Kitz Forum

Broadband Related => Broadband Hardware => Topic started by: digitalnemesis on January 11, 2017, 11:37:53 AM

Title: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A and IPv6 Usage
Post by: digitalnemesis on January 11, 2017, 11:37:53 AM
How do you configure this router to work with IPv6 on ISPs which support such protocol?
Title: Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A and IPv6 Usage
Post by: youngsyp on January 11, 2017, 01:24:32 PM
How do you configure this router to work with IPv6 on ISPs which support such protocol?
Network Setting > Broadband > Add New WAN Interface or Modify

You can select IPv6 Only or IPv4/IPv6 Dual Stack from the IPv6/IPv4 Mode: options.

Paul
Title: Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A and IPv6 Usage
Post by: digitalnemesis on January 11, 2017, 01:28:02 PM
Network Setting > Broadband > Add New WAN Interface or Modify

You can select IPv6 Only or IPv4/IPv6 Dual Stack from the IPv6/IPv4 Mode: options.

Paul


I've done that however I'm not getting an IPv6 address only a IPv6 Link Local Address.
Title: Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A and IPv6 Usage
Post by: digitalnemesis on January 16, 2017, 12:48:00 AM
Network Setting > Broadband > Add New WAN Interface or Modify

You can select IPv6 Only or IPv4/IPv6 Dual Stack from the IPv6/IPv4 Mode: options.

Paul


In the end I now have IPV6 once I reconfigured for Prefix Delegation.


Cheers!
Title: Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A and IPv6 Usage
Post by: tubaman on March 26, 2017, 04:25:39 PM
Hi,
I thought I'd put my Zyxel 8924 back on the line after playing with a TG589vac V2 for a few weeks and I realised that the 8924 is not picking up an IPV6 address (the TG589 does).
It's set for dual-stack and  "Delegate prefix from WAN" is set for the VDSL address but I still don't pick-up an IPV6 address from BT.
Please could someone with IPV6 working on a 8924 (or 8324) let me have their WAN and LAN settings so I can see where I am going wrong.
 :)
Title: Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A and IPv6 Usage
Post by: GigabitEthernet on July 15, 2017, 12:07:45 AM
Was this resolved? I'm on BT and I can't get an IPv6 address on my VMG8324.
Title: Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A and IPv6 Usage
Post by: skyeci on July 15, 2017, 12:35:44 AM
If you are on bt your router will need to support dhcp-pd  under your ipv6 settings which is the flavour of ipv6 BT are using.
There are a number of routers that dont support this config.  I have setup my mums asus using merlin and it fully works with bt's ipv6
Title: Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A and IPv6 Usage
Post by: GigabitEthernet on July 15, 2017, 01:28:10 AM
If you are on bt your router will need to support dhcp-pd  under your ipv6 settings which is the flavour of ipv6 BT are using.
There are a number of routers that dont support this config.  I have setup my mums asus using merlin and it fully works with bt's ipv6


Is that the following.

(http://i.imgur.com/au9EC4u.png)
Title: Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A and IPv6 Usage
Post by: skyeci on July 15, 2017, 08:20:20 AM
Sounds like it. Heres my asus settings from our bt infinity connection.
Title: Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A and IPv6 Usage
Post by: GigabitEthernet on July 15, 2017, 10:56:58 AM
It still doesn't work unfortunately :(
Title: Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A and IPv6 Usage
Post by: skyeci on July 15, 2017, 11:21:17 AM
Are you able to set the 56 requirement- might be whats causing the issue
Title: Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A and IPv6 Usage
Post by: GigabitEthernet on July 15, 2017, 11:30:27 AM
Are you able to set the 56 requirement- might be whats causing the issue

What do you mean sorry?
Title: Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A and IPv6 Usage
Post by: skyeci on July 15, 2017, 11:53:52 AM
well on the asus and on my own pfsense box with sky for example the prefix delegation size needs to be set to 56. This also is needed as far as I am aware for BT IPV6

If you can set the  prefix delegation size on  zyxel to 56 I would think it might fix the problem- that's if its available to set.

I use a vmg8324 but its in bridge mode so I don't think I will be able to see these options.

On my pfsense box its under the wan config - see attached

If you look on my asus pic above the length is also set to 56 and thats the one connected to bt infinity - test result attached for the asus carrried out over my pi3