Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 47 48 [49] 50 51 ... 55

Author Topic: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Firmware  (Read 190218 times)

george7272

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #720 on: April 13, 2017, 02:09:18 AM »

I got the asus router and I am trying to put the 8924 in bridge mode
I followed the guide and I have couple of questions

a) In step 2 (Connecting two devices) we connect the any of the LAN ports of 8924 (LAN4 in this case ) to the WAN port of the router (in this case the asus)
    I assume that the internet traffic comes from all LAN ports so we connect it to the WAN port of the asus in order asus to do the ppp authentication.

b) In step 5 (Getting line stats from the Modem when in Bridged Mode)
    I see that the LAN1 goes to the WAN port of the router and the LAN4 is goes to any LAN port of the router.
    My question here is why LAN1? I thought it was the LAN4 described in step 2.

On the next step we do the bridging interface i.e ptp01 to LAN1?
Is this true? or we need LAN4?
What does the bridge mean in this case?
Do we need to bridge the ptm interface with one of the LANs which this LAN has to go to the WAN port of the Asus router?

Last question.
If we bridge the ptm to LAN1 and the LAN1 goes to WAN port of the router do other LAN ports act as clients if we connect them to the router?
I mean since I am going to connect one more LAN of the Zyxel to the LAN of the asus router would the asus router assign a DHCP address
in order to see Zyxel's page ?
Logged

j0hn

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 997
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #721 on: April 13, 2017, 10:11:25 AM »

Zyxel LAN 1 goes to the Routers WAN port (for internet). Zyxel LAN 4 goes to the Routers LAN port (for stats).
Quote
Configure VMG8324 access from the LAN to get line stats

We now need to segregate the WAN traffic from LAN traffic otherwise the LAN ports wont be useable, to do this we need to create a new interface group for the bridge.
The bridging group has to be the new (not default) group because only the default group has access to the gui/telnet which we need to access stats from the LAN.
From : Network Settings > Interface Group
           Broadband > WAN Interface :

Click Add New Interface Group which will open a new window.  add new interface group

Group Name:  Bridge
WAN Interfaces used: PTM type > VDSL/ppp1.1
Available LAN Interfaces:  Click LAN1 and move it to the Grouped LAN Interfaces
Click Apply.
Logged
BT FTTC 55/10 ECI Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridge mode + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin - minted on MDWS via DslStats

gt94sss2

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 659
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #722 on: April 16, 2017, 05:38:11 PM »

Not sure if this is the best place to post this but I am using version 16 of the firmware on a 8924 with a dynamic DNS address via no-ip.com

However, I have noticed the modem hasn't been passing on my dynamic IP address on since 18 Jan leading me to lose the host name I have been using for years.

I have created/input a new host name which the 8924 has accepted but it still says the 'last updated time' is still on the 18 Jan

Before I contact ZyXel I wa just wondering if anyone else has similar issues with dynamic DNS?
Logged

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2732
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #723 on: April 16, 2017, 06:09:26 PM »

I have had issues in the past so now I run the No-IP update program on my 24x7 PC to keep it up to date. I've not tried recently using the router to do this.

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:ZyXEL VMG3925-B10B

alexrose1uk

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #724 on: April 26, 2017, 03:48:13 PM »

Hi guys, small note but just noticed:
VMG8924-B30A with its own firmware released about 2 weeks ago.

Looks like a successor, slightly updated model, but its firmware may be compatible and maybe get continued fixes?
Not had a chance to look into it at all yet.
Logged

gt94sss2

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 659
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #725 on: April 26, 2017, 04:08:21 PM »

Hi guys, small note but just noticed:
VMG8924-B30A with its own firmware released about 2 weeks ago.

The -B30A version does not work in the UK. They are designed to provide VDSL2 over ISDN (like in Germany) rather than POTS (i.e. the UK).

Logged

jaydub

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 127
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #726 on: April 26, 2017, 04:08:42 PM »

Looking at the ZyXel site it appears that the VMG 8324 and 8924 product lines are now history and have been replaced.
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 19910
  • Over the Rainbow
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #727 on: April 26, 2017, 04:12:47 PM »

Hi guys, small note but just noticed:
VMG8924-B30A with its own firmware released about 2 weeks ago.

Looks like a successor, slightly updated model, but its firmware may be compatible and maybe get continued fixes?
Not had a chance to look into it at all yet.

A quotation from the ZyXEL site --

Quote from: ZyXEL
The VMG8924-B30A works over ISDN (Integrated Services Digital Network) or T-ISDN (UR-2).

Exactly as gt94sss2 has already mentioned (whilst I was doing my checks).
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2732
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #728 on: April 26, 2017, 04:19:06 PM »

Looking at the ZyXel site it appears that the VMG 8324 and 8924 product lines are now history and have been replaced.

Any ideas as to what replaces them?

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:ZyXEL VMG3925-B10B

jaydub

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 127
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #729 on: April 26, 2017, 05:15:58 PM »

Logged

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2732
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #730 on: April 26, 2017, 05:40:26 PM »

Easiest to post a link:

http://www.zyxel.com/uk/en/products_services/home-home_routers.shtml?t=c

Actually for most on VDSL that is the wrong link. It would seem that the nearest equivalent are the 39xx series see here. I think most of these have been around a while.

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:ZyXEL VMG3925-B10B

jaydub

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 127
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #731 on: April 26, 2017, 06:03:50 PM »

Actually for most on VDSL that is the wrong link. It would seem that the nearest equivalent are the 39xx series see here. I think most of these have been around a while.

Stuart

My bad.  Those look a lot more familiar.
Logged

george7272

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #732 on: May 07, 2017, 09:11:54 PM »

Does anyone know the default ppp settings for the Zyxel
I am testing an asus router and I see that the asus reports ppp PADI timeouts
but the Zyxel is fine.
I can put on my asus extra ppp settings like the lcp-echo-interval etc
but first I want to add all defaults settings from the Zyxel.
I have a supervisor access and I can browser the busybox file structure
Logged

george7272

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #733 on: May 14, 2017, 02:33:40 AM »

Zyxel LAN 1 goes to the Routers WAN port (for internet). Zyxel LAN 4 goes to the Routers LAN port (for stats).

Hi j0hn

I just want to ask you something else in case you know.
The wiki says that Zyxel and router (in my case Asus) need to be on the same subnet i.e 192.168.1.x but have a different ip
i.e zyxel might have the 192.168.1.1 and Asus 192.168.1.2
Since we are putting Zyxel in Bridge mode and it looses the routing capabilities why do we need to have Zyxel on the same subnet?
I assume after the interface group Zyxel will request an IP from the Router and Router will give it any IP from the LAN
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 38711
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #734 on: May 14, 2017, 07:16:33 AM »

The modem should have a fixed IP address because you can't guarantee that the router will always be available to deliver a DHCP address to it when it starts up. And it needs to be on the same subnet if you want to collect stats from it using a device on the same LAN.
Logged
  Eric
Pages: 1 ... 47 48 [49] 50 51 ... 55
 

anything