Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Site ADSL ISPs Tech Tutorials Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: BT Street Cabinets  (Read 12522 times)

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29382
BT Street Cabinets
« on: October 05, 2011, 10:40:30 AM »

Hi all,

Is there any maps/way of showing BT street cabinets.

I have just contacted the Digital Region offices and was told that my home is now live for a fibre broadband connection and was quoted a cabinet number.

She told me to contact one of the isp's who will be able to supply me a connection.Saying that I'm under contract with O2 so no immediate plans to jump ship.

I just wondered how near my home the quoted cabinet number was.
Logged

waltergmw

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2534
Re: BT Street Cabinets
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2011, 11:23:04 AM »

Hi Uncy,

You should attempt to verify that statement by putting your number into the Infinity web site which will probably reject it !

Then walking boots on and try to find the cabinet. When you do verify that there is an auxiliary cabinet close-by usually with a new strip of tarmac between them.

Be prepared to be disappointed !

Kind regards,
Walter
Logged

Oranged

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 623
    • The Mobile Help Forum
Re: BT Street Cabinets
« Reply #2 on: October 05, 2011, 11:25:51 AM »

Try this site :

http://www.trefor.net/tech-pages/fttc/

You may need to register to access some data.
Logged

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29382
Re: BT Street Cabinets
« Reply #3 on: October 05, 2011, 02:30:37 PM »

Quote
Hi Uncy,

You should attempt to verify that statement by putting your number into the Infinity web site which will probably reject it !

It did Walter. :'(

Due to my arthritis walking boots not an option,will have to investigate via car.  :)......or send Sue on her bike  ;D
Logged

burakkucat

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 9659
  • Sitting on my chair at the computer.
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: BT Street Cabinets
« Reply #4 on: October 05, 2011, 04:59:57 PM »

Uncle,

You could make the Senior Management's job a little simpler by using Google Maps streetview to determine the location of all the PCPs in the near vicinity of your abode. Having compiled a list of those locations, then you could send out your resident cyclist to visit each one in turn and to note number stencilled there upon. If it would not be a problem, an overview photograph of each cabinet's location would show which has been provided with a fibre twin.  :) 
Logged
:linux:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please remember the Kitz Shop and help to support this site.

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29382
Re: BT Street Cabinets
« Reply #5 on: October 09, 2011, 03:44:25 PM »

I have located the street cab/s.........just round the corner.Didn't have the camera so will take a snap hopefully tomorrow.

If my exchange hasn't been enabled for FTTC...then where do the cables run to from the street cab... :shrug2:
Logged

waltergmw

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2534
Re: BT Street Cabinets
« Reply #6 on: October 09, 2011, 04:28:30 PM »

Hi Unky,

Remember that if you are to have a Digital Region service, that won't be included in BT's FTTC areas list.
Have you checked what SamKnows has listed on his site ?
It's quite probable that the fibre cables may go via your BT exchange unless DR Have hired ducts from another CP.

Kind regards,
Walter.
Logged

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29382
Re: BT Street Cabinets
« Reply #7 on: October 09, 2011, 06:08:55 PM »

It says Digital Region on the list but no BT FFTC and no cable operators in my area....?

Quote
The following services are available in your location:

BT Wholesale ADSL
BT Wholesale ADSL Max
BT Wholesale SDSL
AOL LLU
O2 / Be LLU
Bulldog LLU
TalkTalk (CPW) LLU
Sky Broadband / Easynet LLU
Tiscali LLU
Tiscali TV (via Tiscali LLU)
Digital Region
Logged

camallison

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1357
Re: BT Street Cabinets
« Reply #8 on: October 09, 2011, 07:42:28 PM »

I shall take the dog for a walk soon, because I saw them installing FTTC cabinets just along the road from us in the past few weeks.  See if they have stencilled a number on it.  In fact, there are 3 such cabinets within a half mile of us - could be any of them that we might connect to.

Colin

PS - I note from trefor.net that we go live 31st December 2011 - my contract runs out end of Jan 2012, so could eb in for an upgrade to FTTC if I play it right.   :dance:
Logged

waltergmw

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2534
Re: BT Street Cabinets
« Reply #9 on: October 09, 2011, 07:54:39 PM »

@ Unky,

I've PMed you with the results from two of the Digital Region service providers.

I expect you have to have a BT Wholesale phone line i.e. NOT one that is Local Loop Unbundled. As an independent Wholesale supplier I doubt if BT will release the details of the LLU lines to Digital Region without a struggle. They tried this trick on Rutland Telecoms until it became obvious.

Kind regards,
Walter
Logged

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29382
Re: BT Street Cabinets
« Reply #10 on: October 10, 2011, 07:08:22 AM »

Thanks Walter,

Our phone line is with BT and our BB is O2 LLU
Logged

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29382
Re: BT Street Cabinets
« Reply #11 on: October 10, 2011, 09:19:54 AM »

Well what a palaver...... :no:

Was told that digital region has now enabled me to have a FTTC and was given a list of ISP's

www.Ripwire.co.uk.......Was told that they are not able to supply me.........Digital region says otherwise,even given me the cabinet number.

Contacted them by phone....hadn't a clue,no there (9.15am)to answer my query,so girl took my phone number.

Next,

Digital Region then gave me the phone number of www.origin-broadband.co.uk...phoned them,answering machine  :no:

Not much choice and tbh this doesn't look good if you ever need support from these companies.

Edit..managed to speak with someone at Origin

Was told 24mb downloadspeed/2mb upload speed....17.50 a month +55 installation,which I didn't think was too bad considering when I first started with BT BB in 2007 it was 17.99 for what amounted to a 1/1.5mb connection.

Apparently you have to connect using 2 routers,one connects into the other?

The only other provider is www.ask4.com     but their prices are from 25 a month and all their contact numbers(including support)are 0845  >:(
« Last Edit: October 10, 2011, 01:29:33 PM by UncleUB »
Logged

burakkucat

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 9659
  • Sitting on my chair at the computer.
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: BT Street Cabinets
« Reply #12 on: October 10, 2011, 10:06:35 PM »

Hmm, not too good a response from those potential suppliers, Uncle.

How about posting your current Sync speed, SNRM and Attenuation (both DS and US) for your current service? (For no reason other than to satisfy my curiosity. ;)  )
Logged
:linux:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please remember the Kitz Shop and help to support this site.

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29382
Re: BT Street Cabinets
« Reply #13 on: October 11, 2011, 07:34:12 AM »


How about posting your current Sync speed, SNRM and Attenuation (both DS and US) for your current service? (For no reason other than to satisfy my curiosity. ;)  )

Your wish is my command Mr B-Cat  :)

Router using ethernet connection plugged into BT master socket(which is next to computer)with no other internal wiring/sockets
Quote
   Link Information

Uptime:   17 days, 10:36:04

DSL Type:   G.992.5 annex A

Maximum Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]:   850 / 3,846

Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]:   845 / 2,423

Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/kB]:   0.00 / 0.00

Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]:   12.0 / 16.0

Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]:   38.0 / 66.5

SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]:   6.5 / 11.0

Vendor ID (Local/Remote):   TMMB / BDCM

Loss of Framing (Local/Remote):   0 / 0

Loss of Signal (Local/Remote):   0 / 0

Loss of Power (Local/Remote):   0 / 0

Loss of Link (Remote):   0

Error Seconds (Local/Remote):   152 / 0

FEC Errors (Up/Down):   14,284 / 426,607

CRC Errors (Up/Down):   14,284 / 1,560

HEC Errors (Up/Down):   117,126 / 1,136

Logged

burakkucat

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 9659
  • Sitting on my chair at the computer.
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: BT Street Cabinets
« Reply #14 on: October 11, 2011, 05:17:21 PM »

Thank you, Uncle. Your link performs nearly as well as the one connecting me from "The Cattery" to the outside world.

Dependent upon what you need (as distinct to would like) from your broadband connection, I would be very tempted to make do with what you currently have. It is clear that the organisation of the YDR still has a lot to be arranged.

I am in an area that has FTTC available and the PCP though which I connect has its fibre twin in place, powered up and active. At present, I cannot justify the hiatus in switching CP nor the increased cost of a FTTC based service. :no:
Logged
:linux:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please remember the Kitz Shop and help to support this site.
Pages: [1] 2
 

anything