Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: HG533 (from TalkTalk) telnet & bitloading  (Read 17521 times)

sheddyian

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1159
    • My Shed Blog
HG533 (from TalkTalk) telnet & bitloading
« on: May 17, 2013, 12:44:52 AM »

Just having a quick play with my new HG533 as supplied by TalkTalk.

I can telnet into it, (username and password : admin) and get an ATP> prompt which doesn't seem to do much.
But typing sh goes into the busybox shell, and I can cd into bin

ls in there shows me an adslcmd file - yay!

Code: [Select]
#adslcmd
Usage: adslcmd begin [--up][--modulation]
       adslcmd end
       adslcmd connect [--up] [--down]
       adslcmd configure [--modulation]
       adslcmd info [--state] [--show] [--stats] [--SNR] [--QLN] [--Hlog] [--Hlin] [--HlinS] [--Bits] [--linediag] [--reset]
       adslcmd fwversion
       adslcmd driverversion
       adslcmd version
       adslcmd delt [--start] [--status] [--show < snr | qln | hlind | bits | actatp > ]
       adslcmd pbstate [--show] [--setmac]
       adslcmd powermode [--on] [--off] [--state]
       adslcmd pbreboot
       adslcmd pbreauth
       adslcmd help

Ooh, look, there it is adslcmd info --Bits !

But when I type the command, I get :

Code: [Select]
# adslcmd info --Bits
Too many options

eh? But that was in the help!

And yet, if I type

Code: [Select]
# adslcmd info --state
adslcmd: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Showtime

channel:Interleave
Upstream rate = 1019 Kbps, Downstream rate = 17493 Kbps
UpInterleavestream rate = 1019 Kbps, DownInterleavestream rate = 17493 Kbps
It works as expected.  Am I doing something wrong in my clumsy attempt to get bitloading stats??

Ian

Logged

burakkucat

  • Respected
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 38300
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: HG533 (from TalkTalk) telnet & bitloading
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2013, 01:27:34 AM »

 :hmm:  Hmm . . . I doubt that you are doing anything wrong, my suspicion is that there is a coding error in the firmware.  :-X

Perhaps it will be worth experimenting with all permutations on the stated format.

Maybe either adslcmd info --bits or adslcmd info --BITS will do the trick?  :-\
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

asbokid

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1286
    • Hacking the 2Wire
Re: HG533 (from TalkTalk) telnet & bitloading
« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2013, 02:00:38 AM »

Can you get the bit depths from the delt command instead, albeit from the init phase?

Code: [Select]
adslcmd delt [--start] [--status] [--show < snr | qln | hlind | bits | actatp > ]
i.e.

Code: [Select]
adslcmd delt --show bits
If the device isn't updating the bit loading array during showtime - which isn't uncommon - then that could be the only option.

cheers, a
Logged

sheddyian

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1159
    • My Shed Blog
Re: HG533 (from TalkTalk) telnet & bitloading
« Reply #3 on: May 17, 2013, 10:17:48 AM »

Thanks for the response.

However :

Code: [Select]
#
# adslcmd info --BITS
Too many options
# adslcmd info --bits
Too many options
# adslcmd info --Bits
Too many options
# adslcmd info --BiTs
Too many options
# adslcmd info --blah
Too many options
#
# adslcmd delt --show bits
#
# adslcmd delt --show snr
#
#

The last two don't return an error, but don't seem to be doing anything either!  The prompt returns as quickly as if just pressing return.

Ian

Logged

asbokid

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1286
    • Hacking the 2Wire
Re: HG533 (from TalkTalk) telnet & bitloading
« Reply #4 on: May 17, 2013, 02:26:05 PM »

Oh dear!

Perhaps there's a way to get a working binary of adslcmd onto the device?  A [tftp | ftp | wget] client (or server), maybe?

cheers, a
Logged

burakkucat

  • Respected
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 38300
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: HG533 (from TalkTalk) telnet & bitloading
« Reply #5 on: May 17, 2013, 06:45:28 PM »

 :hmm:  Not good.

I wonder if any one of the following just might show who is responsible for the current pig's ear of a situation?

Code: [Select]
       adslcmd fwversion
       adslcmd driverversion
       adslcmd version
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

sheddyian

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1159
    • My Shed Blog
Re: HG533 (from TalkTalk) telnet & bitloading
« Reply #6 on: May 17, 2013, 07:44:59 PM »


Here's the output :

Code: [Select]
ATP>sh


BusyBox vv1.9.1 (2012-06-12 13:28:09 CST) built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

# adslcmd fwversion

FirmwareVersion : 3.12.8.192_TC3086

ADSL DRV: version - T14.F7_6.0

********* Pass *********
# adslcmd driverversion
ADSL DRV: version - T14.F7_6.0
#
# adslcmd version
adslcmd version - ATP v0.0.1
#

However, the summary screen on the web interface tells me this :

Code: [Select]
Model name:         HG533
Hardware version: F.1.01
Firmware version: v1.13t


Later on, I'll try a few other commands as listed in the help, see if there's any pattern as to which ones work and which don't.

I know that there are problems with this router/modem, I found a page on the TalkTalk website with a list of known problems, asking you not to report them as they already know.  And I think there's an update in the pipeline, though I get the impression it's only addressing minor issues.

hmm

Ian
Logged

asbokid

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1286
    • Hacking the 2Wire
Re: HG533 (from TalkTalk) telnet & bitloading
« Reply #7 on: May 17, 2013, 08:10:23 PM »

Code: [Select]
FirmwareVersion : 3.12.8.192_TC3086

Hehe! To my childish mind that's quite funny!  It's not a Broadcom chipset at all.  The TC3086 is an AFE and DSL Line Driver from Trendchip. (Trendchip is now part of MediaTek, which was Ralink  ???)

So Trend has mimicked the Broadcom userspace tool for getting the DSL layer data!  Hehe!  Good for them!  Would be nice to finish it though!  :lol:

What does this return(?):

Code: [Select]
# cat /proc/cpuinfo

cheers, a

EDIT: A little bit on this site about the HG533.  Stokie reports that the CPU is a Ralink RT3352 SoC.

http://stokie-ant.no-ip.org/archives/397

P.S. Stokie has also done a teardown of  the TalkTalk YouView box (the Huawei DN370T)

http://stokie-ant.no-ip.org/archives/461

« Last Edit: May 17, 2013, 08:29:08 PM by asbokid »
Logged

neilius

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
Re: HG533 (from TalkTalk) telnet & bitloading
« Reply #8 on: May 17, 2013, 09:36:19 PM »

I have one of these, here's the output from /proc/cpuinfo:

Code: [Select]
system type             : Ralink SoCprocessor               : 0
cpu model               : MIPS 24K V4.12
BogoMIPS                : 266.24
wait instruction        : yes
microsecond timers      : yes
tlb_entries             : 32
extra interrupt vector  : yes
hardware watchpoint     : yes
ASEs implemented        : mips16 dsp
VCED exceptions         : not available
VCEI exceptions         : not available
Logged

asbokid

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1286
    • Hacking the 2Wire
Re: HG533 (from TalkTalk) telnet & bitloading
« Reply #9 on: May 17, 2013, 10:04:42 PM »

Aha! Good find, neilius!

BlackEagle (also of this forum) confirmed that the Ralink SoC is a RT3352:

http://talktalkmembers.com/forums/showpost.php?p=827219&postcount=424

Not sure what the state of play is in OpenWrt for supporting the Ralink SoCs?

cheers, a
Logged

burakkucat

  • Respected
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 38300
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: HG533 (from TalkTalk) telnet & bitloading
« Reply #10 on: May 17, 2013, 10:05:16 PM »

Quote
system type             : Ralink SoCprocessor               : 0

Well that confirms it!  :D
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

sheddyian

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1159
    • My Shed Blog
Re: HG533 (from TalkTalk) telnet & bitloading
« Reply #11 on: May 17, 2013, 10:54:24 PM »


Should it be of use or interest to anyone here, there's the TalkTalk firmware download for it here :

http://downloads.talktalk-labs.com/RFU/Huawei/HG533/

I'm running v1.13t which is as shipped when it arrived 2 weeks ago, but I see there's also v1.14t on that site - am tempted, but don't know the status of that update, so might leave it for a bit.

Thanks Asbo and B*cat for the links and info - off to read about them in a bit :)

Ian
Logged

neilius

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
Re: HG533 (from TalkTalk) telnet & bitloading
« Reply #12 on: May 18, 2013, 07:30:44 AM »

No problems here, had 1.14 running for a month or so. TT might push it out to you eventually (they did a little while ago) if you have CWMP enabled and it will be by default.
Logged

sheddyian

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1159
    • My Shed Blog
Re: HG533 (from TalkTalk) telnet & bitloading
« Reply #13 on: May 18, 2013, 02:29:27 PM »

I might have a play with the 1.14 firmware later on then.  I read in a thread on TalkTalk support forum about the 533 "updated" firmware being temporarily removed from the TalkTalk site - but I'm not clear if it's 1.14t or something else.  Didn't want to brick a reasonably working new router!

Here's a link to the TalkTalk summary of "known issues"!

http://www.talktalk-labs.com/support/faqs/huawei-hg533-known-issues/

hmm  :o

Ian
Logged

neilius

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
Re: HG533 (from TalkTalk) telnet & bitloading
« Reply #14 on: May 18, 2013, 02:42:27 PM »

Not 100% sure but that page looks like it may be from when the router was being trialled (TT Labs), so may not apply now...
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
 

anything