Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Site ADSL ISPs Tech Tutorials Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: DSLstats on Sagem F@st 3464 (how to) ???  (Read 2036 times)

Vaako

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
DSLstats on Sagem F@st 3464 (how to) ???
« on: November 06, 2013, 06:57:04 PM »

Hi guys,

Is there a possibility to read the DSL statics of a Sagem F@st 3464 modem?

Any help is welcome!  ;)
Logged
Regards,
Vaako

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 36363
  • Penguins CAN fly
Re: DSLstats on Sagem F@st 3464 (how to) ???
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2013, 07:16:10 PM »

I can't find much technical information about this model. Do you know what DSL chipset it uses? If it's Broadcom, then there's a good possibility that DSLstats will work with it.

Can you log into it by telnet? If so, type 'help' and see what the response is.
Logged
  Eric

burakkucat

  • Content Team
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 11407
  • Sitting on my chair at the computer.
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: DSLstats on Sagem F@st 3464 (how to) ???
« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2013, 07:59:10 PM »

My research tells me that the Sagem F@st 3464 modem/router uses an Ikanos chipset.

Quote
Ikanos’ high-performance products – including the Fusiv® Vx160 processor and Fx10050S-5 chipsets – have been integrated into Sagem Communications’ F@st 3464 residential gateway to provide wire-speed routing, voice over IP (VoIP), non-blocking wireless local area network (WLAN) and quality of service (QoS) functions for IPTV. The multi-mode VDSL2/ADSL2+ capability was designed in conjunction with Belgacom to enable residential gateways to be deployed independent of the underlying CO technology, supporting a seamless upgrade from ADSL2+ to VDSL2 without the added expense of a future truck roll. Ikanos’ Fusiv gateway processors provide superior support for advanced triple play services through their unique, distributed accelerator processor (AP) architectures. The on-chip APs offload broadband WLAN, bridging, routing, switching and firewall functions from the host central processing unit (CPU), so that the maximum possible processing power is preserved for advanced triple play functions.

http://www.ikanos.com/press-releases/ikanos-plays-integral-role-in-belgacoms-hdtv-and-triple-play-services/

Quote
Ikanos Communications, Inc. (NASDAQ: IKAN), a leading provider of broadband solutions for the digital home, today announced that its high performance residential gateway products – including the Fusiv® Vx160 processor, voice over Internet protocol (VoIP) engine and multi-mode VDSL2/ADSL2+ chipsets – have been integrated into Sagem Communications’  residential gateway. The Sagem F@st 3464 is being used as the customer premises equipment (CPE) for a major European carrier’s next-generation VDSL2 access network, which is capable of delivering high definition Internet protocol television (HD IPTV).

http://www.ikanos.com/press-releases/ikanos-delivers-complete-residential-gateway-solution-to-speed-european-deployment-of-high-definition-iptv-over-vdsl2/

Quote
Sagemcom has incorporated Ikanos’ communications processor, voice over Internet protocol (VoIP) engine and multi-mode VDSL2/ADSL2+ chipsets in its residential gateway. The Sagemcom’s F@st 3464 is being used as the customer premises equipment (CPE) for European carriers’ next-generation VDSL2 access networks capable of delivering high-definition Internet protocol television (HD IPTV).

http://www.ikanos.com/company/customers/
Logged
:linux:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please remember the Kitz Shop and help to support this site.

Vaako

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
Re: DSLstats on Sagem F@st 3464 (how to) ???
« Reply #3 on: November 06, 2013, 09:26:15 PM »

I can't find much technical information about this model. Do you know what DSL chipset it uses? If it's Broadcom, then there's a good possibility that DSLstats will work with it.

Can you log into it by telnet? If so, type 'help' and see what the response is.

Yes, the chipset is Ikanos like burakkucat already found.

I can login with Telnet and here are the command "help" results:

Code: [Select]
login: admin
Password: ***************
[admin @ home]$ help
Error: help should be called with 1 argument
help   Commands Help

Usage:
        help <"all" | category | command>
        where:
        help all - show all available commands
        help <category> - show commands in a certain category
        help <command> - show detailed help for a specific command

Availble help Categories
help terminal - show help about Commands to contorol OpenRG execution
help dns_route - show help about Dyncamic Routing according to DNS replies
help igmp - show help about IGMP Proxy related commands
help pvc - show help about PVC scan related commands
help ssh - show help about SSH commands
help rg_conf - show help about Read and write OpenRG configuration data
help ffs - show help about Flash file system
help mii - show help about MII Low level control
help FT commands - show help about FT commands
help FT atm commands - show help about FT atm commands
help FT sndcp commands - show help about FT sndcp commands
help rmt_mng - show help about Remote Management Commands
help firewall - show help about Control and display Firewall and NAT data
help hotspot - show help about hotspot related commands
help HttpR - show help about HttpR
help resetstat - show help about RESET stats
help guistat - show help about GUI stats
help adslstat - show help about ADSL stats
help mirror - show help about mirror
help cmd - show help about Commands related to the Command module
help tasks - show help about API for OpenRG tasks
help debug - show help about Debug OpenRG
help log - show help about Contorols OpenRG logging behaviour
help terminal - show help about Commands to contorol OpenRG execution
help main_task - show help about main_task commands
help flash - show help about Flash and loader related commands

Returned -1
[admin @ home]$

Logged
Regards,
Vaako

burakkucat

  • Content Team
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 11407
  • Sitting on my chair at the computer.
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: DSLstats on Sagem F@st 3464 (how to) ???
« Reply #4 on: November 06, 2013, 09:48:29 PM »

Quote
help adslstat - show help about ADSL stats

So the output produced by a help adslstat command line is the next thing to examine.  :)
Logged
:linux:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please remember the Kitz Shop and help to support this site.

Vaako

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
Re: DSLstats on Sagem F@st 3464 (how to) ???
« Reply #5 on: November 06, 2013, 10:15:22 PM »

Quote
help adslstat - show help about ADSL stats

So the output produced by a help adslstat command line is the next thing to examine.  :)

This is what I got:
Code: [Select]
[admin @ home]$ help adslstat

Command Category adslstat - ADSL stats
adslstat   ADSL stats.

Returned 0
[admin @ home]$
Logged
Regards,
Vaako

burakkucat

  • Content Team
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 11407
  • Sitting on my chair at the computer.
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: DSLstats on Sagem F@st 3464 (how to) ???
« Reply #6 on: November 06, 2013, 10:26:37 PM »

So the next step will be to invoke adslstat and see what that produces.  ;)
Logged
:linux:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please remember the Kitz Shop and help to support this site.

Vaako

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
Re: DSLstats on Sagem F@st 3464 (how to) ???
« Reply #7 on: November 06, 2013, 10:35:29 PM »

So the next step will be to invoke adslstat and see what that produces.  ;)

This modem is a ADSL / VDSL (two in one), I do not use it for ADSL only for VDSL2 mabe I had to mention this before  :blush:

This is the output:

Code: [Select]
[admin @ home]$ adslstat
Adsl Stat
Version of Eagle F/W (RTFirmwareVer): 1214051B : UNKNOWN
Administrative Status (AdminLinkPermition): SETUP
Operational Status (LinkStatus): DOWN
Current State (LinkState): 2
(LinkStateName): UNTRAINED 1
Adsl mode In the Flash at moment of Reboot (ModeInFlash): 0
Adsl mode what User set for next Reboot if User will save it (ModeDesired): 0
Real Adsl mode after Training (ModeTrained): 4
Name of Current mode (ModeName): T1.413_C
Actual Adsl rate (RateActual): 0
Maximum Adsl rate (RateMax): 0
Actual Downstream Adsl rate in Kbps (DSRateActual): 0
Actual Upstream Adsl rate in Kbps (USRateActual): 0
ATM cells sent to Utopia  (Downstream):(rxBlocks) 0
ATM cells sent to CO  (Upstream):(txBlocks) 0
Corrected blocks since beginning of link (corrBlocks): 0
Uncorrected blocks since beginning of link (uncorrBlocks): 0
Error seconds at RT in last 15 minutes (NECount15min): 0
Error seconds at CO in last 15 minutes (FECount15min): 0
Error seconds at RT in last 24 hours (NECount1day): 0
Error seconds at CO in last 24 hours (FECount1day): 0
RT Curr Attenuation in dB (localCurAtten): 0
CO Curr Attenuation in dB (remoteCurAtten): 0
(localCurAttenHalf): 0
(remoteCurAttenHalf): 0
Interleave HEC errors (interleaveHEC): 0
Fastpath HEC errors (fastpathHEC): 0
Sum of interleaveHEC and fastpathHEC (commonHEC): 0
DownStream Path type (DSPathType): UNKNOWN
UpStream Path type (USPathType): UNKNOWN
LOS Defects from Power On (losCount): 0
Floating Counter of consecutive CRC errors (crcCount): 0
CRC Errors from Power ON Reset (CRCErrors): 0
RT Curr SNR margin: 0
CO Curr SNR margin:      0 (from remote)
UpStream Aggregate Power: 0x0 (from remote)
Maximum UpStream Adsl rate in Kbps: 0 (from remote)
Maximum DownStream Adsl rate in Kbps: 0 (from local)

Returned 0
[admin @ home]$
Logged
Regards,
Vaako

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 36363
  • Penguins CAN fly
Re: DSLstats on Sagem F@st 3464 (how to) ???
« Reply #8 on: November 06, 2013, 10:59:23 PM »

Unfortunately, as it doesn't have a Broadcom chipset, I couldn't make DSLstats work with it without a major rewrite (and even that assumes that all the necessary data is available from the CLI). So I'm sorry, but I won't be able to support it for the foreseeable future.

Logged
  Eric

Vaako

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
Re: DSLstats on Sagem F@st 3464 (how to) ???
« Reply #9 on: November 07, 2013, 07:29:09 AM »

What is the data that you are looking for, can you give me an example of a modem Telnet output that is supported bij DSLstats?
Logged
Regards,
Vaako

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 36363
  • Penguins CAN fly
Re: DSLstats on Sagem F@st 3464 (how to) ???
« Reply #10 on: November 07, 2013, 07:46:46 AM »

The absolute minimum information needed would be:

Upstream/Downstream Connection speed
Upstream/Downstream SNR margin
Bitloading (see extract from my modem below)

Code: [Select]
xdslcmd info --Bits
xdslcmd: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Showtime
Retrain Reason: 0
Last initialization procedure status: 0
Max: Upstream rate = 1024 Kbps, Downstream rate = 8896 Kbps
Bearer: 0, Upstream rate = 1019 Kbps, Downstream rate = 7599 Kbps

Tone number      Bit Allocation
   0 0
   1 0
   2 0
   3 0
   4 0
   5 0
   6 2
   7 5
   8 7
   9 9
   10 10
   11 11
   12 12
   13 13
   14 13
   15 13
   16 13
   17 13
   18 13
   19 13
   20 13
   21 13

.. and so on, up to highest tone used

But it would still be a large scale re-write of the program, and I'm sorry but I don't have the time to do all this extra work. I really am sorry.

Logged
  Eric

Vaako

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
Re: DSLstats on Sagem F@st 3464 (how to) ???
« Reply #11 on: November 07, 2013, 09:25:02 AM »

I guess this is not what you are looking for:

Code: [Select]
[admin @ home]$ shell


BusyBox v1.01 (2013.04.08-19:03+0200) Built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

# cat /proc/version
Linux version 2.6.15 #4 Mon Apr 8 20:15:35 CEST 2013
# cat /proc/cpuinfo
system type             : ADI Fusiv Core
processor               : 0
cpu model               : Lexra LX4189 V0.0
BogoMIPS                : 199.47
wait instruction        : no
microsecond timers      : no
tlb_entries             : 64
extra interrupt vector  : no
hardware watchpoint     : no
ASEs implemented        :
VCED exceptions         : not available
VCEI exceptions         : not available
#
# ps
  PID  Uid     VmSize Stat Command
    1 0           652 S   /bin/init
    2 0               SWN [ksoftirqd/0]
    3 0               SW< [events/0]
    4 0               SW< [khelper]
    5 0               SW< [kthread]
    8 0               SW< [kblockd/0]
   11 0               SW< [khubd]
   35 0               SW  [pdflush]
   36 0               SW  [pdflush]
   38 0               SW< [aio/0]
   37 0               SW  [kswapd0]
  560 0               SW  [mtdblockd]
  575 0          4876 S   /bin/openrg
  603 0               SWN [jffs2_gcd_mtd1]
  629 0           356 S   /bin/sh /etc/vdsl.sh
  632 0          2412 S   vdsld
  646 0           552 S   /bin/main_autom /etc/process_list.dat 2 9
  647 0          2412 S   vdsld
  648 0          2412 S   vdsld
  649 0          2412 S   vdsld
  650 0          2412 S   vdsld
  651 0          2412 S   vdsld
  652 0          2412 S   vdsld
  653 0          2412 S   vdsld
  654 0          2412 S   vdsld
  655 0          2412 S   vdsld
  656 0           552 S   /bin/main_autom /etc/process_list.dat 2 9
  657 0           552 S   /bin/main_autom /etc/process_list.dat 2 9
  702 0               SW  [sup_dslmod_Main]
  701 0               SW  [wpeMain]
  703 0           760 S   /bin/watchdog
  704 0           552 S   /bin/main_autom /etc/process_list.dat 2 9
  719 0           296 S   /bin/syslogd-sa -b
  721 0           456 S   /bin/igmpsnoop -i eth0 -l 30 -c 0x10080 -v -t
  722 0           424 S   /bin/oam start 5
  723 0           644 S   /bin/prod_autom /etc/process_list.dat 5 5
  727 0           424 S   /bin/oam start 5
  728 0           424 S   /bin/oam start 5
  726 0          1312 S   /bin/tr98 5 5
  731 0          2160 S   /bin/tr69 --debug 5
  732 0           644 S   /bin/prod_autom /etc/process_list.dat 5 5
  733 0           644 S   /bin/prod_autom /etc/process_list.dat 5 5
  734 0           644 S   /bin/prod_autom /etc/process_list.dat 5 5
  738 0          1312 S   /bin/tr98 5 5
  739 0          1312 S   /bin/tr98 5 5
  742 0          2160 S   /bin/tr69 --debug 5
  743 0          2160 S   /bin/tr69 --debug 5
  744 0          2160 S   /bin/tr69 --debug 5
  745 0          2160 S   /bin/tr69 --debug 5
  748 0          1312 S   /bin/tr98 5 5
  751 0          3264 S   /bin/sipd /etc/process_list.dat 5 5
  754 0          3264 S   /bin/sipd /etc/process_list.dat 5 5
  755 0          3264 S   /bin/sipd /etc/process_list.dat 5 5
  756 0          3264 S   /bin/sipd /etc/process_list.dat 5 5
  757 0          3264 S   /bin/sipd /etc/process_list.dat 5 5
 1038 0          3264 S   /bin/sipd /etc/process_list.dat 5 5
 1039 0          3264 S < /bin/sipd /etc/process_list.dat 5 5
 1040 0          3264 S   /bin/sipd /etc/process_list.dat 5 5
 1043 0          2160 S   /bin/tr69 --debug 5
15713 0           408 S   /bin/sh
15748 0           324 R   ps
#
Logged
Regards,
Vaako

Vaako

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
Re: DSLstats on Sagem F@st 3464 (how to) ???
« Reply #12 on: November 07, 2013, 09:34:18 AM »

This is another command I just found #vdsl pstatex :

Code: [Select]
# vdsl pstatex

Extended Port Status
=================
Bme: 1 Port: 1
Downstream line rate: 37428 kbps
Upstream line rate: 7968 kbps
Bearer0 Downstream payload rate: 0 kbps
Bearer1 Downstream payload rate: 30032 kbps
Bearer0 Upstream payload rate: 0 kbps
Bearer1 Upstream payload rate: 6048 kbps
Downstream attainable payload rate: 104884 kbps
Downstream attainable line rate: 126964 kbps
Downstream Training Margin: 27.6 dB
Downstream Line Protection (Bearer1 Path): 1.0 DMT Symbols
Upstream Line Protection (Bearer1 Path): 1.0 DMT Symbols
Near-end ITU Vendor Id: 0xb500494b4e530200
Far-end ITU Vendor Id: 0xb500494b4e530000
Downstream delay: 7.6 ms
Upstream delay: 5.4 ms
Tx total power -21.6 dbm
FE Tx total power 12.1 dbm
VDSL Estimated Loop Length : 448 ft
G.Hs Estimated Near End Loop Length : 1762 ft
G.Hs Estimated Far End Loop Length :444 ft
Current framing mode: 0x10
Bandplan Type...........: 0
No. of Upstream Bands...: 2
No. of Downstream Bands.: 3
Line Type: 0x04000000#
#

Here some more commands that are possible:

Code: [Select]
Usage:
vdsl command [args]
available options for command:
breset        reset BME
sysprov       BME System Provision
pprov         BME Port Provision
pstart        Port Start
pstop         Port Stop
pstat         Display Port Statistics briefly
pstatex       Display Extended Port Statistics
getsnr        print SNR (Signal-to-Noise Ratio)
logp          Print Port Log Messages
logc          Clear Port Log Messages
perfcntrs     Print Performance Counters of the BME port
clrcntr       Clear Performance Counters
devver        Print BME Firmware Version
trgiggerpm    Trigger PM Failures
lpbk type     Start Loopback test where 'type' is utopia or AFE
elm           Event Log Management
70            Maintenance Mode
678           BME Debug
679           BME Ethernet Interface Debug
help          Display help menu for vdsl command
« Last Edit: November 07, 2013, 09:39:29 AM by Vaako »
Logged
Regards,
Vaako

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 36363
  • Penguins CAN fly
Re: DSLstats on Sagem F@st 3464 (how to) ???
« Reply #13 on: November 07, 2013, 10:33:35 AM »

I'm sure that all the necessary data is available, particularly as there is access to the BusyBox shell. But I can only repeat that I simply do not have the time to do such a large job at present. The problem is that the commands are different from the Broadcom commands, and the format of the data is completely different from the Broadcom data. So I would have to rewrite all of the code relating to the data extraction via the telnet interface, and all the code which processes the data. This would take much more time than I have available.
Logged
  Eric

AlecR

  • Content Team
  • Reg Member
  • *
  • Posts: 843
  • An Android a day keeps iOS at bay!
Re: DSLstats on Sagem F@st 3464 (how to) ???
« Reply #14 on: November 07, 2013, 10:34:38 AM »

Why not buy a cheap Broadcom router from eBay as a good solution to the problem?
Logged
Yours sincerely,
Alec Robertson.
----------------------------------------------------
TalkTalk SimplyBroadband (since 6/12/13)
Pages: [1] 2