Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 14 15 [16]

Author Topic: HG612 Firmwares [New H-Wolf version] (Updated 9 Aug 2014)  (Read 96860 times)

SignedAdam

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: HG612 Firmwares [New H-Wolf version] (Updated 9 Aug 2014)
« Reply #225 on: April 30, 2016, 07:18:13 PM »

Do you think it's possible to extract the latest modem firmware from the Zyxel/Billion and implement into HG612 firmware?

Newer drivers, added features and other improvements.. :fingers:

A computer Bios always has improvements, even after they have stop supporting them, example :

http://bfy.tw/5XJj   ::)
Logged
I'm a geek on his own

Dray

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2024
Re: HG612 Firmwares [New H-Wolf version] (Updated 9 Aug 2014)
« Reply #226 on: April 30, 2016, 07:23:08 PM »

It's not a computer, it doesn't have a bios (computers don't these days either), it's just a modem. At the moment, it does all it needs to do and it probably supports G.Vector too. I can't think of any additional features that are required.
Logged

SignedAdam

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: HG612 Firmwares [New H-Wolf version] (Updated 9 Aug 2014)
« Reply #227 on: April 30, 2016, 07:35:47 PM »

Dray, I'm finding my self disagreeing with you, apologies :(

It's not a computer, it doesn't have a bios (computers don't these days either), it's just a modem. At the moment, it does all it needs to do and it probably supports G.Vector too. I can't think of any additional features that are required.

Most computers do have a bios of some kind, A uefi, is just a nother way of saying it, if it can be updated its some kind of firmware or code that can be changed, (updated)

maybe if we had some extra features, we would not need to type as many guides, as we all seem to be doing, like a tick box, to make it send the UI over the wan port, not just that, but as mentioned before, by someone else, there are newer drivers in a different bit of hardware, which could be moved to the HF612, with the right know how ?
Logged
I'm a geek on his own

hagrid

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
Re: HG612 Firmwares [New H-Wolf version] (Updated 9 Aug 2014)
« Reply #228 on: April 30, 2016, 07:46:45 PM »

In my opinion if it ain't broke why try to fix it
Logged

digitalnemesis

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 305
Re: HG612 Firmwares [New H-Wolf version] (Updated 9 Aug 2014)
« Reply #229 on: April 30, 2016, 08:15:13 PM »

Dray, I'm finding my self disagreeing with you, apologies :(

It's not a computer, it doesn't have a bios (computers don't these days either), it's just a modem. At the moment, it does all it needs to do and it probably supports G.Vector too. I can't think of any additional features that are required.

Most computers do have a bios of some kind, A uefi, is just a nother way of saying it, if it can be updated its some kind of firmware or code that can be changed, (updated)

maybe if we had some extra features, we would not need to type as many guides, as we all seem to be doing, like a tick box, to make it send the UI over the wan port, not just that, but as mentioned before, by someone else, there are newer drivers in a different bit of hardware, which could be moved to the HF612, with the right know how ?

Yes I have reason to believe the latest modem firmware for the latest broadcom chipset could somehow be ported over on the HG612 if someone really want to try. Obviously certain newer hardware only features will never be ported over, unless it's emulated in software?
Logged

SignedAdam

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: HG612 Firmwares [New H-Wolf version] (Updated 9 Aug 2014)
« Reply #230 on: May 01, 2016, 01:12:22 PM »

Not, sfaik, without rebuilding the f/w. Not very important if the HG612 is only providing an ethernet bridge. Which is how it is configured and shipped by BT. But if the Huawei is re-configured by the end-user to run pppd on the device itself then it's very important to have an appropriate firewall rule chain.  With rules to deny or drop WAN-side connection attempts to telnetd (and sshd, etc).

Talking of passwords, the f/w for the 2701 has a very good (and bizarre) one to secure it. Perfect for warding off the evil spirits out there.  And evil smells, too!

EDIT: Just to add, the 2701 is ostensibly very secure since sshd although included in the f/w is disabled by default.

cheers, a

It would be a nice touch if who ever takes on the task of building an update to the HG612 firmware, would also make it so ... what ever password is set in the User Interface is also applyed to the telnet services, because at the moment, the telnet service stays the same default password,

I've tried the command

Code: [Select]
passwd
Code: [Select]
user password
however telnet wont let me set a new password  >:D

@Dray - it's got a security flaw  :-X
« Last Edit: May 01, 2016, 01:15:31 PM by SignedAdam »
Logged
I'm a geek on his own

hmgnsd

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: HG612 Firmwares [New H-Wolf version] (Updated 9 Aug 2014)
« Reply #231 on: November 09, 2016, 12:53:13 PM »

Hello all. I'm trying to follow the instructions to flash my HG612 3B original firmware V100R001C01B028SP10 with the B030SP08 GUI firmware from the well known mega.nz page and I can get the firmware to flash, but when I go back to 192.168.1.1, the echo life GUI page is there but it doesn't accept 'admin' 'admin' as the username or password so I'm unable to access the GUI after the flashing.

And I've not come across anyone with a similar problem. If anyone could shed some light or point me towards the correct thread it'd be much appreciated.
« Last Edit: November 09, 2016, 12:59:40 PM by hmgnsd »
Logged

hmgnsd

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: HG612 Firmwares [New H-Wolf version] (Updated 9 Aug 2014)
« Reply #232 on: November 09, 2016, 01:33:53 PM »

I'm obviously not patient enough. Tried the flash with a different browser after a long restart and it's working now!
Logged

cliver

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 147
Re: HG612 Firmwares [New H-Wolf version] (Updated 9 Aug 2014)
« Reply #233 on: November 09, 2016, 01:37:27 PM »

I'm obviously not patient enough. Tried the flash with a different browser after a long restart and it's working now!
Just spotted your posts. I had exactly the same problem. Patience is a virtue apparently 😉

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

Logged
Pages: 1 ... 14 15 [16]