Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 48

Author Topic: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Firmware  (Read 139035 times)

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29737
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« on: May 08, 2014, 08:05:57 PM »

Ive decided to make a list of the firmwares for the VMG8324-B10A

Its now pretty well known that there are some issues with the default firmware, and its not my job to keep track of their firmware and constantly put it in PMs - especially when Zyxel are saying there isnt new firmware when there is.

So to save me the time of constantly repeating this Im making it public -  Ive spent too long trying to resolve the issues and then pass it on via PM.   If they want people to buy the router then Zyxel should make the firmware publicly available.

These are the versions of firmware that I have


1.   100AAKL2C0_20131205.bin      link
2.    V100AAKL3b2.bin      link
3.    V100AAKL4b1.bin   link
The above 3 must be installed in order. (3) wont work without (1) being installed first.
The following are cumulative and should work without earlier versions having to be installed:-

4.    V100AAKL4b2.bin  link - Stable / Recommended
5.    V100AAKL4C0.bin  link - Available from a Netherlands ISP but is in English
6.    V100AAKL5C0.bin  link - Available from a Netherlands ISP but is in English
7.    V100AAKL6b1.bin  link - Stable. Mirror
8.    V100AAKL6b2.bin  link
9.    V100AAKL6b3.bin  link
10.   V100AAKL6b4.bin  link
11.   V100AAKL6b5.bin  link
12.   V100AAKL6C0.bin - link - ftp://certified:zyxel@ftp.zyxel.it/firmware/VMG8924/
13.   V100AAKL7C0.bin - link - ftp://certified:zyxel@ftp.zyxel.it/firmware/VMG8924/V100AAKL7C0.bin
14.   V100AAKL8C0.bin - link - ftp://certified:zyxel@ftp.zyxel.it/firmware/VMG8924/


Please be aware that some of the above are beta versions and not officially released by ZyXel, so you install them at your own risk.

-----------------
Updates:
Thank you manny2003, Jereon06, Ronski, Navrett, Clonc for sharing.


Latest changelog (V100AAKL6b5.pdf)

« Last Edit: April 17, 2015, 12:33:20 PM by kitz »
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29737
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2014, 08:12:17 PM »

You may also need the following information:-

How to configure the ZyXel VMG8324-B10A for VDSL (UK).

I also recommend you use Chrome and not Firefox.   Firefox doesnt always save all the settings.
« Last Edit: May 08, 2014, 09:19:56 PM by kitz »
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

les-70

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1209
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2014, 08:39:02 PM »

  I notice that all  VMG8324-B10A firmwares and files have disappeared from the Zyxel web site and ftp sites  ???  . There was one a week or so ago!  I hope this just means that new ones will shortly appear.  It may help explain "nothing available" responses from them.   It is very helpful that Kitz  is making them available here. 
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29737
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2014, 10:33:09 PM »

Quote
I notice that all  VMG8324-B10A firmwares and files have disappeared from the Zyxel web site and ftp sites

So they have, The only one I can find is 100AAKL0C0 which is the standard thats shipped with new routers.

iirc the one they had on offer previously was 1), so its a bit old hat now I guess as theres quite a few fixes since then. 3) had a lot of changes.
I cant understand why they havent made 4) available yet though, Ive had it nearly 4wks and it seems fine.

Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

dmcdonnell

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 85
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #4 on: May 09, 2014, 12:16:56 PM »

Ive decided to make a list of the firmwares for the VMG8324-B10A............

Note: These firmware cannot be flashed to the Eircom F1000 banded version of this device from the web interface, an "invalid model id" error occurs.
Logged

les-70

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1209
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #5 on: May 16, 2014, 08:49:34 PM »

  Assuming you have the  ppoe setting and the vlan settings of 2 and 101 there is not much I can think of.  I did a hard reset after the firmware upgrade as some old settings can linger otherwise. 

 
Logged

Jeroen06

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #6 on: September 05, 2014, 06:24:00 PM »

On this page of a Dutch ISP: http://www.tweak.nl/consument/support/firmware.html
You can find 2 firmware versions for the ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A, V1.00(AAKL.4)C0 and V1.00(AAKL.5)C0

They use an unbranded version of the ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A, so there is no problem using these  ;D
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29737
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #7 on: September 05, 2014, 06:38:21 PM »

Thank you Jeroen06 and welcome :)

Do you know if these versions are an English or Dutch version?
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

Jeroen06

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #8 on: September 05, 2014, 08:03:38 PM »

Thanks!

The firmware is English, the V1.00(AAKL.4)C0 firmware over there has the same MD5 Hash (0e24ac41bce316e1392f4bd0456a46fd) as V100AAKL4C0.bin firmware in the startpost.
So it looks like they are generic english ZyXEL firmware  :)

I already flashed the newer V1.00(AAKL.5)C0 and it works great, soon my line will be upgraded to VDSL2 with Vectoring. I will be looking forward to share the results of using this modem with an Vectoring line  8)
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29737
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #9 on: September 06, 2014, 07:22:49 PM »

Thank you :)
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

AArdvark

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1008
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #10 on: September 06, 2014, 11:27:40 PM »

On this page of a Dutch ISP: http://www.tweak.nl/consument/support/firmware.html
You can find 2 firmware versions for the ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A, V1.00(AAKL.4)C0 and V1.00(AAKL.5)C0

They use an unbranded version of the ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A, so there is no problem using these  ;D

Thank you, Jeroen06.
Very informative as the firmware includes some release notes and there is a config file as well on the site.
(Always interesting to see what 'tricks' are used in other ISP's standard configs. But I am just nosey that way !!  ;D )
Very interested in seeing what vectoring can do to your performance on VDSL2.

Logged

dmcdonnell

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 85
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #11 on: September 07, 2014, 12:51:30 PM »

The firmware is English, the V1.00(AAKL.4)C0 firmware over there has the same MD5 Hash (0e24ac41bce316e1392f4bd0456a46fd) as V100AAKL4C0.bin firmware in the startpost.
So it looks like they are generic english ZyXEL firmware  :)

Neither of the firmwares on the Dutch site will flash to the unlocked F1000 from the Web GUI - gives "illegal image". The images will flash from cfe.

What is interesting is that, as Jeroen06 points out, the MD5 hash is exactly the same as the other UK firmware which will flash from CFE. This may prove key in understanding what ZyXel are up to.
« Last Edit: September 07, 2014, 04:00:55 PM by dmcdonnell »
Logged

dmcdonnell

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 85
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #12 on: September 07, 2014, 04:01:14 PM »

My bad. The latest Dutch Firmwares will flash from CFE on the F1000. I picked up the wrong zyxel board. Edited above post to reflect this.
Logged

PsyCLown

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #13 on: September 10, 2014, 01:44:11 PM »

Hi guys,

So while doing some router research I stumbled upon this thread. I am planning on getting myself the VMG8924-B10A and was wondering whether the firmware for the 8324 would work - or whether I may lose the 802.11AC support?

If I am not able to use the 8324 firmware, any ideas where I might be able to get the latest firmware for the 8924?
I was contemplating getting the SBG3300-N or the VMG8924-B10A and I think the VMG might be a bit better?

Thanks,
Psy
Logged

manny2003

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #14 on: September 10, 2014, 02:05:32 PM »

Hi guys,

So while doing some router research I stumbled upon this thread. I am planning on getting myself the VMG8924-B10A and was wondering whether the firmware for the 8324 would work - or whether I may lose the 802.11AC support?

If I am not able to use the 8324 firmware, any ideas where I might be able to get the latest firmware for the 8924?
I was contemplating getting the SBG3300-N or the VMG8924-B10A and I think the VMG might be a bit better?

Thanks,
Psy

Sent in pvt ;)
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 48