Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 7

Author Topic: Tapatalk  (Read 25272 times)

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 38337
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Tapatalk
« Reply #30 on: September 22, 2013, 12:56:29 PM »

Tapatalk is currently not working with SMF unfortunately. I assume there will be a solution, but it doesn't seem to be forthcoming yet.
Logged
  Eric

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29868
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Tapatalk
« Reply #31 on: September 22, 2013, 03:37:35 PM »

It was the last tapatalk install that caused conflicts for the forum
http://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php/topic,12853.msg243124.html#msg243124
I was up all night trying to fix things, but in the end I resorted to having to roll back to a time and remove all mods.

tapatalk's SMF  install mod, has never worked smoothly and has always involved manual intervention and having to over-write permissions.  Theres a post somewhere on the SMF site saying they have removed all support for any tapatalk mods and actually removed it due to conflicts and the developers not corresponding with SMF over some concerns.

The issue I have with the forums atm is permission related.  Ive had my hosts on to this and they cant fix it, Ive even 'passed to keys' of this forum over to an authorised SMF expert and he couldnt fix it either.   We are locked down and secure, but I dont want to be making any perms changes atm, so this install is in limbo until I can get around to sorting a fresh install on a brand new server, which Im still in the process of setting up.

Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1744
Re: Tapatalk
« Reply #32 on: September 22, 2013, 03:59:50 PM »

Is there anyway you could make a mobile version of this forum in the mean time, so it's a little bit more user friendly on iOS devices?
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 38337
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Tapatalk
« Reply #33 on: September 22, 2013, 04:13:37 PM »

I rather doubt it. It's technically feasible of course, but it would be a very big job.
Logged
  Eric

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29540
Re: Tapatalk
« Reply #34 on: September 22, 2013, 04:14:49 PM »

Am I missing something here but what's simpler than just using this site via your browser.I access it on my Galaxy Note2 and can't see a problem.. :shrug2:
Logged

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1744
Re: Tapatalk
« Reply #35 on: September 22, 2013, 04:19:43 PM »

Am I missing something here but what's simpler than just using this site via your browser.I access it on my Galaxy Note2 and can't see a problem.. :shrug2:

It's easier on a phone (like yours) with a large screen. On a phone like mine (3.5 inch screen) it is very un-user friendly.
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29868
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Tapatalk
« Reply #36 on: September 22, 2013, 04:57:45 PM »

If you can bear with me a bit longer I will have a go on the new server.  As it stand atm I can't make any mods on this one...  Well I could..  But it will be wasted efforts to do a start from scratch on here and on the new.  I've been working every spare min trying to set up the new... and will let you know when I'm a bit nearer being able to roll out live. :)
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29868
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Tapatalk
« Reply #37 on: October 13, 2013, 05:45:28 AM »

Test


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29868
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Tapatalk
« Reply #38 on: October 13, 2013, 05:47:53 AM »

Googling the net theres a lot of other forum owners having this issue, unfortunately it doesnt help that the SMF website is currently unavailable so I cant search there for solutions.  Hopefully I can find a solution later.


----------------
Edit for future reference.

The tapatalk installation package doesnt unzip and place the needed mobiquo folder at the root directory.
Solution.
- Download package and install in the usual way via SMF package manager.
- When sucessfully installed in SMF via the normal process...... THEN do the following additional steps.
 
~ Download package to local PC. 
~ Unzip package and extract mobiquo folder. 
~ Manually upload mobiquo folder and all of its contents to root at public html via FTP
~ CHMOD to 755

Bump! - Reminder for me.

SuPHP - chmod 755

----

I will also add further to this because there will be other people out there running SuPHP who may run into problems trying to install tapatalk because of the non-standard install and may stumble across this thread when trying to find a solution.

Despite the big red instructions from tapatalk to chmod files, be aware that SuPHP may not like this instruction and if you start messing with file and folder permissions then things may break, especially if you use ftp to change perms. You may think youve changed something but it doesnt always work.   Folders to 755 is fine. Leave the files alone.    Ive included a link above to a script which can be used to check/change folder and file perms if you are in doubt.
« Last Edit: October 13, 2013, 04:07:31 PM by kitz »
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29868
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Tapatalk
« Reply #39 on: October 13, 2013, 07:43:10 AM »

Another test


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1744
Re: Tapatalk
« Reply #40 on: October 13, 2013, 01:45:55 PM »

So is it working?
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29868
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Tapatalk
« Reply #41 on: October 13, 2013, 03:23:30 PM »

Should be.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1744
Re: Tapatalk
« Reply #42 on: October 13, 2013, 08:50:50 PM »

It doesn't come up in the search in the Tapatalk app?
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29868
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Tapatalk
« Reply #43 on: October 13, 2013, 09:11:14 PM »

Not sure why since I advised them that tapatalk was only temporary disabled due to the config issues with SMF.

Its still showing on mine but I have it bookmarked. 

I tried to log in to check the site settings but there seems to be a problem with tapatalk - not me.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29868
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Tapatalk
« Reply #44 on: October 13, 2013, 09:27:11 PM »

Their server came back up very briefly & I managed to check and I should be listed under technology -> english -> forum -> "ADSL Broadband Help and Resources" 
It did say at the bottom "Up to 24 hours delay to update your forum record to existing app users ."

Getting a 500 Internal Server issue again.  So it could be that they also havent picked up again yet that Ive re-installed due to their server issues?


Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 7