quick formatting, no secure erase.  It still bench's at proper speeds.
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab

snadge

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1003
    • Broadband & Tech Chat
Re: how to secure reset Samsung EVoS that are in RAID 0
« Reply #8 on: December 25, 2014, 08:35:35 PM »

ok

thanks for your help
Logged