Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 43 44 [45] 46

Author Topic: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Firmware  (Read 125273 times)

npr

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 220
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #660 on: November 22, 2016, 08:49:31 PM »

Have someone tried to utilize and test the router in WAN-LAN routing having enabled the QoS and having some port forwarding rules?

I only have a sync speed of 23Mbps down and 0.7Mbps up and one port forward rule assigned, but FWIW , this is my VMG88924 running QoS to prioritise VoIP while on a VoIP call.

1.png == While on VoIP call no other activity.

2.png == QoS monitor.

3.png == While on VoIP call + downloading large file.


Logged

youngsyp

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #661 on: December 01, 2016, 11:05:26 AM »

Hi guys,

I'll have an opportunity to update my 8924 to v15 firmware on Friday so just wanted to check in and get some feedback from those who are using it as to how stable it is.

I'm running my 8924 as a modem router for ADSL2+ currently, with v14 FW and it's been up and stable for the last 31 days, or since the last time I reset it. So I'm keen to maintain that lack of issues.

Thanks in advance,

Paul
Logged

npr

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 220
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #662 on: December 01, 2016, 12:50:41 PM »

I find FW 15C0 to be more stable than previous versions but the GUI is still a bit flaky.

Just tried the Parental Control and that's proving unreliable in FW 15C0, don't know what it was like in previous versions.



Logged

PhilipD

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 271
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #663 on: December 01, 2016, 02:25:18 PM »

Hi

If you leave things alone with the ZyXel and keep the config simple it does seem pretty reliable, but as soon as you start dipping into the UI and changing settings the flakiness makes itself known, and it's been that different in any firmware version to be honest.

I've put it in bridge mode now and it seems pretty stable but then I don't need to change anything in the UI at all now.
 
Regards

Phil

Logged

aneesh99

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 41
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #664 on: December 23, 2016, 01:42:28 AM »

I've found it so much more reliable in modem only mode tbh, no restarts, no web GUI locking and becoming inaccessible
Logged

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2354
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #665 on: December 23, 2016, 08:19:07 AM »

Just wanted to say that my 8924 has been up now for 103+ days continuously and yes I have logged into the gui a few times during that time. It is running in full router mode. This is not the first time it has been up in excess of 70 days. Over the time I had it in use I think I have only had to reboot it because of a problem maybe 2 or 3 times in the past 2 years. It has been rebooted for f/w upgrades etc and some other reasons like power issues in the house and some line issues. It is on a VDSL connection currently sync'd at 59995kbps.

So I would say that for me at least this is a very reliable router. It is currently on V15 f/w btw.

I do wonder if we see a slightly skewed view of things on this forum as most folks come here when they have an issue with stuff so we do not see how many things just run without problems?

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:ZyXEL VMG8924-B10A

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 38058
  • Penguins CAN fly
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #666 on: December 23, 2016, 09:24:01 AM »

Experiences with this model do vary. My situation is similar aneesh99 - in full modem/router mode it repeatedly dropped the PPP connection (and didn't automatically reconnect), but as a bridged modem it's the best of the lot on my connection.
Logged
  Eric

youngsyp

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #667 on: January 06, 2017, 12:24:42 PM »

Just wanted to say that my 8924 has been up now for 103+ days continuously and yes I have logged into the gui a few times during that time. It is running in full router mode. This is not the first time it has been up in excess of 70 days. Over the time I had it in use I think I have only had to reboot it because of a problem maybe 2 or 3 times in the past 2 years. It has been rebooted for f/w upgrades etc and some other reasons like power issues in the house and some line issues. It is on a VDSL connection currently sync'd at 59995kbps.

So I would say that for me at least this is a very reliable router. It is currently on V15 f/w btw.

I do wonder if we see a slightly skewed view of things on this forum as most folks come here when they have an issue with stuff so we do not see how many things just run without problems?

Stuart
My experience is very similar to yours. Bar the buggy UI, it's been a fantastic bit of kit for me. I'm currently using it in full modem/ router mode on an LLU ADSL service tweaked down to 3dB on the SNRM, (that drops to 1.5dB during the day). It's giving me between 18.5 and 19Mb/s (down) sync with 25dB attenuation and only drops the link if there's a power cut or I intentionally resync. It's on v15 of the FW but performed in a pretty similar way on the others too.

I just wish they'd hurry up and stop faffing with the fibre cabinet twinning my PCP cab, so I can see how it performs on an FTTC service!

Paul
Logged

digitalis

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #668 on: January 07, 2017, 05:25:09 PM »

Have you managed to tweak the SNR on the router or is that done ISP-side?
Logged

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2354
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #669 on: January 07, 2017, 10:20:20 PM »

You can only do it if on ADSL, VDSL does not allow it.

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:ZyXEL VMG8924-B10A

youngsyp

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #670 on: January 09, 2017, 07:23:48 AM »

Have you managed to tweak the SNR on the router or is that done ISP-side?
Yes, it's been tweaked via the Zyxel. I use DSLstats, which has an 'Advanced Tweaks' tab. Just follow the tab order: Configuration > Advanced > Advanced Tweaks.

As broadstairs has quite rightly pointed out, the SNRM Offset tweak is only supported on ADSL services.

Paul
Logged

Geekofbroadband

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 195
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #671 on: January 11, 2017, 07:11:07 PM »

Just picked up a 8924 to try out  :P
Logged

digitalis

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #672 on: January 11, 2017, 08:52:24 PM »

You can only do it if on ADSL, VDSL does not allow it.

Stuart

Ah okay, and is it persistent, or do you have to go it every time the router is rebooted?
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 18288
  • Over the Rainbow
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #673 on: January 11, 2017, 09:37:43 PM »

. . . is it persistent, or do you have to go it every time the router is rebooted?

At every (re-)boot, as SNRM target tweaking is a transient effect.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

digitalis

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #674 on: January 13, 2017, 12:37:39 PM »

Makes sense though it's probably more due to a limitation of the router itself as I remember owning a netgear DG834 back in the day that would keep its SNR tweak even when rebooted
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 43 44 [45] 46