Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 16

Author Topic: HG612 Firmwares [New H-Wolf version] (Updated 9 Aug 2014)  (Read 88244 times)

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4247
Re: HG612 Firmwares [Aug 2014 - New HW version]
« Reply #30 on: August 08, 2014, 08:19:31 PM »

ok thanks for the explanation.

are we sure that disabling that vlan neuters it?  I remember reading some posts somewhere where people had disabled the vlan but their firmware still got updated, they were only able to prevent the updating by killing the btagent process.
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab

Howlingwolf

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
Re: HG612 Firmwares [Aug 2014 - New HW version]
« Reply #31 on: August 08, 2014, 08:59:33 PM »

That's part of what led to my decision.

Unfortunately there's no way of telling what happened. Whether it was misconfigured, a bad build or something else.
Logged

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4282
Re: HG612 Firmwares [Aug 2014 - New HW version]
« Reply #32 on: August 09, 2014, 02:20:17 PM »

Many Thanks HW have been able to download bcm96368MVWG_fs_kernel_HG612V100R001C01B030SP08_webgui-1407000358
and flash the HG612 and the GUI is back again  ;D

Should I disable the btagent from the HG612's own GUI incase BT move me back to the none GUI firmware ?
Logged

Howlingwolf

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
Re: HG612 Firmwares [Aug 2014 - New HW version] (Updated 9 Aug)
« Reply #33 on: August 09, 2014, 03:34:21 PM »

BTAgent can't be disabled via the web interface which is why I took the opportunity to reduce the size of the webimg file by removing the non-functional BTAgent tab and associated 'bits'.

In the '_webgui' build it should be neutered by default.


Anyway, the new release is now available and I've reorganised the repository as I mentioned earlier. One thing did occur to me while I was doing it - and you really, really don't have to answer this...

... Were you set to folder view or details view   :angel:


PS: We need an 'innocent' smiley
Logged

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4282
Re: HG612 Firmwares [Aug 2014 - New HW version] (Updated 9 Aug)
« Reply #34 on: August 09, 2014, 05:55:56 PM »

Cheers HW

I know it's to late for the HG612 error count fix (Incorrect errors in under wrong label)

Now that I have the GUI back with your firmware the FEC: errors should be CRC's and the CRC: label should actually be RSUnCorr errors the HEC lable is correct.

Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 18624
  • Over the Rainbow
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: HG612 Firmwares [Aug 2014 - New HW version] (Updated 9 Aug)
« Reply #35 on: August 09, 2014, 09:00:05 PM »

An easily confused kiiteh needs to ask which directory contains the latest firmware, please.  ???

Is it B030SP06? Or is it B030SP08?
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4282
Re: HG612 Firmwares [Aug 2014 - New HW version] (Updated 9 Aug)
« Reply #36 on: August 09, 2014, 11:25:27 PM »

An easily confused kiiteh needs to ask which directory contains the latest firmware, please.  ???

Is it B030SP06? Or is it B030SP08?

The lastest version is B030SP08 thats the one that has been vistiting most FTTC routers in the last month or so.
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 18624
  • Over the Rainbow
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: HG612 Firmwares [Aug 2014 - New HW version] (Updated 9 Aug)
« Reply #37 on: August 10, 2014, 12:25:18 AM »

Thank you N*Star:)

After downloading both sets and comparing with earlier firmware images that I have safely stored away, I was able to deduce that the B030SP08 set contains the latest images.

I've now flashed my HG612 with the Unlocked Webgui image and will attempt to find the time to test it on a 1.5 metre local loop. (I have a Planet VC-230N configured in CO mode and use it as the equivalent of a one-port DSLAM.)
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

perry081064

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93
Re: HG612 Firmwares [Aug 2014 - New HW version] (Updated 9 Aug)
« Reply #38 on: August 10, 2014, 12:09:35 PM »

i really wanted to update to this new version but what is worrying me is every time the modem is rebooted , even if its been up over a month with no problems , it raises the interleave even higher .
( im at 1021 / imp 3 now ).
Logged

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4282
Re: HG612 Firmwares [Aug 2014 - New HW version] (Updated 9 Aug)
« Reply #39 on: August 10, 2014, 03:54:01 PM »

Using the steps 1 to 17 from reset to entering the modem login and password, what I have noticed missing is to remove the DSL cable after powering off the HG612 and then insert the DSL cable back in after all the steps have been completed and hopefully 30 minutes have passed since powering off the HG612.

So basically don't update the HG612's firmware while the DSL cable is still connected let 30 min pass by then there should be no DLM intervention.
Logged

perry081064

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93
Re: HG612 Firmwares [Aug 2014 - New HW version] (Updated 9 Aug)
« Reply #40 on: August 10, 2014, 07:03:14 PM »



So basically don't update the HG612's firmware while the DSL cable is still connected let 30 min pass by then there should be no DLM intervention.

not saying you are wrong NS , as its prob just my line but the last time my modem was powered down it was off for just under 3 hours (8.30am- 11.50am) due to an electricians wiring check.

i thought the same , however i still ended up with increased interleave.

... didnt dare touch it again since .
Logged

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4282
Re: HG612 Firmwares [Aug 2014 - New HW version] (Updated 9 Aug)
« Reply #41 on: August 10, 2014, 09:54:05 PM »


i thought the same , however i still ended up with increased interleave.

That ok Perry081064 I fully understand its seems your attainable sync rate fluctuates over a 24 hour period same as my line, if a were to reboot the modem when the attainable is at it highest point the SNRM would be lower with a higher sync rate and the interleave depth would also increase by 10 or 20 points thats nothing to worry about.

However your interleaved depth seems to be stuck in the 1000's for many months now it maybe thats the minium amount the DLM will go, that suggests to me you have consistent low level noise on your line  :(
Logged

Howlingwolf

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
Re: HG612 Firmwares [Aug 2014 - New HW version] (Updated 9 Aug)
« Reply #42 on: August 11, 2014, 12:08:28 AM »

Cheers HW

I know it's to late for the HG612 error count fix (Incorrect errors in under wrong label)

Now that I have the GUI back with your firmware the FEC: errors should be CRC's and the CRC: label should actually be RSUnCorr errors the HEC lable is correct.

I do intend to fix as many of the web interface's issues as I can.

First I need to write a new extraction tool which sets the 'correct' date/time on the extracted files so I can use proper source control and a makefile based build system. There are simply too many files to keep track of without them.


Using the steps 1 to 17 from reset to entering the modem login and password, what I have noticed missing is to remove the DSL cable after powering off the HG612 <snip>

I hadn't noticed that. Probably because it never occurred to me to do otherwise...   :ouch:
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 18624
  • Over the Rainbow
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: HG612 Firmwares [Aug 2014 - New HW version] (Updated 9 Aug)
« Reply #43 on: August 11, 2014, 12:20:49 AM »

I was searching for something completely different when I came across a note entitled GUI_CLI.txt in my ~/lib/Huawei/HG612/ directory.

Code: [Select]
GUI    CLI
==========

CRC is SFErr (OHFErr for VDSL2 connections)
FEC is RSCorr
HEC is HEC

RSUnCorr is not reported in the GUI.

From Bald_Eagle1.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4282
Re: HG612 Firmwares [Aug 2014 - New HW version] (Updated 9 Aug)
« Reply #44 on: August 11, 2014, 05:52:54 PM »


Using the steps 1 to 17 from reset to entering the modem login and password, what I have noticed missing is to remove the DSL cable after powering off the HG612 <snip>

I hadn't noticed that. Probably because it never occurred to me to do otherwise...   :ouch:

It's more a precaution in case you finger slips off the reset button before the 5 second hold time, and if it does the HG612 will boot up as normal and you will have to go through the process again if the DSL cable was still connected the DLM would see this as 2 power off's in quick succession  :no:
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 16
 

anything