Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum

Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Help to interpret line stats  (Read 6763 times)

bbnovice

• Reg Member
Help to interpret line stats
« on: October 03, 2013, 06:33:19 PM »

Hi,

I’m new to this, so bear with me.

I enjoy (?) a BT Infinity FTTC service (80/20). This usually provides a stable and fast service. According to the BT retail speed tester the line normally syncs at 66 and the down/up speed is usually about 60/15.

However I do experience some odd behaviour from time to time. For example the BT retail speed tester refuses to recognise my connection and will either not report any or only some line stats. The BT wholesale speed tester will continue to work normally.

Also I periodically get alarming speed variations.  Yesterday for example, the reported speeds were 55/6 down/up.  The down speed can sometimes drop even further, sometimes for protracted periods.

Note the speed tests are performed with a wired connection and with no other users logged on. The modem is connected to the BT faceplate about 6 feet away. There is no telephone extension equipment - the internal extension wiring has been severely rationalised and has a clean bill of health. The ring wire is disconnected.

Because of the problem yesterday I bit the bullet, and this afternoon unlocked my spare HG612 and installed v1.1 of the modem monitoring stats. I attach some of the “current stats” information harvested from the monitoring software.

This is the point where I need help as I don’t have the knowledge to interpret the info, So can I ask for comments about the possible health of my connection?

Thanks BBN

Bald_Eagle1

• Helpful
  • Kitizen
Re: Help to interpret line stats
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2013, 08:17:24 PM »

Hi,

I’m new to this, so bear with me.